Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-08, 02:23 PM   #13
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

what mode is your sata ports running in? AHCI? normal SATA? RAID? driver version?

voltage on ram? my ram is rated at 2.2, for the past year and half i been running it at 2.1, no need to raise it.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 02:54 PM   #14
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
what mode is your sata ports running in? AHCI? normal SATA? RAID? driver version?

voltage on ram? my ram is rated at 2.2, for the past year and half i been running it at 2.1, no need to raise it.
They were running normal SATA, no RAID or AHCI. I was using 1.9v on the ram. It's rated @ that. The nVidia plaform drivers I used were 15.17. These-

http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_vista64_15.17.html

On the second corruption I was @ 3.0GHz DDR 3 1333 Cas 9 Tras 24 T2 1.9v Normal SATA. I never tried RAID with the board. I never attempted the rams rated timings either and kept lose instead. The BIOS I was using was XFX's version which is equal to Evga's P05. Actually it was a little newer, called P05v2.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 03:11 PM   #15
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Never mind
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 04:56 PM   #16
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

was the pci-e frequency locked? someone mentioned something recently about nforce doing some crazy auto pci-e thing, That'll mess up your SATA at anything over 120 or summit.

"P05" is a really unfortunate name.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 04:58 PM   #17
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
was the pci-e frequency locked?
I manually set them to 100.

I am going to try it again with my old E6320, and one stick of ram with very relaxed timings and see how long it goes before it starts misbehaving.

I'll have results later this week probably.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 06:05 PM   #18
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
3 of my current boards plus one that is temporary off duty after 4 years, and will return to duty in 2-3 weeks disagree with you.
LoL.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 09:10 PM   #19
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

I was bored

I installed the E6320 on 790i and ran it up to a flat 3.0GHz. All voltages are auto except the ram which is 1.9v. I set it to 1333 9-9-9-24 2T. I am off to try AoC soon.

If I keep the mobo I going to have to water cool. That NB fan is like sitting next to a dentist while he is drilling teeth.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 12:47 AM   #20
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

I can't play a lot and tonight I did a few hours in AoC with no issues. Then again this is day 1.

I think I figured out the second corruption. The first was from being on the shipping BIOS.

I believe it was undervolting my Quad which was causing stability problems and it was the repeated crashes that corrupted the OS.

Anywho, we will see how long this E6320 holds up. If it lasts a week, I'll move back to the Quad again.

EDIT: I've booted up to 3.45GHz with this E6320. I went back to 3.0GHz and played a few more hours of AoC NP. I am even running DDR3 1600 now.

I remembered seeing 1.32v in the BIOS with my Q6600 when it was @ 3.0GHz and next to that 1.28v. My Q6600 can barely do stock on 1.28v. It was being under volted. So first corruption was the old BIOS and second was caused by crashes because it was only getting 1.28v @ 3.0GHz. I'll put it back in a few days
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-01-08, 01:59 PM   #21
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Yep that's it. I need to set 1.5v in order to get 1.46v. I was just setting 1.46v and my Q6600 wasn't getting enough juice to be stable @ 3.61GHz.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 02:12 PM   #22
CapnKirk
Registered User
 
CapnKirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 196
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash View Post
Yep that's it. I need to set 1.5v in order to get 1.46v. I was just setting 1.46v and my Q6600 wasn't getting enough juice to be stable @ 3.61GHz.
So it's good to go now?
__________________
MODIFICATION: PROJECT BLACKBIRD-003 DEFIANT EDITION™

Defiant Modification Solutions™
Defying Murphy's Law



"Show me, Don't tell me!"
CapnKirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 02:26 PM   #23
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapnKirk View Post
So it's good to go now?
He will switch to an Intel chipset its emanate I feel it in the force. I see stability in his future.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 03:54 PM   #24
CapnKirk
Registered User
 
CapnKirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 196
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
He will switch to an Intel chipset its emanate I feel it in the force. I see stability in his future.
i'm so damn stuck also, intel = works minus SLi

what do i do with my 2nd 8800 ultra with a sealed water cooling system, plus lose lots of fps.

http://img156.imageshack.us/my.php?i...scf5386oa9.jpg
__________________
MODIFICATION: PROJECT BLACKBIRD-003 DEFIANT EDITION™

Defiant Modification Solutions™
Defying Murphy's Law



"Show me, Don't tell me!"
CapnKirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.