Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-08, 08:30 PM   #1
lectR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default Crysis issues on GTX 280 & Vista

I'm having trouble running Crysis successfully on my system. I have a legitimate copy of Vista Ultimate, Q9450, 4GB Corsair Dominator RAM, 780i SLI Mobo, and after updating Crysis and loading it up, it loaded in windowed mode. No big deal, right? Problem is, it ONLY loads in windowed mode, and I have to get to the Game Settings and check the Fullscreen option.

Not only is this annoying, but I think it's also causing crashes in the options dialog menus. The game runs awesome on my system when I actually get into Fullscreen mode, but it's the process of getting there that's annoying.

I've looked around and haven't really seen anyone with a fix, but have seen quite a few people experiencing this as well. I have no custom configs, or anything like that, it's a clean install with the most up-to-date files.

Any ideas?
lectR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 08:34 PM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis issues on GTX 280 & Vista

Umm sorry to state the obvious , but have you tried enabling fullscreen through the config file & make it read-only ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 08:38 PM   #3
lectR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Crysis issues on GTX 280 & Vista

I'm very familiar with the core files of Crysis, if possible, be a bit more "n00bish" and tell me what the file's called and where I can find it, also I'm assuming the command will be obviously titled in the config?

Thanks
lectR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 08:43 PM   #4
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis issues on GTX 280 & Vista

http://www.tweakguides.com/Crysis_8.html

game.cfg located in the \Users\User\Documents\My Games\Crysis directory in Vista

the command could be r_fullscreen "0" or something like that .. (switch it to "1") then save the file & probably just make it "read-only" just so it dosent revert back to older settings.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 09:04 PM   #5
lectR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Crysis issues on GTX 280 & Vista

I did the config edit and it's still loading in windowed mode

Should I just try reinstalling the game?
lectR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 09:06 PM   #6
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis issues on GTX 280 & Vista

Hmm i dont think uninstalling the game would fix that issue but you could try ..

how about deleting the config file ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 09:56 PM   #7
lectR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Crysis issues on GTX 280 & Vista

Hmm...deleting the config and then setting my Crysis to auto-load my profile seems to have fixed it! Thank you!
lectR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 10:10 PM   #8
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis issues on GTX 280 & Vista

Glad that helped!
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Product Spotlight ' EVGA GTX 670 Review Round Up News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 1 05-11-12 01:15 AM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.