Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-08, 08:37 AM   #1
p1nky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Question Reporting 0 GPU temperature and stutter

Hello!

I'm currently running an Asus GTX 280 on which I installed an Aquacomputer Aquagrafx 200 water block. I just did a short functionality test with the card before I installed the water block so I can't say much about the behaviour of the card before installing the water block except that the card basically seemed to work - which it still does.
Everest and GPU-Z are however always reporting a 0 GPU temperature which jumps around to 64 sometimes in Everest and in GPU-Z also sometimes to 192. So basically I always get a reading of 0 (most of the time), 64 or 192.
When playing GRID the game stutters a bit.

I also had a BFG GTX 280 in this PC with stock air cooler and the temperature was fine with this one and also no stuttering in GRID.

In another board I read about someone with the same problem, the guy also got an Asus card, I don't know if he has installed a water block tho (I guess not). http://www.computerbase.de/forum/sho...d.php?t=434616 (GERMAN)

Does anyone else have this problem and maybe has a solution or knows what is causing the problem?

The GPU surrounding/PCB temperature is correctly reported btw (37).
p1nky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 09:04 AM   #2
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Reporting 0 GPU temperature and stutter

Did you try Rivatuner? That's generally what people use for oc'ing and temp monitoring. Everest reads my temps low and I don't really trust GPU-Z to give accurate temps, just clock speeds. Probably won't be any different, but worth a shot.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 09:45 AM   #3
p1nky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Reporting 0 GPU temperature and stutter

tried installing but my Vista 64 moaned about some not signed driver that it won't install.

also i wouldn't mid that much about the temperateure reading but about the stuttering and that is definitely there
p1nky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 12:52 PM   #4
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Reporting 0 GPU temperature and stutter

When you installed 2.09, did you select "install updates"? that should provide a signed vista64 driver. And the stuttering, is Grid the only game that does it? Also, post the rest of your specs.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 04:30 PM   #5
p1nky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Reporting 0 GPU temperature and stutter

I got a BFG GTX 280 with stock air cooler in there right now and no problems whatsoever with this, temperatur is reported correctly and no stuttering in GRID. At the moment I have only GRID installed.

My specs are:
Q9450 at default speed
Gigabyte X48-DQ6
8 GB RAM
Vista 64 Ultimate

What I did notice is that GPU-Z reports BIOS 62.00.0E.00.0F for the BFG card that works but 62.00.0E.00.01 for the Asus card that has these problems.

Is there any way to update the card's BIOS? I didn't find any BIOS downloads on nvidia site and with google, but I didn't look around that much yet.
p1nky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 06:12 PM   #6
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Reporting 0 GPU temperature and stutter

You can flash the edit/flash your bios but it will void your warranty. I wouldn't recommend doing so because you have no way of knowing if it will fix the problem, and then you can't get a replacement. Install 3Dmark06 or some other game to bench, just to make sure. Have you tried the ASUS 280 in other configurations such as a different board, slot or PSU? Probably already tried this but I'm just making sure
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 08:03 PM   #7
p1nky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Reporting 0 GPU temperature and stutter

flashed it to the bios of the bfg now - no change, still wrong temps and stutter

i tried both slots yes, no change either.

psu is a 1000w corsair - should be good enuff

well, i think i'm gonna flash it back and return it to the dealer...
p1nky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-08, 11:47 AM   #8
p1nky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Reporting 0 GPU temperature and stutter

looks like problem is caused because of missing fan & temperature sensor when the waterblock is installed. if i attach the cable even when waterblock is installed everything is fine... see also here http://www.aqua-computer-systeme.de/...num=1215423998 (GERMAN)
stuttering might be caused by everest when cable is not attached, but i gotta check this...

...update: it's not everest
p1nky is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.