Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-08, 01:45 PM   #1
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

Ok, I have the box copies of both Company of Heroes and Opposing Fronts. And since absolutely hate the auto-updater THQ/Relic put in with Opposing Fronts, I was hoping there was a way I could I use my CD keys to activate both games on Steam. The only problem is that Steam won't recognize the CD keys. Do I have any other options (other than buying both games again)?
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 01:45 PM   #2
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

Nope, I keep trying all my games that are on Steam but purchased through box copy and none ever work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 02:57 PM   #3
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

Nah, Steam doesn't support that.

It would be absolutely awesome if it did, though.
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 03:59 PM   #4
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

Well crap!

Thanks for the replies.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 04:08 PM   #5
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

List of retail keys that will activate on Steam:

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...7480-WUSF-3601
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 04:32 PM   #6
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

Yeah, only a small, SMALL selection of games work for that.

I wish they all did.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 05:24 PM   #7
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

Wasn't it only certain Valve games supported that feature? I know I wanted Titan's Quest to do the same so I wouldn't need the dam CD in the drive anymore . I really wouldn't mind if they said they wouldn't let you download the steam version but would let you use the steam executable for the protection check.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-08, 06:59 PM   #8
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

There are some non-valve games, but they're rare... Prey and Dark Messiah are two I know of.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-07-08, 09:47 AM   #9
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: Activating Company of Heroes box-copy on Steam

Download the patches manually and don't use the auto-updater. That way you can have the patches in case of a reinstall. You can get them all from places like filefront or www.cohpatch.com
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Company of Heroes 2 screenshots show a snowy town, tank columns and pyromania News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 08:00 PM
Company of Heroes - steam special Ghosthunter Gaming Central 4 05-13-12 09:21 PM
Weekend Deal - Company of Heroes Franchise 80% off! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:10 PM
PC Gamer UK June issue: Company of Heroes 2 reveal plus FREE original Company of Hero News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 06:30 AM
Company of Heroes 2 first details: it's in Russia, it's snowy, it looks amazing News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 06:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.