Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-08, 09:01 PM   #1
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stuck at 2d clock speeds?

I'm having this issue (just started last night), that i'll be playing a game and upon exiting the clock speeds will stay at 2d speeds. Temps are fine; 40c idle, load at 70c (crysis for about an hour).

This also happens when I get hit with the TLR (display driver stopped responding) and I end up having to reboot to get correct frequencies. I did notice that once this error happens, EVGA's Precision onscreen display disappears.

I'm using 177.41, will probably revert to .39/.40 and continue testing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 03:09 AM   #2
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: Stuck at 2d clock speeds?

I assume you mean "stuck at 3D" not "stuck at 2D"? Anyway a good number of people are having trouble with clock speeds of various kinds - 177.39/40 aren't any better. Your only fix for now is to make profiles in Rivatuner..
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 09:06 AM   #3
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Stuck at 2d clock speeds?

No I meant at 2d, 300/600.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 01:32 PM   #4
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Stuck at 2d clock speeds?

My cards downclock during Crysis, sometimes... Seems to me the 3D detection of the drivers isn't that good at this point...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 02:51 PM   #5
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: Stuck at 2d clock speeds?

use rivatuner - you can force it to 3d performance mode.. I have had to.
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 03:06 PM   #6
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Stuck at 2d clock speeds?

Nah, I don't want to mess with stuff like that... At least give them some time to put out a fix...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 03:38 PM   #7
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: Stuck at 2d clock speeds?

well I had to - my cards downlock after 10-15 sec of gaming without rivatuner (nothing to do with temps - and they are still in hardware acceleration mode).. the driver logic for fans/clocks is terrible..
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allow pixel clock > 400MHz waperboy NVIDIA Linux 16 05-08-13 09:44 PM
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 08:16 PM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
ASUS GeForce GTX 670 DirectCU II Top Unveiled Features 1137MHz Boost Clock (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 06:30 AM
Locked PCI/AGP speeds JonathanM CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-27-02 09:22 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.