Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-08, 12:34 PM   #1
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Motherboard Failing?

Been a while since i posted. BUT, when in doubt, come to nvnews. Lol..
Anyways, long time ago, some may remember that i had problems with my computer not booting, so i replaced my Gigabyte P35 mobo with a new one and the problems went away.
After putting the new Gigabyte P35 in, what do you know, computer boots fine, perfectly stable...for a couple of months.
I noticed in the past month or two it takes a reboot or two (using the power supply switch) before my motherboard posts and boots to windows. On the first boot (as in booting it up in the morning after being off all night) nothing will turn on except i believe my fans and various LED's.

A couple weeks ago my computer would also crash after having games running for long hours, although this seems to have gone away and could be related to my graphics card (its had artifacts for awhile and im waiting for a PCI card to come in before i RMA). It would crash and Windows would say ''This system has recovered from a serious error.''

So I'm fairly sure it is the motherboard again, but im surprised this has happened on two different Gigabyte P35 boards (First one was a DS3R, the latter being a DS3L). Could there be something wrong in my system causing this? Both my harddrives passed SMART tests just fine. All my temps look pretty good. Although the motherboard is around 50C but the northbridge supposedly runs warm on these.
I am doubting this is a driver error that could be fixed by a reformat because wouldn't it at least post to the splash screen and then boot to windows?

So I'm open to suggestions of what it may be, or any conclusions that it is for sure the motherboard causing it again.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 02:42 PM   #2
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

I dunno, but researching my issues with the DS3R I found a bunch of issues similar to what you are describing.

I have always loved gigabyte, but I am gonna RMA this one and get an asus instead.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 02:43 PM   #3
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

mem timings/voltage?

cpu at stock?


also, do you have a multimeter? wouldn't hurt testing the rails from your PSU into your mobo
__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 02:55 PM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

I'm going to say it could be memory, FSB or CPU related.

I have ta similar board (the DS3R).

When I was testing overclocks I would get the fans-only power mode too. It always does it once after changing overclock settings, I think as some sort of test, but you set them too screwy the board will not post and it'll be stuck in a loop of fans on - reset - fans on - reset - fans on - reset or it'll just stay in the fans only mode and will never post.

Make sure your memory voltage is set to what the manufacturer recommends.

The OCZ SLI memory I had initially with this setup was extremely picky with memory voltages and would give me the screwed up reboot process if I changed any overclocking settings without boosting the memory voltage up to absurd levels and then lowering them again.

I see you have OCZ 1066 memory as well, so I would definitely advise setting your memory voltages manually. They are probably at auto right now. If you don't overclock you can probably just set it to 2.1v. I had to boost mine to 2.3 temporarily to get the system to post after changing overclock settings, but after the first post I could lower it to 2.1 again.

Hope this helps
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 03:47 PM   #5
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
I'm going to say it could be memory, FSB or CPU related.

I have ta similar board (the DS3R).

When I was testing overclocks I would get the fans-only power mode too. It always does it once after changing overclock settings, I think as some sort of test, but you set them too screwy the board will not post and it'll be stuck in a loop of fans on - reset - fans on - reset - fans on - reset or it'll just stay in the fans only mode and will never post.

Make sure your memory voltage is set to what the manufacturer recommends.

The OCZ SLI memory I had initially with this setup was extremely picky with memory voltages and would give me the screwed up reboot process if I changed any overclocking settings without boosting the memory voltage up to absurd levels and then lowering them again.

I see you have OCZ 1066 memory as well, so I would definitely advise setting your memory voltages manually. They are probably at auto right now. If you don't overclock you can probably just set it to 2.1v. I had to boost mine to 2.3 temporarily to get the system to post after changing overclock settings, but after the first post I could lower it to 2.1 again.

Hope this helps
Thanks for the response. I remember PM'ing you when we were going to have like identical systems, lol.
Yeah, i have everything running stock for stability atm, ill try changing the voltages. I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks guys.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 04:07 PM   #6
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

Ah somewhat embarrassing, i haven't tampered with my voltages on this motherboard. Since you have the same one, care to walk me through? I only see the option to raise them through the bios.

Thanks
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 11:05 PM   #7
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nV`andrew View Post
Ah somewhat embarrassing, i haven't tampered with my voltages on this motherboard. Since you have the same one, care to walk me through? I only see the option to raise them through the bios.

Thanks
Once you are in the bios hit Ctrl+f1 that should get you into what you are looking for. I think it is called mit,but can't be sure.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 11:46 PM   #8
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nV`andrew View Post
Ah somewhat embarrassing, i haven't tampered with my voltages on this motherboard. Since you have the same one, care to walk me through? I only see the option to raise them through the bios.

Thanks
Actually, that's what you want to do.

Its possible that the "auto" setting is defaulting to 1.8v, which is the standard DDR2 voltage. Most high performance memory is 2.1v or higher.

Try setting the vdim or DDR voltage (can't remember what its called) to +0.3v.

If that causes any problems for you, just clear your CMOS manually on the board.

I think there is a gigabyte overclocking\monitoring utility on the CD that will show you your current DDR voltage if you want to check it first.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-11-08, 11:52 PM   #9
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

Thanks, I'll check it tomorrow morning and let you guys know how it goes.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-08, 12:07 AM   #10
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nV`andrew View Post
Thanks, I'll check it tomorrow morning and let you guys know how it goes.
Good luck Andrew.

BTW, I just checked and the setting you want to change is DDR2 OverVoltage Control. Just try +0.3v, save and exit. It may reboot twice to test the settings, but it should work.

Hopefully that solves it for you.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-08, 12:23 AM   #11
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Good luck Andrew.

BTW, I just checked and the setting you want to change is DDR2 OverVoltage Control. Just try +0.3v, save and exit. It may reboot twice to test the settings, but it should work.

Hopefully that solves it for you.
Did it now, and i kind of laughed because it did exactly that, rebooted twice, i was like uh...and then it worked. The gigabyte utility confirmed 2.1v. So I'll just cross my fingers and hope it boots fine tomorrow. If not, then at least one thing is ruled out.

Thanks again.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-08, 01:29 AM   #12
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Motherboard Failing?

No problem man. Good luck.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some motherboard advice please scott123 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 6 10-04-02 10:34 AM
new bios my motherboard and got new feature IDE PCI BUS MASTERING what is it ??? b5fan CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-22-02 05:10 PM
Motherboard temperature control under Linux? Klaus-P NVIDIA Linux 2 09-02-02 02:53 AM
nvidia drivers in a motherboard with AGP 1.0 (motherboard MVP3+) knocker NVIDIA Linux 1 08-19-02 01:57 AM
What is a good motherboard? Nixdisciple CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 17 08-18-02 06:02 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.