Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-08, 04:38 PM   #1
LabShark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 277
Default How many amps does a high-end PC draw?

Seems like a rig with a 1000W PS and a monitor would draw about 10 amps.

1000/120 = 8 plus 2 for a monitor.

Does that seem in the ballpark and is that 10 amp draw constant?

Trying to figure out if I have enough juice in my circuit to support 2 computers.
__________________
EVGA X58
Intel i7 965
Quad GTX 295
1200W Thermaltake PS
6GB G. Skill RAM
X-Fi Fatality
Intel X25-M SSD
300GB Raptor
640GB WD Cavair 16MB
LG BluRayDisc
LG SuperDisc
Lian Li PC80 Armorsuit
W7 64 bit
LabShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 04:54 PM   #2
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: How many amps does a high-end PC draw?

No, power draw is not constant and when you are just web browsing you probably use ~250w. Gaming power draw depends on what game and what settings you use, but even then with your current rig I doubt it ever passes 500w.
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 06:32 PM   #3
LabShark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 277
Default Re: How many amps does a high-end PC draw?

Just checked my UPS and it is drawing about 330W.....so pretty low amps as well.
__________________
EVGA X58
Intel i7 965
Quad GTX 295
1200W Thermaltake PS
6GB G. Skill RAM
X-Fi Fatality
Intel X25-M SSD
300GB Raptor
640GB WD Cavair 16MB
LG BluRayDisc
LG SuperDisc
Lian Li PC80 Armorsuit
W7 64 bit
LabShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 07:31 PM   #4
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: How many amps does a high-end PC draw?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LabShark View Post
Just checked my UPS and it is drawing about 330W.....so pretty low amps as well.
Yea that's about right for idling with the monitor. In a game I've seen 460W. (Pretty sure that's without a monitor) (About 4 amps) You can run 4 or 5 high end rigs on a 15A circuit without issues, as I have done many times in the past with lan parties. If you try to get 6+ and there is anything else on the circuit then you'd be pushing it.

My 3800+ x2 box with a little gfx card (PCI 2MB) in it pulls around 100W when it's idle (No monitor). A standard C2D with a 17" LCD draws less than 1A because I've actually had an electrician come out and test some wiring at work. We were having issues with a bad circuit breaker. 12 Dual core boxes with monitors is about 11A total.

Just did a couple of quick tests, and I confirmed that my 2407 draws 70W when turned on. The rig in my sig without a monitor idles around 310W, so I'm at about 380W with a monitor when idling.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
Video: High Schoolers Build Supercomputer in Ontario News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 12:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.