Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-08, 01:18 AM   #13
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Downclocking issue a Vista problem?

I've experienced downclocking in Crysis that lasts maybe 10 seconds only when I have Fraps running in the background while doing a quick load.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 02:22 AM   #14
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Downclocking issue a Vista problem?

Only happened to me once, and I was stuck in 2d no matter what after that. I had to reboot to get things back right.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 02:32 AM   #15
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Downclocking issue a Vista problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon12 View Post
Only happened to me once, and I was stuck in 2d no matter what after that. I had to reboot to get things back right.
Same thing happened to me in Grid. I was playing, things were going fine, then I decided to see if there were any better drivers available and when I went to the fire/hire driver menu, it turned into a slideshow and I noticed my clocks were at 300mhz. I eventually crawled out of the menus to find I needed to reboot to get it back up. Haven't played Grid since, so don't know if it's a constant issue, but I did play Grid a lot before without a problem - irritating for sure, but not chronic for me.

I did notice while playing Titan Quest last night, though, that the clocks would go down to 400mhz while looking at my character inventory screen or some other menu, which I find odd because there is still 3D going on around the screen... the gameplay though didn't seem to be affected, which made me wonder if it was really downclocking or if precision was making mistake. The Grid downclocking was extremely obvious, but in TQ it wasn't. And it would eventually pop back up to 666mhz after I started to run around for a few minutes.
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 07:11 AM   #16
ginfest
"Oderint dum metuant"
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Default Re: Downclocking issue a Vista problem?

Mine is at 300 when in Windows, goes to 625 (current OC) when I am playing a game. I noticed that it does drop to 400 when in the menus or loading screens, but I have not seen any slow-downs in game (yet)
So far I have only played AoC, ME, and Crysis, using the 177.41 drivers.
I keep the fan on "Auto" and haven't noticed any temps over 75C ( full load)
I'm monitoring the above with the EVGA Precision applet on my G15 keyboard LCD, it's great for watching real-time changes in game
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 |Asus P6T Deluxe |3x2GB Gkill DDR3 |EVGA GTX 580 |LG L246W LCD|2 Seagate SATA HDs|Plextor 716A DVD-R|Windows 7 Ultimate x64|

Heat
ginfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-08, 06:15 PM   #17
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: Downclocking issue a Vista problem?

Mine has worked fine except for example in the World in Conflict benchmark, right as it is starting the clock boosts up so my initial FPS is very low

Also, strangely when Idle at windows my memory clock goes down like it should and then like clockwork after about a minute it goes according to EVGA Precision up to 1188MHZ, which is higher than my 3D clock of my 260 FTW edition.


Seems to be a program bug, Rivatuner reads it correctly.
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-08, 08:08 AM   #18
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Downclocking issue a Vista problem?

Never had this issue, no matter what i tried. As soon as i got into game it runs at full speed. Heck even if i run windows media player it runs at full speed or intense flash animation. It goes to 2d mode only on Windows idle, or i use like browser.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-08, 08:20 AM   #19
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Downclocking issue a Vista problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginfest View Post
Mine is at 300 when in Windows, goes to 625 (current OC) when I am playing a game. I noticed that it does drop to 400 when in the menus or loading screens, but I have not seen any slow-downs in game (yet)
So far I have only played AoC, ME, and Crysis, using the 177.41 drivers.
I keep the fan on "Auto" and haven't noticed any temps over 75C ( full load)
I'm monitoring the above with the EVGA Precision applet on my G15 keyboard LCD, it's great for watching real-time changes in game
when i had my card, I also noticed that it drops during the loading screens or menus. But never during the actual gameplay.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-08, 03:21 PM   #20
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: Downclocking issue a Vista problem?

BTW, I tested my 260 in XP on Counter Strike 1.6 and at first I got a bunch of stutters from the clock changing, but after a minute or two it settled at low 3D performance clock speeds.

Luckily, that is still enough for 100fps constant in 1.6 lol
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 11:56 PM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 04:14 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 11:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.