Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-08, 12:38 PM   #13
xbobmx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 191
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Are you using the games in fullscreen mode, at the same resolution as your desktop?

If the game changes resolution with the XF86VidMode extension, it actually turns on pan/scan mode with a virtual desktop and pans to the upper left corner. In this mode (or equivalently if the game is in a window), the card doesn't flip and SLI probably won't work very well.

In order to avoid this, set your desktop to the same resolution as your game before starting the game, using nvidia-settings or xrandr (these actually resize the desktop, instead of having a virtual desktop larger than your resolution). And run the game in fullscreen mode.

Or, you could get a Quadro which will flip for non-fullscreen apps =).

See chapter 20 (Configuring Flipping and UBB) of the README.
xbobmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 12:39 PM   #14
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

OK here are my crazy results with ETWQ demo 1.1

I've recorded a small demo (about 10 seconds) which I played in every SLI mode setting com_unlockfps 1 before in order to unlock fps above 30. The resolution is 1680x1050, high quality using my 2x GT8800 512MB cards

AFR: SLI HUD appears but there is no movement, 25.7fps

SFR: SLI bar appears *and* stays in the middle meaning (according to docs) that SLI is working and the load is split between the 2 cards. But.... 21.4 fps !!!

AA: SLI presents x8 AA and... 37.6 fps !!!!!!

I don't know what assumptions to make anymore!
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 01:31 PM   #15
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Quote:
Originally Posted by xbobmx View Post
Are you using the games in fullscreen mode, at the same resolution as your desktop?

If the game changes resolution with the XF86VidMode extension, it actually turns on pan/scan mode with a virtual desktop and pans to the upper left corner. In this mode (or equivalently if the game is in a window), the card doesn't flip and SLI probably won't work very well.

In order to avoid this, set your desktop to the same resolution as your game before starting the game, using nvidia-settings or xrandr (these actually resize the desktop, instead of having a virtual desktop larger than your resolution). And run the game in fullscreen mode.

Or, you could get a Quadro which will flip for non-fullscreen apps =).

See chapter 20 (Configuring Flipping and UBB) of the README.
Yes games and desktop are set to the same resolution.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 05:18 PM   #16
m3the01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Im pretty convinced sli and quad sli is not working on
kernel 2.6.18-92.1.6.el5

Using any of the current/beta drivers. I do get the best performance out of the latest 177 beta drivers, but everything is running on one card even though nvidia-settings show quad sli i get no headsup display on any opengl program i run.

This is using a xfx 790i ultra motherboard and 2-9800 GX2's,
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 log.tar.bz2 (31.8 KB, 81 views)
m3the01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 08:04 PM   #17
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Does anybody have a confirmed working sli setup with a 750/780/790 series motherboard?
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-08, 12:43 AM   #18
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanjo View Post
Does anybody have a confirmed working sli setup with a 750/780/790 series motherboard?
Well as you saw in my posts SLI is working but not good - only AA gives good results, AFR and SFR don't - and that's why I had opened my bug report with no answer yet from NVidia.

NVidia, we would love a comment here!
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-08, 07:59 PM   #19
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbil View Post
NVidia, we would love a comment here!
Yes we most certainly would.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-08, 09:51 PM   #20
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

I fired off a bug report to linux-bugs@nvidia.com as well now. Hopefully we will see some sort of response.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-26-08, 03:35 AM   #21
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanjo View Post
I fired off a bug report to linux-bugs@nvidia.com as well now. Hopefully we will see some sort of response.
I've done that weeks ago for the bug I reported for SLI under wine which now seems to be more general and got no answer.

Therefore I inform everyone here and the moderators that the next step is to spam the NVidia representatives in the forum with PM's.

I've also send an email to phoronix, maybe they can get an answer from NVidia.
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 10:44 PM   #22
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Well I got a reply from nvidia and they are looking into it.

Quote:
Hello Dean,

That's strange. The X server log shows that SLI is enabled.
Does it make a difference if Option SLI=on is used? I'll try to reproduce this issue in the next couple of days.

Thanks,
Roland
I'll keep folks apprised as to the progress. (BTW his suggestion to set the sli to on didn't change anything).
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 05:15 AM   #23
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanjo View Post
Well I got a reply from nvidia and they are looking into it.



I'll keep folks apprised as to the progress. (BTW his suggestion to set the sli to on didn't change anything).
Great, please keep as updated because I never got an answer.
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 05:42 PM   #24
m3the01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: 8800GT in SLi perform the same as one card

Would i cant believe we get no response at all on any of the forums....

I really hope something is done soon, cause nvida use to be the bomb on linux, their kick ass just step up and fix dem drivers :-)
m3the01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 04:34 AM
Palit GeForce GTX 680 Jetstream 2 GB Graphics Card and GeForce GTX 680 SLI Performanc News Archived News Items 0 05-27-12 01:00 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
Video card upgrade advice needed Billy34 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 08-28-02 05:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.