Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-03, 03:48 PM   #1
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default help with NVidia new drivers and mandy 8.2

my system specs is

AMD XP 1600
Epox Ak3a ( via kt333 chipset )
geforce 4 ti 4200
soundblaster
mandrake 8.2 ( reg kernel )

my information and error i get

Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Couldn't set video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual


History:

Exiting due to error

/etc/modules.conf
alias usb-interface usb-uhci
probeall scsi_hostadapter ide-scsi
alias eth0 8139too
alias sound-slot-0 audigy
alias wlan0 acx100_pci
alias /dev/nvidia* nvidia
alias char-major-196 nvidia


/etc/X11/XF86Config-4
# ************************************************** ********************
# Graphics device section
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic VGA"
Driver "vga"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Geforce 4"
VendorName "ASUS Tech"
BoardName "Geforce 4 TI 4200"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 131072
Option "NvAGP" "3"

# Clock lines


# Uncomment following option if you see a big white block
# instead of the cursor!
# Option "sw_cursor"


EndSection



# ************************************************** ********************
# Screen sections
# ************************************************** ********************


Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device ""
Monitor "Generic|High Frequency SVGA, 1024x768 at 70 Hz"
DefaultColorDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
Screen "screen1"

InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"

InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

I will be posting back with the rest of my xf86config-4 file.
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-03, 03:56 PM   #2
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default ok second part

# File generated by XFdrake.

# ************************************************** ********************
# Refer to the XF86Config(4/5) man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "Files"

RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.

FontPath "unix/:-1"

EndSection

# ************************************************** ********************
# Server flags section.
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to cause a core dump at the spot where a signal is
# received. This may leave the console in an unusable state, but may
# provide a better stack trace in the core dump to aid in debugging
#NoTrapSignals

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><BS> server abort sequence
# This allows clients to receive this key event.
#DontZap

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> mode switching
# sequences. This allows clients to receive these key events.
#DontZoom

# This allows the server to start up even if the
# mouse device can't be opened/initialised.
AllowMouseOpenFail

EndSection

# ************************************************** ********************
# Input devices
# ************************************************** ********************

# ************************************************** ********************
# Keyboard section
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "InputDevice"

Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "Keyboard"
Option "AutoRepeat" "250 30"

Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"

EndSection

# ************************************************** ********************
# Pointer section
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "InputDevice"

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"

# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

# Option "ChordMiddle"

EndSection



Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.
Load "dbe"

# This loads the Video for Linux module.
Load "v4l"


# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.

SubSection "extmod"
#Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubSection

# This loads the Type1 and FreeType font modules
Load "glx"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
EndSection

# ************************************************** ********************
# Monitor section
# ************************************************** ********************

# Any number of monitor sections may be present

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic|High Frequency SVGA, 1024x768 at 70 Hz"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"


# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY. REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.
HorizSync 31.5-57.0


# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY. REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.
VertRefresh 50-90


# This is a set of extended mode timings typically used for laptop,
# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# These are available along with standard mode timings.

# Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
# 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
ModeLine "1024x480" 65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344 480 488 494 563 -hsync -vsync

# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630
# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616


EndSection



# ************************************************** ********************
# Graphics device section
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic VGA"
Driver "vga"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Geforce 4"
VendorName "ASUS Tech"
BoardName "Geforce 4 TI 4200"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 131072
Option "NvAGP" "3"

# Clock lines


# Uncomment following option if you see a big white block
# instead of the cursor!
# Option "sw_cursor"


EndSection



# ************************************************** ********************
# Screen sections
# ************************************************** ********************


Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device ""
Monitor "Generic|High Frequency SVGA, 1024x768 at 70 Hz"
DefaultColorDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
Screen "screen1"

InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"

InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

ok here is the rest of my xf86config-4 file. Man personally i don't know hwat is going on.
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-03, 07:47 PM   #3
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default

I think I see something wrong with your XF86Config-4 file. Near the end you have this:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device ""
Monitor "Generic|High Frequency SVGA, 1024x768 at 70 Hz"

Notice how the device is missing. In those quotation marks, insert Geforce 4 (The identifier used in the driver section).
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-03, 09:14 PM   #4
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default

nope that didn't work :-(. even though i wish it did but it didn't.
well if anyone have any other ideals let me know.
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-03, 10:20 PM   #5
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default Update

I just did a lsmod and the nvidia module wasn't there. Then I did insmod then depmod and rebooted and the module don't load on boot what can i do to fix this problem?
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 12:17 AM   #6
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default

ok I read the readme file for nvidia drivers and checked all the directorys and al lthe files are there. Is there a way i can tell if my xserver is looking for another file besides newest lib.so.whatever?
i mean this is riping at me now. i also did a ldd in my glxgears and find a file that look something like this that wasn't on the nvidia readme output .

/lib/libpthread.so.0

is this file any good? is this my problem?
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 02:44 AM   #7
tsubasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France ( Angouleme )
Posts: 105
Default hello

Hello ,
U must read this thread, ur probleme its not solved.
Because the KT 400 and KT 333 its not support yet by the nvidia drivers.

Don't search the problem is your motherboard.
Look this thread its mine i have a KT333:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...threadid=11389


look this another one but it is now KT400

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...threadid=11556

Look the another one but it is now KT400
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...threadid=11504

And a lot of thread here its about that problem

I am very bored too, i have the same problem. I think Andy's team is working on it, he should be buy a KT400

I blocked like u, and I hope ...
tsubasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 03:24 PM   #8
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default

thank you tsubasa :-) now i can relax alittle knowing it isn't me . those links was very help and i will sit back and look for andy team or whatever to fix the chipsets ( via kt333, kt333a, & kt400 ) problems.
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-12-03, 04:29 PM   #9
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

uhum:

I don't think he has our problem:

try this:

first; make your bios set pnpOS to false
then set assign IRQ for VGA to yes

can you get the graphical stuff working?
sometimes:

try ldconfig as root

put nvidia in /etc/modules.conf file...

and put the log file as an attachment to your post...

you could always upgrade or install mdk9.1 (lots of fixes)...
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 04:49 PM   #10
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default

My bios is aready set-up with PnPos false ( hell i don't use that even with windows ) but i do use assign irq for vga you know.

I can boot into xserver ( the nvidia logo don't pop up ).

i tried idconfig and reboot but no nvidia module in lsmod.

is it plain nvidia with nothing before or behide it? i will try anyway.

you that is a problem evertime i want ot connect to the net i have to use windows because i have the bloody 802.11b D-link dwl-520+ ( that is why i pick up mandrake 8.2 for now ) but th eacx100_pci.o don't work for me.

i could do that but we will see.
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 04:54 PM   #11
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

you should try and install mdk9.1, it has greater hardware support then 8.2 and the install is very easy.
then secondly. it does look like you are not using the nvidia driver but the nv driver, have you edited the /etc/XF86Config-4 file? changed nv to nvidia?

sorry: but try to post the config and log file as attachment, it is easier readable, probably something is seriously messed up in the config file.
and I do think that either upgrade or freshly install (and i'd prefer freshly install) would benefit you
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 07:43 PM   #12
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default

haha... i install mandy 9.1 ( friend had it ) and the new nvidia drivers work . It's still wierd though how it didn't work with mandy 8.2 but new i'm on 9.1 and things are going great. My xf86config-4 is posted ( it's my second post ) but it doesn't matter now but if you find out the problem let me know so next itme i will know what to do if that happens again.

thank you again
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.