Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-08, 12:15 PM   #37
ccin1492
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plagman View Post
We've been trying to reproduce the issue for a while, but never managed to reproduce the 1-line output. However, there definitely seems to be a bug somewhere in the driver affecting this mode on C51 GPUs. If you're affected by this problem (trying to set a 1280x1024 mode on GeForce 61xx/C51 resulting in truncated output), would it be possible for you to answer these questions:
  • What is the reference of the screen you're using when the problem happens? If other systems with the same GPU/drivers work fine, what screen are they using?
  • Is your screen connected using VGA or DVI? If you have access to the other kind of cable/connector, can you try switching; if so, does it solve/affect the problem?

Thanks,
- Pierre-Loup
I've got the same problem:

* ref screen: Samsung SyncMaster 740n
* vga/dvi: VGA only (no other option)
ccin1492 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-08, 07:03 AM   #38
hubertf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

I experienced the same problem when upgrade from ubuntu hardy (drivers 169.*) to intrepid ibex (drivers 177.*)

Just one pixel line display!!! when using 1280x1024 resolution.
If i downgrade to 1280x960 it's fine, but it's not my native LCD resolution.

The only workaround i've found, is the "vesa" hack, start an X server with vesa driver at 1280x1024, i kill it, and i restart normally with nvidia drivers

It seems to happens since 173.* driver series.

Please take a look at that

PS :
hubert@ubuntu:~$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0

Model: GeForce 6100
IRQ: 16
Video BIOS: 05.51.22.24.02
Card Type: PCI
DMA Size: 39 bits
DMA Mask: 0x7fffffffff
Bus Location: 00.05.0

(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6100 at PCI:0:5:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): GRE LM17A (CRT-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): GRE LM17A (CRT-0): 350.0 MHz maximum pixel clock

Using VGA cable (no DVI)
hubertf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 09:04 AM   #39
Boricua
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

Hi, first post here, same problem.
Running Fedora 10, AMD 64 bit, same integrated 6100 card with only vga output. Monitor is a Samsung SyncMaster 930B capable of 1280x1024. Hoping for a fix . Thanks in advance.
Boricua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 07:45 PM   #40
Tylerious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

This is my first post here too. AMD x86_64 with integrated VGA GeForce 6100.

Using Gateway FPD 1760 monitor with native 1280x1024 resolution.

I am running Fedora 10. Having problems with both 173xx and 177xx drivers. I'm going to give the 96xx drivers a go, but I really wish I could use the newer drivers!

I was beginning to go crazy with this problem. Now I know there is a whole bunch of people just like me!
Tylerious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-08, 08:01 AM   #41
sambo57u
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 52
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

I am getting this on F9 as well on two different computers:

1. ThinkPad T61 with NVS 140M
2. Dell Precision desktop with NVS290 (24 inch monitor)

It does not always happen and only happens at the background of the login screen (using
KDM and KDE 4.1). Once I login the background image replaces the bad one.
sambo57u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-09, 09:52 AM   #42
Boricua
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

As an update, I tried the new .180 rpm version driver from RPMfusion-testing on my home F10 machine and it solved my issues with Avant-Window-Navigator (the artefacts). However, using the same technique with my work machine - the one with the thin blue line issue - proved fruitless . The issue remains the same .
Boricua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-09, 08:13 AM   #43
polymer3jp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Cool Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

Hi,
I have the same trouble on FreeBSD/i386 7-STABLE.
However, "blue line" of mine is not "blue"... maybe the lowest line
of the correct screen; "blue" is not essential.
It has been a problem for a long time.
It takes my time to avoid this by running X twice.
Please fix it, please.
polymer3jp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 12:22 AM   #44
mahoneyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

This appears to be FIXED on my system after installing beta version 185.18.04.
mahoneyr is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-09, 05:30 AM   #45
polymer3jp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

It works fine.
Thank you !!
polymer3jp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 02:18 AM   #46
scar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

i have amd64 and so have installed the latest 180.51 version, but i still cannot use 1280x1024. in fact, it isn't even a choice for me in the nvidia control panel. also i am using ubuntu 9.04 but i'm not sure that matters... just looking to get 1280x1024 resolution here, 60 Hz. i see there is a workaround above with enabling the vesa driver and then switching back to nvidia, but i don't understand how to make that work, and work automatically e.g. after rebooting. if that is the only way, can someone explain the procedure in more detail? if there is a better workaround i would like to hear about that, though. thanks.
scar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-09, 11:05 PM   #47
scar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

ok i finally figured out i was supposed to use that download link to get the beta 185 driver. still, after installing that version, i cannot get 1280x1024 resolution. any ideas?
scar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-09, 06:04 AM   #48
cOnf_ua
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Thin Blue Line - 6100 with FC9 & 1280x1024

i guess it is a global problem with new Nvidia drivers that touches even windows: recently i installed (what a shame!) on my own PC Windows and the newest nvidia drivers (i got integrated video-card 6150) - what a suprise!! Same problem - thin blue line in the top of screen.

169 drivers work properly.
cOnf_ua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.