Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-08, 03:45 AM   #1
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Problem authenticating Securom games

Yesterday I needed two reboots and about 10 retries (disk eject) to start playing Flatout Ultimate Carnage, and that's not the only game I'm having issues with. Alone in the Dark, Lego Indiana Jones or Crysis keep asking me to use original disk instead of a copy (and of course it's the original disk). Sometimes it does not happen in days, and other times I must try and try over and over again until the disk is accepted. Disks are new, and do not show visible damage on the surface.

Could be a drive problem?. I use a Pioneer 109 which works flawessly for both reading and burning. I have Daemon Tools installed, but no image is loaded. I also have AnyDVD but it's only enabled for the LG BluRay drive, it does not touch the Pioneer. I have used both Daemon Tools and AnyDVD for ages and never encountered any problems authenticating original disks.

Has anybody found similar issues?
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 03:51 AM   #2
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

Try to uninstall all image drive programs and see if it helps, I had similar problems before and uninstalling Daemon Tools solved them
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 04:02 AM   #3
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

I also have a pioneer 109, and sadly I'm having quite a bit of probs with dual layer securom games including crysis. Single layer dvds (under 4.5gb) seem to read fine, but big ones like gears struggle. I also had to restart many times and hope it worked, it didn't do it often. I tried a firmware upgrade, and no luck. My guess is it just doesn't like it.

I bought a pioneer 215 and it reads all of these first time, no probs.

By the way, does the disk in your 109 actually spin up properly. That's the prob with mine, it will just whir as it's in the initial stages of spinning up, but usually just clicks back again and tries. Once it spins up, it works.

I also have anydvd which I thought was removed, but I think the drivers still load or something.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 05:52 AM   #4
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

Sometimes if I start the game when the disk is spinning (just after closing the tray) it works, I also thought about the spin up problem. But not always, other times no matter what I do, I must reboot.

I will try to use the LG drive, but it's on a SATA connection and I think those security programs require the game to be on an IDE drive (if there is any), not sure if it was only Starforce or Securom does it too.

I don't want to uninstall Daemon Tools, I have tons of old CD-ROM iso files on DVD that I use sometimes. It has all emulation options disabled, so it should not cause trouble
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 06:16 AM   #5
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

Fix = dont buy securom games or use a crack
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 07:01 AM   #6
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordJuanlo View Post
Yesterday I needed two reboots and about 10 retries (disk eject) to start playing Flatout Ultimate Carnage, and that's not the only game I'm having issues with. Alone in the Dark, Lego Indiana Jones or Crysis keep asking me to use original disk instead of a copy (and of course it's the original disk). Sometimes it does not happen in days, and other times I must try and try over and over again until the disk is accepted. Disks are new, and do not show visible damage on the surface.

Could be a drive problem?. I use a Pioneer 109 which works flawessly for both reading and burning. I have Daemon Tools installed, but no image is loaded. I also have AnyDVD but it's only enabled for the LG BluRay drive, it does not touch the Pioneer. I have used both Daemon Tools and AnyDVD for ages and never encountered any problems authenticating original disks.

Has anybody found similar issues?
I also had problems with my Pioneer 109 drive, which caused UT2004 to refuse to load, citing an invalid disc. Not wanting to spend $100 on a new DVD drive, I remedied the issue by turning to the darkside.
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-08, 09:08 AM   #7
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

SecuROM sometimes gives my Lite-On burner fits. When that happens, I'll turn to my Plextor burner, which has been cross-flashed to BenQ DW1640 firmware. Its read and access times are slow with SecuROM discs, but it has at least worked with every game that the Lite-On hasn't liked.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-08, 10:04 AM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

pioneer dvr109 is quite old, just grab a new one.

grab a Sammy SH-S203 series or SH-S223 seies. I personally have SH-S203B, modded to 18x read speed. Really does help install times.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-08-08, 02:37 AM   #9
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

I think I must do it, some games really take a looong time to install. Nekro, have you tried to use your LG BluRay as your main DVD reader/games installer?
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-09, 06:58 PM   #10
Darco3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

I have the same problem with my computer... I can play any game on my compter with the orginal cd, but this one game doesnt want to work. The game is Stronghold 2.
Vista Home Premium
3gb ram
Radeon HD 3600 Series (512mb)
over 750 gb of HDD space (3 HDD's)
22in Monitor


My CD drive is ATAPI DVD A DH20A4P ATA (IDE)
This game isnt even a DVD-ROM, its just a regular cd...
Help Appreciated
Darco3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-09, 06:18 AM   #11
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darco3 View Post
My CD drive is ATAPI DVD A DH20A4P ATA (IDE)
That's your problem right there. I have the exact same drive, and it simply will not read some games due to the copy protection used. I only keep it around because its disc burn quality is second to none. Get yourself a new drive--one of the Samsung ones mentioned earlier in this thread will work fine and are not expensive.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-09, 01:06 PM   #12
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Problem authenticating Securom games

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darco3 View Post
I have the same problem with my computer... I can play any game on my compter with the orginal cd, but this one game doesnt want to work. The game is Stronghold 2.
Vista Home Premium
3gb ram
Radeon HD 3600 Series (512mb)
over 750 gb of HDD space (3 HDD's)
22in Monitor


My CD drive is ATAPI DVD A DH20A4P ATA (IDE)
This game isnt even a DVD-ROM, its just a regular cd...
Help Appreciated
let me guess you bought it from TigerDirect?

I always try to tell people to avoid Lite-On drives, they are really not that good drives.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Op-Ed: E3 games exploit real fears in a tumultuous world News Gaming Headlines 0 06-17-12 09:40 PM
Console Killers News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 11:10 PM
GeForce4 Ti 4200 hangs when playing games revenant NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 9 08-14-02 05:01 AM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 11:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.