Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-08, 05:55 PM   #1
phanboy_iv
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

I recently fired RTCW back up, and when I get to the room in the catacombs with the flaming zombie, the game hangs, and I have to VT switch and kill it manually. This doesn't happen with my ATI card, nor does it happen with Windows. I've tried other save files, and every time I see one of those flaming zombies, I get the same hang.

Could this be some driver bug triggered by the flame effect? I've tried downgrading and upgrading both the Nvidia drivers and my x server, but that doesn't fix it.
The card in question is a Quadro 140M with nvidia-drivers-173.14.05, although as I said, I tried it with the latest drivers as well.
phanboy_iv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 08:53 PM   #2
Kirurgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 165
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

Dude, where is anything that we can look at except buy RTWC, play to that level, enter the room and see output of error?
When You ask for help, provide enough information!
If You intend to do bug report, please read stickies!
Kirurgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 10:29 PM   #3
phanboy_iv
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

That's the thing, there are no error messages at all. The game just hangs, I kill it, no console error logs or warnings, no Xorg log warnings, no syslog warnings...I know that given this, it's almost impossible to debug, but I wondered if anyone else had this problem.
phanboy_iv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 10:32 PM   #4
phanboy_iv
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

Attached nvidia-bug-report.log
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (141.7 KB, 285 views)
phanboy_iv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-08, 02:18 AM   #5
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

That is an issue I have with RtCW over many years. In my testing it isn't video - it's the particular sound card I'm using. Disabling sound completely (s_initsound 0 in game etc), and unloading all snd_ kernel modules sometimes gets me past the occasions where flamethrower is used. The other game which does the same thing is Q3A (RtCW's base engine) binary version (not IOQuake). Playing on an old SBLive sound card (emu10k1 driver) there are no problems, I suspect because it is on this list.

http://www.alsa-project.org/main/ind...trix:Tag-HWMIX
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-08, 12:31 PM   #6
phanboy_iv
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by whig View Post
That is an issue I have with RtCW over many years. In my testing it isn't video - it's the particular sound card I'm using. Disabling sound completely (s_initsound 0 in game etc), and unloading all snd_ kernel modules sometimes gets me past the occasions where flamethrower is used. The other game which does the same thing is Q3A (RtCW's base engine) binary version (not IOQuake). Playing on an old SBLive sound card (emu10k1 driver) there are no problems, I suspect because it is on this list.

http://www.alsa-project.org/main/ind...trix:Tag-HWMIX
Ah. thanks much for the info. I'd never have figured that out myself. That explains why ioquake3 didn't do this. Strangely, my old sound card didn't do hardware mixing either, and I never had this problem. I wonder if some combination of dmix+aoss+cvar twiddling might help.
phanboy_iv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-08, 12:50 PM   #7
Kirurgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 165
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

Btw, You are able to get the logs just by running rctw from console (terminal). ID always does logging!
From those logs You'll be able, probably, to see exact saise You're getting and probably solve the issue.
So, fire up terminal: find that rctw executable (I really dunno the name) and execute it. After crash, just inspect logs.
Just in case set terminals history a bit larger than default 500 lines, it might be helpful.
Kirurgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-08, 02:44 AM   #8
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

My experience above is only with Nvidia cards on Linux, the issue could well be affected by a number of factors. Once I was thinking it was OSS simulation by ALSA. That you got it to go on ATI is interesting... when I next find myself on such a machine I could test. Or test the Wolf .exe under Wine.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-15-08, 03:53 PM   #9
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

Good news: on a desktop and laptop which freeze at the above point in the game, they both got through playing under Wine.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-10, 02:10 PM   #10
QR_prose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

I fired up RTCW a few days ago. The first time I played it since '07. I have a
GTX 285 running a amd64 kernel. It locks up in levels with a flaming zombie just
as reported in the first post. I tried it without sound but couldn't figure out how
to unload my kernel drivers as suggested. I have my doubts that it's sound related
anyway. How do you VT kill an enemy? With the game console?
QR_prose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-10, 09:43 PM   #11
skolnick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

I just had this issue on Fedora 12 x86_64. My solution was reinstalling Fedora 12, only this time I used 32bits instead of 64bits. Everything is the same, and same versions, except running 32bits instead of 64bits. Now the game doesn't crash with the flaming zombie, and it works great. It seems the problem is not sound related since I reinstalled my laptop, which crashed on fedora 12 64bits but works fine with fedora 12 32bits.

Regards.
skolnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-10, 04:49 PM   #12
mickski56
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Return to Castle Wolfenstein Crash

I've been having the same issue as you guys. I
downloaded wolf-linux-sdk-1.41.x86.run

type

sh wolf-linux-sdk-1.41.x86.run --keep
cd RTCW-mod-sdk-1.41/SP/src/unix/cons

edit Construct:121 , add -fPIC -m32 -march=athlon64 to $BASE_CFLAGS

edit Conscript-cgame, Conscript-game, Conscript-ui - change
LDFLAGS => '-shared -ldl -lm' to LDFLAGS => '-m32 -shared -ldl -lm'

type
cons -- release

copy
RTCW-mod-sdk-1.41/SP/src/unix/release-x86-Linux-2.9/out/main/cgamei386.so,
RTCW-mod-sdk-1.41/SP/src/unix/release-x86-Linux-2.9/out/main/qagamei386.so,
RTCW-mod-sdk-1.41/SP/src/unix/release-x86-Linux-2.9/out/main/uii386.so

to

<path to rtcw>/main

all plays fine for me now, hope this helps.
Mickski
mickski56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gf 6150se crash! oddhornedant NVIDIA Linux 2 05-05-12 06:30 AM
xvideo crash elanthis NVIDIA Linux 5 10-29-02 08:12 PM
Crashes in Wolfenstein SP Demo Heulsuse NVIDIA Linux 2 08-24-02 04:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.