Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-03, 06:37 AM   #1
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default The GeforceFX owners thread..

I thought that i would be nice to have a thead where you could post any issues and problems/information/tweaks you have/have done with your new cards. Its better than starting a new thread all the time for little problems when we could have them all in once place for reference.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Could make this a 'sticky' maybe? Maybe not i dunno.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

I will start to ball rolling, since getting my card ive not really had any problems as such - more querys.

The FXFlow (FlowFX?) cooling unit does seem to have a few 'bugs' caused by the drivers so as thats the only thing ive had any niggles with (but they are niggles, im still quite fond of the FlowFX technology)...

1) DVD - When i first played a DVD the FlowFX (wtf is the official name? FXFlow or FlowFX?) kicked in. But since, i have put in DVD's and it hasnt anymore.... anyone experience this?

2) FlowFX just this moment kicked on, while i was in windows. What i was doing at the time was reading this forum and some pictures were loading - now it was NOT overheating as its the lowest temp ive ever seen it (43*c) so im not sure. It did shut off, eventually but it took its time. Im just wondering what could have set it off when i was doing absolutley nothing 3d wise. Interesting that it happened ^ up there with a DVD. Maybe playing the DVD was just a coincidence.
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 09:32 AM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

i have noticed that sometimes when im on the web, and a web movie/ad starts to play, very rarely will the flowfx kick in... only happened a couple of times.

and with the old drivers and playing a dvd, my flowfx used to kick in but with the new drivers it does not
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64

Last edited by jAkUp; 04-11-03 at 09:53 AM.
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 09:52 AM   #3
SurfMonkey
QuadCore G80 PS3 Overload
 
SurfMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a small room surrounded by vast, inscrutable, machines...
Posts: 491
Default

Does the GF FX contain the same real time video processing circuitry (VPE) as the GF4MX or the NForce chipsets? If it does than that may be whats triggering the FlowFX as the amount of work being done by the GPU will increase even though there is no 3D processing being done.
__________________
Folding for Beyond3D
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
Sir Winston Churchill

"Halflife2 got halfway around the world before Gabe had a chance to get his pants on."
Anon
SurfMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 04:03 PM   #4
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hmm, BTW can anyone post any screenshots from different games with the driver set to Application vs Quality with a gfFX card?

from the same angle please.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 04:04 PM   #5
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default

Any AA/AF ? Ill do it now in GunMetal.
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 04:09 PM   #6
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RobHague
Any AA/AF ? Ill do it now in GunMetal.
it's up to you all I want to see is the difference between the IQ with the driver set to Application and with the driver set the Quality.

[H] had a review where they compared IQ in some game, but the image was also taken from a slightly different camera angle...so I was wondering if any of the differences were attributed to that versus the actual setting.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 04:16 PM   #7
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default

Okies, here it is. NO AA or AF. Set to Quality
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 04:16 PM   #8
DSC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 888
Default

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...?threadid=8688

According to the specs info, Nvidia says VPE2.0 is on all FX chips, 5800/5600/5200.

As you can see, FX5800 is verified to have VPE2.0 onboard. If anyone would test FX5600/5200 so that we can verify VPE2.0 support on them(hardware IDCT), please do the test as described in the thread above and report back.
DSC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-11-03, 04:35 PM   #9
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default

Okies, here it is. NO AA or AF. You can tell what it was set too by the file names (as jpeg's, quality setting in filename)

http://mysite.freeserve.com/dawnthefairy/iq.zip

To be very honest i cannot see ANY difference here at all. Even with BMP files.
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 05:09 PM   #10
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Default

Uh oh. Leadtek is making a single-slot quiet GF FX with VIVO.

http://www.digit-life.com/news.html?1525#1525
Then scroll down to April 9th - Leadtek article.

Quote:
Photo of the day: Leadtek WinFast A300 Ultra My VIVO - Cormac @ 20:02

We are now testing a novelty on NVIDIA GeForce FX 5800 Ultra. This time itís Leadtek's WinFast A300 Ultra My VIVO. Similar to other GeForce FX 5800 Ultra cards, this one differs from the reference only by the interesting cooling system. According to Andrew Vorobyev, our video editor, "Being very quiet, almost silent, the cooler occupies one slot. This is the best GFFX5800 card of all we have witnessed".
This is the first thing I've heard that may make me regret buying my PNY 5800 Ultra. VIVO & 1-Slot would have been nice for my Shuttle SN41G2 before I cut the case for the FX Flow.

EDIT: Bjorn3D Review http://www.************/_preview.php?articleID=262
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.

Last edited by ricercar; 04-11-03 at 05:13 PM.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 05:41 PM   #11
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default

Lets then make this the official GeforceFX owners thread
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 06:37 PM   #12
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 904
Default

Cool thanks.

That leadtek card looks good but im not too fussed, i like the flowfx (yes it seems im alone on that lol) and that design looks as though it could cause some heat issues with it dumping the heat back into the case and all.

The only thing i would have liked on my card would be VI as well as VO (we all paid a lot of money for our FX's and it seems a little unfair we didnt get that at least). But its not too vital i guess - nothing a proper TV card couldnt sort out.
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thread deletion. PCarr78 Feedback Forum 9 09-23-02 08:25 PM
Morrowind thread Kruno Gaming Central 28 08-16-02 05:55 PM
GeForce4 owners: Please post your TV encoder and board information ScuzziOne NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 08-04-02 06:55 PM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 07:04 AM
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 04:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.