Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-08, 06:26 PM   #1
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Crysis artifacts with GTX280

The character keeps artifacting, specifically the weapon and arms when cloaking/exiting cloak, looks like a memory error but memory isnít overclocked and other games seem fine.

This is with 177.39, anyone else noticing anything odd or has my memory decided to give after less then two days?
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 06:43 PM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

Heat ? temps ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 06:49 PM   #3
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64 View Post
Heat ? temps ?
No, it's not overheating anymore, that was the problem yesterday but it's worked fine since with no artifacts or crazy temps, now it's artifacting and all i've done since is install 177.39 and the physx driver.
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 06:57 PM   #4
DeusGear
Registered User
 
DeusGear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 575
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

Can we see a picture? Also could you downclock and see if it happens?
__________________
Abit ip35 pro
q6600 3.6
MSI N480GTX
8gb G.Skill
Win7
DeusGear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 07:06 PM   #5
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusGear View Post
Can we see a picture? Also could you downclock and see if it happens?
Well I tried downclocking to 999 and it made no difference, heres a pic.


http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/6017/crysisadh2.jpg
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 07:26 PM   #6
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

I dont wanna jump to conclusions but if underclocking didnt help then it sounds a faulty card ..
how about reverting back to the older driver ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-08, 04:27 AM   #7
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64 View Post
I dont wanna jump to conclusions but if underclocking didnt help then it sounds a faulty card ..
how about reverting back to the older driver ?
Just did just that, first removed physx driver which made no difference then rolled back to to 177.35 and the artifacts are gone. So luckily it looks like a driver issue, or dodgy driver install maybe as nobody else has reported problems.

lets see how long unitil the next issue pop up.
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-08, 04:38 AM   #8
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

Good to hear! .. try a driver cleaner just in case.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-08, 02:59 PM   #9
s1kb45trd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

confirmed: these are faulty cards, provided you have the latest game patch, driver, bios version etc. installed.

RMA it like i did, get a new card and be happy.

man was i pissed when i first had this problem. wtf rite, i bought this high end card to play me some crysis and then it crashes on me!! other games seem to run okay, but then again i couldve bought a 4870 for those. what use is todays highest end card if you cant even play crysis?
s1kb45trd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-08, 03:04 PM   #10
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by s1kb45trd View Post
confirmed: these are faulty cards, provided you have the latest game patch, driver, bios version etc. installed.

RMA it like i did, get a new card and be happy.

man was i pissed when i first had this problem. wtf rite, i bought this high end card to play me some crysis and then it crashes on me!! other games seem to run okay, but then again i couldve bought a 4870 for those. what use is todays highest end card if you cant even play crysis?
Nope, it's a driver issue. But of course a faulty card would result in something simalar.
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-08, 03:11 PM   #11
s1kb45trd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

well yeah it could always be driver related of course.

but i used to same driver on my new card and its not showing any symptoms so far!

there are just way too many factors and variables to give a clear definite answer to this issue.
s1kb45trd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-08, 04:09 PM   #12
dante
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Ramon, Ca
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to dante
Default Re: Crysis artifacts with GTX280

Does it happen in any other game Shocky? I just got my card. I first used the 177.39 drivers and there was bad artifacting. It even froze on the desktop. I moved to the 177.41 drivers and it improved but still there. I played Mass Effect for about 5 minutes and saw no artifacting. Now I don't know if maybe Crysis works the card harder than Mass Effect?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz/EVGA GTX 570/MSI P67A-GD65 B3/G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB/640gig WD sata/160gig Seagate sata/Dell 2407 24" HC
dante is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 2 Maximum Edition Back on Steam mojoman0 Crysis 2 06-13-12 12:37 AM
(Kotaku) Once Crysis 3 is Done, Crytek will be Working on Nothing but Free-to-Play Ga News Archived News Items 0 06-10-12 06:50 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.