Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-08, 06:48 PM   #1
pRATTICUS
Schnauzerkampfwagen I
 
pRATTICUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 74
Default Where is my bottleneck, now?

Considering the following upgrade in CPU:

Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115041

Currently have a Core 2 Duo E6600 OC'd to 3.0GHz with a Zalman.

Also, will my mobo work with the Yorkfield? I seem to recall complaints about this about a year ago.

From looking at the specs of my rig in my signature, is this a wise investment given that it is primarily for games?

I have a tri-boot machine with Windows XP Pro-32 SP3, Windows Vista-32 Home Premium & Windows Vista-64 Home Premium loaded so lots of options on the OS.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | 6Gb OCZ 1600 Mhz | i7 950 OC to 4.0 Ghz | 280 GTX SLI | ASUS P6X58D-E | Dell 3007WFP | Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
"Some say Chuck Norris can divide by zero; while this is true, he would have no need. For Chuck, the zero would divide itself."
pRATTICUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 07:00 PM   #2
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: Where is my bottleneck, now?

If you like to run games at 2560x1600 with AA, in your screen, prolly the gfx card.

I'm running 1920x1200 since 2 months ago, and i still haven't upgraded my gfx card cause the GTX280 could not be enough for my personal needs. So, i cannot imagine the problems to run 2560x1600

AFAIK, i think that the 680i cannot run yorkfields, but you can run wolfdales.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 07:15 PM   #3
pRATTICUS
Schnauzerkampfwagen I
 
pRATTICUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 74
Default Re: Where is my bottleneck, now?

Thanks for the reply, I'll check on the capability of the 680i mobo.

As far as GPU, I'm not going to any SLi configuration, so the 280 is going to have to be the only solution at this point. If that still proves to truly be a bottleneck (and I don't agree that it is), then I won't upgrade at all .
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | 6Gb OCZ 1600 Mhz | i7 950 OC to 4.0 Ghz | 280 GTX SLI | ASUS P6X58D-E | Dell 3007WFP | Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
"Some say Chuck Norris can divide by zero; while this is true, he would have no need. For Chuck, the zero would divide itself."
pRATTICUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 07:35 PM   #4
pRATTICUS
Schnauzerkampfwagen I
 
pRATTICUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 74
Default Re: Where is my bottleneck, now?

Yeah, you are right about the incompatibility with the mobo.

The 680i chipset can only handle up to the Wolfdale 45nm processors.

However, in looking at some of the initial previews of the Nehalem chip and the fact that it should be out in months is leading me to wait and just upgrade my subsystem entirely Q1 next year.

See below for a preview of Nehalem:

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=3326
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | 6Gb OCZ 1600 Mhz | i7 950 OC to 4.0 Ghz | 280 GTX SLI | ASUS P6X58D-E | Dell 3007WFP | Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
"Some say Chuck Norris can divide by zero; while this is true, he would have no need. For Chuck, the zero would divide itself."
pRATTICUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 07:55 PM   #5
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Where is my bottleneck, now?

Waiting for Nehalem might be a good idea. If you wanted a yorkfield you'd likely want a 790i board, so you'd need new ram, board and processor. I'd also suggest getting a 2nd GTX 280 for a monitor that size.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 09:31 PM   #6
pRATTICUS
Schnauzerkampfwagen I
 
pRATTICUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 74
Default Re: Where is my bottleneck, now?

What's the current verdict on SLi 280s and micro-stutter, hitching, etc.?

I have read reports from a plethora of people who adopted SLi in the past and vowed to never do it again.
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | 6Gb OCZ 1600 Mhz | i7 950 OC to 4.0 Ghz | 280 GTX SLI | ASUS P6X58D-E | Dell 3007WFP | Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
"Some say Chuck Norris can divide by zero; while this is true, he would have no need. For Chuck, the zero would divide itself."
pRATTICUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 11:46 PM   #7
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Where is my bottleneck, now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pRATTICUS View Post
What's the current verdict on SLi 280s and micro-stutter, hitching, etc.?

I have read reports from a plethora of people who adopted SLi in the past and vowed to never do it again.
Some do, some don't. It's best to try it yourself at a friend, see if you can notice a difference in gameplay and even if you do, it might not bother you... It's up to you really...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-08, 09:45 AM   #8
Heinz68
Registered User
 
Heinz68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto-CAN, Hamburg-DE, Prague-CZ
Posts: 1,893
Default Re: Where is my bottleneck, now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pRATTICUS View Post
What's the current verdict on SLi 280s and micro-stutter, hitching, etc.?

I have read reports from a plethora of people who adopted SLi in the past and vowed to never do it again.
Another option when considering SLI is to sell the GTX 280 and get the HD 4870 x2. I believe this is better solution for running 2 GPU also cheaper plus I don't see why new mobo should be needed in that case.

I do visit many forums and don't see any reporting about bad microstuttering on the HD 4870 x2 card at least not from the real users.
__________________
Stop The Meter On Your Internet Use

------------------------------------------------------------
Core i7 980X EE @ 4316 MHz 1.35V - Corsair Hydro Series H50
ASUS Rampage II Extreme - Corsair Dominator 1600MHz 12GB Triple-Channel
Sapphire HD 6990 - ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe
Intel X25-M 160GB 34nm G2 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB 32mb
Cosmos S Case - Corsair HX1000W PSU
Pioner Blu-ray Burner 6X BD-R - Westinghouse LVM-37w3, 37inch 1080p
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel - Logitech Cordless RumblePad 2
Sennheiser RS 180 - Windows 7 64-bit Pro
Heinz68 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me find my GeForce4 Ti 4600 bottleneck rhipidon NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 14 09-18-02 07:49 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.