Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-08, 06:07 AM   #1
duffy_chucky
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: milkyway
Posts: 192
Default ArmA 2 !

Arma assault 2 has been introduced at GC 2008.

It's another level in warfar simulation . higher .

-improved AI (Dualcore support, one core is used for the Micro-AI)
-improved performance,
-improved anticheat mesure
-improved animation system (the best improving IMHO)
-improved lighting system (yet good in arma 1)
-improved weather system.

The house has 10 years experience in warfar simulation.

engine will be nearly comptatible with actual 3rd party mod, scripts . only few change will be required to make them work with arma2.
A good decision to preserve the community work, wich make arma on of the most big game of the world.

default island will be 250 square kilometer large . with 350km of road network.
bohemia has choose , as always , to bring us a complete mission and world editor. things will not change. new islands, new vehicle, new weapons, new AI function will come later.

game will be there in 1st quarter 2009.

new AI system show off : http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=hZblVD855jY
screenshot available here : http://www.bistudio.com/arma2.html
duffy_chucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 07:57 AM   #2
duffy_chucky
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: milkyway
Posts: 192
Default Re: Armed assault 2 !

mistake on begin of thread. it's about Arma 2 .
duffy_chucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 01:05 PM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

Thread title changed.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 02:31 PM   #4
duffy_chucky
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: milkyway
Posts: 192
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

i can't . anyway armed assault is unofficially called arma.
duffy_chucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 04:02 PM   #5
Noriega
你妈妈喜欢的阴茎
 
Noriega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 波兰
Posts: 2,176
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

yeah standing with MG on the road is P R O ... AI still fail
__________________
Noriega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-08, 03:58 AM   #6
duffy_chucky
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: milkyway
Posts: 192
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noriega View Post
yeah standing with MG on the road is P R O ... AI still fail
AI is better , is more flexible , than any other game ai. i don't need to program a road to make them travel 50km with 3 different vehicle and assault 3 different village. i can make them ask reinforcement if their group is inferior to x unit. etc etc ...

for do that, crysis / graw / stalker still fail. but hey, we talk about WAR game. not your game obviously.
duffy_chucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-08, 03:58 PM   #7
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noriega View Post
yeah standing with MG on the road is P R O ... AI still fail
Look at AI in ALL sand box FPS?Shooters... there are bound to be some glitches...
Quote:
Originally Posted by duffy_chucky View Post
AI is better , is more flexible , than any other game ai. i don't need to program a road to make them travel 50km with 3 different vehicle and assault 3 different village. i can make them ask reinforcement if their group is inferior to x unit. etc etc ...

for do that, crysis / graw / stalker still fail. but hey, we talk about WAR game. not your game obviously.
What do you mean "we talk about war game. not yours"?
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-08, 04:06 PM   #8
duffy_chucky
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: milkyway
Posts: 192
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koko56 View Post
Look at AI in ALL sand box FPS?Shooters... there are bound to be some glitches...

What do you mean "we talk about war game. not yours"?
arma is war platoon sim. not a corridor FPS . i may say "platoon simulator" instead wargame.
what that means is you can set up a battlefield of russian vs west men , with 150 soldier in each side, fighting eachother.
, dedicated server need to be high end cpu , but all that run decently if all required condition are meet.
illustrated on this page

between

frankly . i, of course, play some blockbuster game like Graw , cod etc ... but dude, that sucks so much . i don't figure why people often prefer these crappy title , to the most advanced shooting simulator.

want a rifle ? want some urban combat , choose the best engine to do it ! choose arma ...
duffy_chucky is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-08, 09:18 AM   #9
duffy_chucky
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: milkyway
Posts: 192
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

Hey guys, i HIGHLY recommend to watch the new high res video of Arma2 presentation by Marek himself (Project chief)

MPEG video , great quality , seen widescreen .
Feature and optimization seem really go far. wonderfull work on texture and lighting quality.

i never see a such detailled LAV

on armed assault for watch directly

or

download it from filefront


What do you think ? don't wanna test ?

Last edited by duffy_chucky; 09-01-08 at 09:37 AM.
duffy_chucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-08, 07:26 AM   #10
duffy_chucky
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: milkyway
Posts: 192
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

http://hosted.filefront.com/millerAB
duffy_chucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-08, 07:33 AM   #11
lumpyhed
Are you ready?
 
lumpyhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 371
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

yey we finally have dogs and old people to shoot at!
I wonder if they will have a zombie easter egg mod in there?
__________________
BFG GTX260-OC 896MB in PII-940 @ 3.6, M3A32-MVP Deluxe, Seasonic S80 650w, 4GB DDR2 800mhz ram, lossa storage.
Samsung 3D Monitor & Acer 3D projector
MSI Wind netbook
lumpyhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-08, 07:47 AM   #12
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: ArmA 2 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by duffy_chucky View Post
arma is war platoon sim. not a corridor FPS . i may say "platoon simulator" instead wargame.
what that means is you can set up a battlefield of russian vs west men , with 150 soldier in each side, fighting eachother.
, dedicated server need to be high end cpu , but all that run decently if all required condition are meet.
illustrated on this page

between

frankly . i, of course, play some blockbuster game like Graw , cod etc ... but dude, that sucks so much . i don't figure why people often prefer these crappy title , to the most advanced shooting simulator.

want a rifle ? want some urban combat , choose the best engine to do it ! choose arma ...
So you meant "we are talking about a sim here, not an "arcade" game here"?

Well, it's hard to imagine that you could compare ArmA, Flashpoint or the likes to "mainstream" FPSs.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DayZ mod for ARMA II ATOJAR Gaming Central 42 02-21-13 05:51 AM
Arma 3 E3 hands-on preview: 8 important questions answered News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
ARMA III Trail Considers Details, Sometimes Shoots Them News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 09:40 AM
ARMA III Continues To Look Absolutely Absurd News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Arma 3 video shows minutes of in-game footage News Archived News Items 0 05-06-12 06:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.