Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-08, 02:32 PM   #1
Morot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default TripleBuffer

I have a GeForce 8600GT on a 24" flat screen.
Using drivers 177.68.

What is this TripleBuffer thing, and should it be enabled or disabled?
What does it do?
Do you guys have it enabled or disabled?
Morot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 03:31 PM   #2
goblin85
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: TripleBuffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morot View Post
I have a GeForce 8600GT on a 24" flat screen.
Using drivers 177.68.

What is this TripleBuffer thing, and should it be enabled or disabled?
What does it do?
Do you guys have it enabled or disabled?
Io lo uso perņ per chiarimenti di cosa sia ti rimando al README di nvidia:

Option "TripleBuffer" "boolean"

Enable or disable the use of triple buffering. If this option is enabled,
OpenGL windows that sync to vblank and are double-buffered will be given a
third buffer. This decreases the time an application stalls while waiting
for vblank events, but increases latency slightly (delay between user
input and displayed result).
goblin85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 03:34 PM   #3
Morot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: TripleBuffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by goblin85 View Post
Option "TripleBuffer" "boolean"

Enable or disable the use of triple buffering. If this option is enabled,
OpenGL windows that sync to vblank and are double-buffered will be given a
third buffer. This decreases the time an application stalls while waiting
for vblank events, but increases latency slightly (delay between user
input and displayed result).
Yeah, I read that.
But I don't know what todo.
__________________
GeForce 8600GT (256 mb)
Get open source device drivers, or next time I buy ATI.
Morot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 03:42 PM   #4
logan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 492
Default Re: TripleBuffer

I think it's been said that you should only enable this if you have alot of video memory (512+)? I enabled this, along with all of the other suggested performance tweaks, when installing the 177.68 drivers for my 512MB 8800GT. So far, so good.
logan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 04:07 PM   #5
Morot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: TripleBuffer

My graphics card is only 256 mb RAM.
I don't if its good for me to have TripleBuffer on or off.
__________________
GeForce 8600GT (256 mb)
Get open source device drivers, or next time I buy ATI.
Morot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 05:11 PM   #6
.:Ratmann:.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: TripleBuffer

If you using VSync and in some moment fps becomes less than vert. refresh (e.g. 57 fps when v. refresh is 60), it will be automatically halved (30fps). Triplebuffer prevents that, but adds a slight (but irritating) input lag.
.:Ratmann:. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-08, 09:54 AM   #7
memeyou
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 74
Default Re: TripleBuffer

for me with it on i notice the ui is less twitchy and more smooth - but fps is the same.
memeyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.