Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 05-15-03, 01:58 PM   #1
pokerup

Default newbee to redhat driver update questions problems

hi i am very new to the linux world of any sort mandrake redhat all completley new to me
ok so i load it up a few days ago and now am trying to load for the first time a updated driver the nvidia driver
i follow the instructions to the T
but all i get when i log in to startx is a black screen
the read me files says to change the nv in the FX86Config file to nvidia done that
says to get rid of the module line "dri"
the other two lins says to get rid of is not in the config file
when i look at the 86log it says GLX not loaded or something like that
i made sure i had all of the files it says and at leas that version or higher
so natuarlly i go out of x window and try to see whats up natuarlly being new completey new at this sort of thing im kinda lost
so in any event i find my way to the emacs program damn that thing is confuseing
but any way find my way in emacs to get to the config file to change it back to original
do that save it log out of emacs
uninstall the nvidia driver wala back to startx
every thing is normal
i have redhat 9 with what ever updates it has to it from the redhat network
have been 3 kernal updates since i loaded this 4 days ago
yes i did let the nvida installer build for this
anyone got any idea on whats going on that will help me
sure would appreciate it
im useing a gforce3 ti 200 msi card

Last edited by pokerup; 05-15-03 at 07:56 PM.
pokerup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-03, 02:02 PM   #2
pokerup

ok post added after i posted here are my files
natually these are the files after i uninstalled the nvidia driver if that makes a diff
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (36.4 KB, 138 views)
Old 05-15-03, 02:05 PM   #3
pokerup

how do i submit the config file it says file type not supported for upload
Old 05-15-03, 02:40 PM   #4
DrOzz