Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-08, 01:35 PM   #1
luigi.galvani
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default NV Quadro and switching output

Good day,
I have Thinkpad R61 with NV Quadro and need to insert into dock to change the output of LVDS (1680x1050) to DVI (1920x1200). Application nvidia-settings that can, however, the manual switch in this gui is MOST uncomfortable and slow - i need this automaticaly. I would like to use xrandr through script. Unfortunately xrandr does not show (change) any other output, and Fn+F7 doesnt work... Please help me.
luigi.galvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-08, 02:02 PM   #2
Big P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default Re: NV Quadro and switching output

Quote:
Originally Posted by luigi.galvani View Post
I would like to use xrandr through script.
You can script nvidia-settings to do it. Have a look at the --assign switch.
Big P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 01:53 AM   #3
tolonuga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: NV Quadro and switching output

Can you give an example please?
I found three issues:
* how to trigger "detect display" button effect?
* "EnabledDisplays" seems to be the value we want to change,
but it is read only.
* the nvidia-settings gui changes the resolution if I enable VGA
and disable the LCD and vice versa. it picks the native resolution
of the new screen. how to do that automatically?

Regards, Andreas
tolonuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 03:39 AM   #4
tolonuga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: NV Quadro and switching output

I wrote a small tool in C using the nvcontrol API
and published the source and makefile here:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/263887

it will simply switch output. no way back, no confirmation
dialog or anything. I hope nvidia can add some "--switch-output"
flag to nvidia-settings, so we don't need such extra tools in
the future.
tolonuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driver versions above 275.43 causing Xorg hangs with Quadro 130m ApeironTsuka NVIDIA Linux 2 05-13-12 03:42 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.