Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-08, 10:32 PM   #553
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

haven't installed clear skies yet, will wait for that new patch that was just announced.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-08, 11:23 PM   #554
Section-9
Pixel Junkie
 
Section-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 572
Send a message via AIM to Section-9
Thumbs up Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
will wait for that new patch that was just announced.
excellent idea.
__________________
Main Rig:

| Cooler Master HAF 932| AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 3.2GHz |Zalman CNPS9900ALED 120mm Blue LED | Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 (rev. 2.0) |G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB DDR3 |LG 10X Blu-ray Burner |
Crucial SSD (2x64GB) Raid 0 + WD Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair TX850w | 2x Evga GTX 580's SuperClocked (SC) 1.5GB in SLI | Dell 24'' (1080p) |
Razer Carcharias | Klipsch 2.1 speakers | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |Saitek Cyborg keyboard | Cyborg R.A.T. 7 Gaming mouse |

Laptop:

| Alienware M14x | Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) |Intel Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz | 8GB RAM DDR3 | 750GB 7200rpm | Hybrid Intel HD Graphics 3000 / NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M |14" WLED HD display (1366 x 768) |
Section-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 01:09 AM   #555
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0 View Post
combine those 2 and you'll have the best FPS game of all time
stalkers bugs and crysis warhead linear segments?

or stalkers open world rpg style combined with crysis sandbox action gameplay?
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 03:49 AM   #556
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
actually started working with one previous save version save game

my stalker soc save game from version 1.0004 won't load in 1.0006, but 1.0005 will
Or with the previous patch...
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 05:30 AM   #557
Hercules
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 306
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Dont know if this was posted before, anyway:

"This helps me in getting equal load on all 4 cores.

As you can see we have 100% load on 1st CPU core and 0-10% on 2nd and so on with multicores CPU used. Just want add some hint about this trouble:

- start game and wait for intro start playing or game menu displayed
- press CTRL+SHIFT+ESC for call Task Manager (if it doesn't try ALT+TAB, WINKEY or CTRL+ALT+DEL and start it way you do)
- in Task Manager go to "processes tab" and find xrEngine.exe press RMB on it then select "Affinity" - you will see that all cores are used
- unselect all cores except 1st press "OK"
- now enter xrEngine.exe Affinity settings again and select all cores back to use then press "OK"
- press ALT+TAB to switch back in STALKER process
- now play and see the difference on ingame cores load - on AMD/Intel multicore CPUs i have seen 50-70% for"

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=725684
Hercules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 10:07 AM   #558
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

cant get aa to work
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 10:36 AM   #559
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATi View Post
cant get aa to work
I can confirm it does work but I can't get it to work on transparencies and a few poly edges aren't affected also. So it's working on like 50% of the scene in actuality.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 10:58 AM   #560
Section-9
Pixel Junkie
 
Section-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 572
Send a message via AIM to Section-9
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATi View Post
cant get aa to work
You do know AA in CS only works under DX10 mode right?
__________________
Main Rig:

| Cooler Master HAF 932| AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 3.2GHz |Zalman CNPS9900ALED 120mm Blue LED | Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 (rev. 2.0) |G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB DDR3 |LG 10X Blu-ray Burner |
Crucial SSD (2x64GB) Raid 0 + WD Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair TX850w | 2x Evga GTX 580's SuperClocked (SC) 1.5GB in SLI | Dell 24'' (1080p) |
Razer Carcharias | Klipsch 2.1 speakers | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |Saitek Cyborg keyboard | Cyborg R.A.T. 7 Gaming mouse |

Laptop:

| Alienware M14x | Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) |Intel Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz | 8GB RAM DDR3 | 750GB 7200rpm | Hybrid Intel HD Graphics 3000 / NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M |14" WLED HD display (1366 x 768) |
Section-9 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-21-08, 01:11 PM   #561
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hercules View Post
Dont know if this was posted before, anyway:

"This helps me in getting equal load on all 4 cores.

As you can see we have 100% load on 1st CPU core and 0-10% on 2nd and so on with multicores CPU used. Just want add some hint about this trouble:

- start game and wait for intro start playing or game menu displayed
- press CTRL+SHIFT+ESC for call Task Manager (if it doesn't try ALT+TAB, WINKEY or CTRL+ALT+DEL and start it way you do)
- in Task Manager go to "processes tab" and find xrEngine.exe press RMB on it then select "Affinity" - you will see that all cores are used
- unselect all cores except 1st press "OK"
- now enter xrEngine.exe Affinity settings again and select all cores back to use then press "OK"
- press ALT+TAB to switch back in STALKER process
- now play and see the difference on ingame cores load - on AMD/Intel multicore CPUs i have seen 50-70% for"

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=725684

This will distrubute the load to 4 cores, but there is no performance gain at all.
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 01:54 PM   #562
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurdEarl View Post
You do know AA in CS only works under DX10 mode right?
yes im on dx10 all setting maxed may be a ATidriver thing? any here with a ati with aa working>?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 04:36 PM   #563
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

What's the deal with the Geiger counter? If I walk in radioactive water there is no sound or fuzzy screen. Radioactive land, the Geiger counter sounds off proper. Bug?
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 06:23 PM   #564
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Stalker Clear Sky

Compared to Crysis Warhead, this game is ****ing boring.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some Stalker Fallout? 1C Proposes A Nuclear Union News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 07:00 AM
Planetside 2?s Fire In The Sky News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
nvidia: Very clear visual depiction of what the @ptscientists set out to achieve #gtc News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 10:40 PM
Discrete Graphics: The Sky is Not Falling News Archived News Items 0 05-11-12 05:40 AM
Can we all be honest about STALKER jkmetal Gaming Central 53 05-10-12 09:32 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.