Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-09, 02:10 AM   #1
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,966
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Setup Ubuntu On PowerPC Mac G3

Doing an install of Ubuntu for PowerPC on a Mac G3 but it will boot to the cd but during loading screen goes white and shuts off.

It says type live cd for powerpc which i typed after using tab for menu but as it goes to loading i get white screen with loading info at top left and shutsoff.

Is this a security feature for macs or am i just not installing it right?
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-09, 05:18 PM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Setup Ubuntu On PowerPC Mac G3

I would say it's a hardware issue. If anything you would be presented with another menu or at least an error message or hang, but not a shut down.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-09, 11:48 PM   #3
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,966
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Setup Ubuntu On PowerPC Mac G3

Mac OS9 runs fine on it.

Xserver says: it needs a certain command set to force it with a new OS cuz its a PAC and MACS are touchy on bootables of new oses.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-09, 01:23 AM   #4
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Setup Ubuntu On PowerPC Mac G3

How much ram do you have? Live cd based Linux distributions tend to have problems if its under 64mb and occasionally with 128mb. I'm not sure about in Ubuntu, but in Debian there are ways documented to bypass this problem, but you'd probably have to have some Linux knowledge.

Alternatively, I found this on google. http://swedishcampground.com/install...-on-an-imac-g3
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-09, 02:24 PM   #5
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,966
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Setup Ubuntu On PowerPC Mac G3

It has 768 ram and a 30gb hd with a 500 PPC cpu.

Its an international version of the G3 and it seems working with os9 but i get the menu tab chossing live or live-ppc so i pic live-pc and it loads kernal and something else before it goes to a white screen and a white screen with loading please and sshuts off.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-09, 02:46 PM   #6
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Setup Ubuntu On PowerPC Mac G3

I would say it's a hardware issue. If anything you would be presented with another menu or at least an error message or hang, but not a shut down.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-09, 08:21 PM   #7
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,966
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Setup Ubuntu On PowerPC Mac G3

LOL, what are you doing?

I did a bigman survey of the setup and found nothin wrong with it according to my super ability to detect error.

I will just annoy the ubuntu boards til im golden.

I might as put osx on the vim cuz its better anyway and looks great.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux gaming on the rise: EA arrives on Ubuntu and Valve plans Steam port News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 05:20 PM
Canonical partners with Microsoft to support Ubuntu on Azure News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 06:20 AM
Precision and purpose: Ubuntu 12.04 and the Unity HUD reviewed News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 03:20 PM
Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is Now Available on Mac! News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 06:00 PM
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 01:52 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.