Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-08, 08:57 AM   #1
saumilsingh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 63
Default V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

This is The First Encounter I am talking about.

I tried enabling it ingame. Didn't work.
I tried enabling it from the display drivers. Didn't work.
I tried forcing it with RivaTuner. Didn't work.

I am all out of ideas and I hate playing games without v-sync.
What else can I try? I am running a 7800 GTX with ForceWare 175.16.

V-sync works perfectly in D3D mode. But the game runs substantially slower in D3D, even dropping to 30FPS at many times.
So trying to play in D3D mode is out of the question; I think this game was specially optimized for OGL.
saumilsingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-08, 11:45 AM   #2
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by saumilsingh View Post
This is The First Encounter I am talking about.

I tried enabling it ingame. Didn't work.
I tried enabling it from the display drivers. Didn't work.
I tried forcing it with RivaTuner. Didn't work.

I am all out of ideas and I hate playing games without v-sync.
What else can I try? I am running a 7800 GTX with ForceWare 175.16.

V-sync works perfectly in D3D mode. But the game runs substantially slower in D3D, even dropping to 30FPS at many times.
So trying to play in D3D mode is out of the question; I think this game was specially optimized for OGL.
Try nhancer yet? http://www.nhancer.com/?dat=downloads
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-08, 04:48 PM   #3
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

OpenGL is faster, but not as complete. You'll miss some special effects, hence the reason it runs faster.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-08, 08:39 PM   #4
saumilsingh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

Yes I already use nHancer and that didn't work either.
saumilsingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 05:53 AM   #5
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
OpenGL is faster, but not as complete. You'll miss some special effects, hence the reason it runs faster.
I just think the renderer was designed with GL in mind and D3D support was tacked on as an afterthought. There's virtually no difference between OpenGL 1.x and D3D 8 in terms of features.

No game from 2001 should be dipping to 30fps on a 7800GTX.
__________________
Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition @ 4.00GHz, 2.94GHz uncore| Corsair H60 | ASUS P6X58D-E | Zotac GTX 580 @ 872/1744/2145|Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB (Games/Steam)| Seagate 1.5TB (media/misc.) |Seagate 1 TB (OS/Main) | 24 GB G.Skill RipJaws X 1.5V DDR3-1333 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD 202 Headset | Dual Gigabit Realtek LAN | Antec True Power Quattro 1200W | Acer G235Hbmbd 23" LCD Display | Logitech K320 Wireless Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 05:02 PM   #6
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

It's the other way round. D3D is the main render. OpenGL was added as an after thought. In fact for Serious Sam 2 they striped OpenGL from the default options, you have to enable it with tricks.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 05:57 PM   #7
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

Well, Serious Sam 2 is a totally different game with a new engine.
__________________
Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition @ 4.00GHz, 2.94GHz uncore| Corsair H60 | ASUS P6X58D-E | Zotac GTX 580 @ 872/1744/2145|Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB (Games/Steam)| Seagate 1.5TB (media/misc.) |Seagate 1 TB (OS/Main) | 24 GB G.Skill RipJaws X 1.5V DDR3-1333 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD 202 Headset | Dual Gigabit Realtek LAN | Antec True Power Quattro 1200W | Acer G235Hbmbd 23" LCD Display | Logitech K320 Wireless Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 11:25 PM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

No, they built it off the same engine. Serious Sam III has the new engine, hence the lengthy development.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-08, 05:34 AM   #9
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

Serious Sam: The First Encounter, and Serious Sam: The Second Encounter, were both built off of the original, "Serious Engine". Serious Sam II was built off of "Serious Engine II".

__________________
Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition @ 4.00GHz, 2.94GHz uncore| Corsair H60 | ASUS P6X58D-E | Zotac GTX 580 @ 872/1744/2145|Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB (Games/Steam)| Seagate 1.5TB (media/misc.) |Seagate 1 TB (OS/Main) | 24 GB G.Skill RipJaws X 1.5V DDR3-1333 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD 202 Headset | Dual Gigabit Realtek LAN | Antec True Power Quattro 1200W | Acer G235Hbmbd 23" LCD Display | Logitech K320 Wireless Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 12:09 PM   #10
saumilsingh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

The game was definitely built with OGL in mind because that's the mode it uses by default after a fresh install.

I guess I will just have to live without v-sync which would've been heavenly in this game because the framerate rarely dips below 90 even with 8xS AA.

V-sync works in D3D but the framerate is shot to ground in that mode.
saumilsingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 04:31 PM   #11
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: V-sync won't work in Serious Sam in OGL mode

On a fresh install mine is using Glide. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
320.17 can't detect video modes on Lenovo laptop tadawson NVIDIA Linux 13 07-14-12 01:40 AM
Serious Sam Second Encounter Seriously Encounters F2P News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-09-12 06:30 AM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
Nvidia GF4 MX 440 + Mandrake tomchristopher NVIDIA Linux 3 08-18-02 09:42 AM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 11:34 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.