Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-08, 08:11 AM   #241
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Anyone know if its possible to set custom resolutions for this game? My resolution selection list is packed with 6 different refresh rates for every resolution and it only goes up to 1440x1080 (my desktop 4:3 res).

I'd like to run it at 1600x1200 or 2048x1536 but the config files only refer to screen size numbers (currently set to 43), not to actual resolutions.

If I could stop it from listing all the extra refresh rates it'd probably have room to show more resolutions.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-08, 10:01 AM   #242
geftargnabl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 112
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Spore sucks ass i waited so long for that game big pile of ****... i should have known from the creature creator it would suck
geftargnabl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-08, 11:04 AM   #243
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Ok I'm in the space stage and something is wrong...

I just got back from my first interstellar mission and my "communication" button is blinking but when I click on it it does nothing. I can fly around aimlessly but I can't answer the communication and I can't open up my mission logs or the sporeapedia. Since there is only one save slot, I don't want to save it because I don't want to lose my entire game if the bug is saved as well. Am I missing something here or is the game broken?

EDIT: I guess this is a wide spread bug... WTF Maxis? How many years did you have to eliminate game breaking bugs?

http://forums.electronicarts.co.uk/s...rest-game.html

The solution some are using is to zoom out of your planet, save the game and then reload it and go back to your planet. I'm going to attempt to copy my saved game files just in case because I've put a lot of hours into this...

EDIT: Orbiting another planet, saving the game and then reloading the game fixed the problem. I can now click the communications button again. Thank god that's fixed. I still made a copy of my game though. At least I think so... there's a "games" folder in "C:\users\*yourname*\Roaming\Spore" and it has files in it that look like save game files.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-08, 12:38 PM   #244
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

couldnt agree more with ZP's review of spore

"Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooooooooo"

http://www.videosift.com/video/Zero-Punctuation-Spore
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-08, 10:55 PM   #245
Dirthead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 357
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I love his shows, they are really enjoyable. even if he bashes the hell of out of gas, Bad thing is most of what he says is true. Spore needs some patches and more options and whatnot
Dirthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 03:02 AM   #246
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I pretty much have to agree with everything yatzee said. Unless you like to see just how wacked out and screwed up you can make your monster look, its a bit to shallow in all respects and it decided to make the wrong segament, the space one, the longest. I was expecting to spend most of my time in development stages, however the last 2 stages dosnt do a whole lot of character building, but instead a means to backup up your way of life.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 08:37 AM   #247
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmd View Post
I pretty much have to agree with everything yatzee said. Unless you like to see just how wacked out and screwed up you can make your monster look, its a bit to shallow in all respects and it decided to make the wrong segament, the space one, the longest. I was expecting to spend most of my time in development stages, however the last 2 stages dosnt do a whole lot of character building, but instead a means to backup up your way of life.
I was really expecting FAR more depth in the civilization stage.

My first vehicle I designed as sort of a light and fast tank that'd be cheap to build, then I find out that all vehicles will have equal overall strengths no matter what you put on them (the percentages indicate which things its better at, but it still doesn't matter too much), the weapons all do the same thing, you only get ONE land vehicle and they always cost $1,000. So I just went back in and made something that was slow and had lots of health and power and that obviously dominated everything.

I was really surprised at how much they neutered this part of the game.

Also, they force military civilizations into slaughtering everyone. I was splitting my planet with a religious civilization and we wiped out the other races. We both had equal amounts of cities and for no good reason their disposition toward me dropped from +150 to -250 and they declared war on me. I took over all but one of their cities before they surrendered. I have no idea why it happened and it made this stage feel kind of pointless.

The game is pretty fun to play its just incredibly shallow.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 10:07 AM   #248
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
ninja, i killed two of your creatures yesterday

my gameworld is currently overrun by Tygerwoody Raptors
lol really? how did that happen? How do we obtain other people's creatures onto our own planet?


BTW, i still haven't even advanced to tribal stage still. I'm enjoying slaughtering my planet too much.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-18-08, 10:18 AM   #249
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

it all goes crap after than
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 01:04 PM   #250
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Well, I'm in the space stage right now and I have to say, it started out great with finding artifacts and transporting animals and plants to terraform, but once people start attacking for no reason it gets lame real fast.

Why am I suddenly at war with someone? And why do they get multiple ships if I can only have one?

Its also REALLY irritating when my ship is almost dead and I'm supposed to be defending my colony but they won't let me repair, they just say "There's no time for talk, we're under attack!".

And another thing... when I fly to a hostile system and there are ships shooting at me constantly just because I'm in their system, what the hell am I supposed to do? I can't fight, and I have to roll the scroll wheel 47 times to zoom out and leave the system. By that time I'm almost dead. When I was on a planet 10 seconds ago the weapons couldn't shoot more than a few hundred yards, now they're instantly blowing me to bits as soon as I'm within 10 million miles of them?

Before getting attacked I was thinking this would be something I'd probably play off and on for a long time, but now, I don't even really feel like continuing at all...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 01:51 PM   #251
Mr.Schme
Registered User
 
Mr.Schme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Outside DC
Posts: 236
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I just got the game yesterday. Everything seems great so far, I did want more emphasis on the cell stage though. Thinking ahead, might this just be like an rts like sc and such? Except that you can customize your army?
Mr.Schme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 02:26 PM   #252
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Schme View Post
I just got the game yesterday. Everything seems great so far, I did want more emphasis on the cell stage though. Thinking ahead, might this just be like an rts like sc and such? Except that you can customize your army?
Not really. There isn't any real combat strategy involved since you only have one kind of land unit, one air unit and one naval unit. They also build instantly so as long as you have a decent cash flow you just click a bunch of times on the kind of unit you need and then make them kill stuff. Very simple. Customizing units also doesn't really do anything. You can put different guns on them but they don't seem to have any effect on the way the vehicle attacks. All customizing really does is allow you to balance health, attack power and speed any way you want (20% health, 60% attack power, 20% speed... etc).

I just realized something that makes the Space stage a lot more playable though. There is no consequence for dying.

So, the difficulty doesn't really seem to matter. If you die defending your home planet it only takes about 15 seconds to be right back into the fight with a duplicate ship and no resources or items lost.

Plus, after getting a couple health and energy upgrades your ship will take a hell of a lot more damage.

The easiest way to stop raider attacks is to just fly over a city that is well fortified with turrets so that the enemies are caught in a constant barrage of fire while they attack you. They'll be dead pretty fast and then you can repair your ship for free.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Spore Complete and Darkspore, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.