Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-08, 04:46 PM   #277
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
mine downloaded the patch, and when it ask are you ready to install (don't remember excact words)

i press yes or agree, and then it gives me message patch failed try again.
cough 'no cd patched exe being used' cough
__________________
Vista x64
Intel Q6600 (3.6GHz 1.45v)
ATI 4890
Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p
ASUS P5K-E
8.0G OCZ RAM
Rig is ON 24/7
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 04:48 PM   #278
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rflair View Post
cough 'no cd patched exe being used' cough
The game doesn't require the CD anyway.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 04:49 PM   #279
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I'm waiting for this one to hit the clearance rack. Maybe $20 at the most I'll pay for it.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 06:31 PM   #280
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
I'm waiting for this one to hit the clearance rack. Maybe $20 at the most I'll pay for it.
about all its worth
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 06:50 PM   #281
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rflair View Post
cough 'no cd patched exe being used' cough
sorry, but no
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 07:10 PM   #282
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
I'm waiting for this one to hit the clearance rack. Maybe $20 at the most I'll pay for it.
Best idea. Thankfully the game was heavily discount here in AU on release. $30 off with the same coupon that got you the Creator Creator full version for free. So I'm not to disappointed the game didn't quite capture my attention for more than 1 week or so.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 10:19 PM   #283
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Thanks for that post nekro, got it patched finally.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 11:20 PM   #284
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I don't see this being a game I'll be hooked on for weeks, but I'm mildly addicted to it right now. I keep getting that nasty bug where I get stuck trying to exit my home planet after a pirate attack, but if I save before I land on the planet it doesn't matter much.

Also, once you get some very powerful weapons the hostile alien attacks aren't much of a problem. I can take them out rather quickly now.

There is one thing that is still bugging me and was a problem throughout every part of the game. The lack of accuracy for mouse clicks. For example, I point at something, click on it and my ship shoots\abducts something nowhere near where I clicked. If a ship drops something into one of my cities and I try to pick it up I end up beaming up half my city's population because the ray is so inaccurate. Its also pretty inaccurate in combat or when you have to shoot diseased animals for a mission.

As of right now, I think Spore is a 7/10 for me. It has some pretty original gameplay and when everything is working properly its quite fun. After they get it patched up properly and tweak some of the more irritating aspects (especially the early parts of the space stage) it'll be a solid 8/10 game for me.

Its the kind of game I'll probably get an urge to play once in a while even after beating it once.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-19-08, 11:32 PM   #285
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Ever since I patched the game it crashes constantly. I really didn't expect Maxis to release a game in such a flawed state I've been waiting since release for a patch and now it looks like I won't be playing this until they release yet another patch.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-08, 10:32 AM   #286
TheANIMAL
Registered User
 
TheANIMAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Near Bude, Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

****ing Grox race, between me and my mate keeping up a good 7 hours a day (about 1 for me, i play mostly to give him a break) we've still only cleared out 3/4 of them, and some of the planets right in the middle of the galixy look like they are out of reach anyway.

Last edited by TheANIMAL; 09-22-08 at 06:38 AM.
TheANIMAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 11:13 AM   #287
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Wow, I actually found a fix for the game freezing when exiting my home planet...

http://www.xspore.com/community/tech...me-planet.html

Quote:
somebody from the official spore forums suggested this method that actually worked for me and I was able to resume playing without the annoying crashing when exiting the homeworld. You have to check each city with the colony planner. Those decorative objects you see throughout your cities must be sold. However, do not touch the decorative objects in the center where the city hall is (different objects are cluttering up that area at the same time) or the game will crash. Once it appears that the city is clear of decorative objects, press alt + enter to switch between windowed mode and fullscreen mode. By the time the screen redraws itself, those objects that are in the center will fill in those unoccupied spots in your city. Sell those decorative objects until they're clear and then repeat the process of switching fullscreen or windowed depending on what mode you're in until the decorative objects located in the city hall spot are completely gone.

Repeat this process on each and every city that exists in your homeworld. That way, you'll be able to exit the homeworld without a hitch.
Sounds like it should be easy to fix too, so they should have no problem addressing this in the next patch. It looks like the game just doesn't know when to stop buying decorative objects for your home planet and they pile up underneath your town hall. This seems to cause freezes when you open the city planner on a bugged city and then try to leave the planet. This would also explain why it seems to happen after attacks... because that is when you have to repair your cities' defenses.

I never saw the duplicate objects because my town hall is large and it covers the entire center area. I picked a smaller one and I can see the decorations that stack up there. I was getting repeated crashes when leaving my home planet so I followed this process with all of my cities and the crashes stopped. On some of my cities I had to alt-tab out and clear the decorations 4 or 5 times before they were all gone.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 07:38 PM   #288
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I don't know what just happened but I think I beat the game.

It seems like they didn't intend it to be this easy, but I didn't really have to do much to get to the center of the galaxy. All I did was jump around a few black holes until I was relatively close and then I just zoomed out pretty far and clicked my way to the center. If you click on another star before you arrive at one the enemy ships will have a hard time catching up to you. I basically just used 100 or so stars as stepping stones and got to the center with only a couple stops on planets to get the ships off of my back.

It was incredibly easy.

I used the whole slingshot-around-stars maneuver throughout most of the game to shorten trips, but I didn't think it'd actually allow me to bypass a few hundred hostile colonies.

I'm still not exactly sure what happened. I got a cool item at the end, but I didn't get any congratulations from my home planet or anything. I saved the game though so whats done is done...

I give the game a 7/10. Its pretty fun and the space stage is really addicting for a few days. Once you start messing with the Grox however its time to just find the cheapest way to end the game since there really isn't anything left to do. Unless you like bombing hundreds of identical cities and fighting countless identical ships all the way to the center, I recommend just getting your interstellar drive up to at least 4 or 5, loading up on energy refills and just hopping your way there.

The parts of the game that received the most hype were definitely over-hyped, but the space stage was unexpectedly interesting and felt like a mixture of a few classic space games with a modern twist. The fact that there are 4 other "game modes" just seems like an added bonus to a decent space game.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Spore Complete and Darkspore, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.