Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-08, 07:59 AM   #73
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Wow that is pretty strange.

That's great to hear though. My sister would definitely like to play this on her laptop if I bought it.

Which reminds me. How does the game perform in the different stages? My sister's laptop has a Turion X2 1.8Ghz, 1Gb (maybe 2Gb, I can't remember) of ram and geforce 7050 video. It runs the creature creator fine, but it takes a while for all of the texture layers to load.

I'm sure its slower with lots of creatures running around.
It does get slower with critters on screen, though the game sounds big, it's not really. I somehow get the feeling Will Wright had to downsize his vision. Least he's never hyped as much as Molyneux did with Fable... and now Fable 2. I mean the n00b has already reviewed his own game a 9 out of 10. What crazy developer does that!
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 08:18 AM   #74
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

EA Downsized it, so they could release expansion back every 3 months
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 10:13 AM   #75
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
I'd give it a solid 8 too.

I'm a little pissed right now. I spent 4 hours on the tribal stage, just wiped out those ****ing green dicks and the game crashed! It was a BSoD but I dunno if it's my PC or the game. My PC hadn't crashed in a very long time, then again it's been weeks since I rebooted it. Still lost 4hrs, but I don't mind replaying it actually. Can do a do over.

It's a great game, and a little side note, as it uses EA Downloader for the piracy check you can install and run it on upto 3 PCs no issues. Strange to see EA doing this.
Is it fun? And what Witcher spells do you get?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 10:19 AM   #76
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I can't decide if I want to buy this yet. The creature creator got boring to me after about 10 minutes.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 10:54 AM   #77
Mr.Schme
Registered User
 
Mr.Schme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Outside DC
Posts: 236
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

At first I was so pumped about getting this game, but as of late, I'm not sure. The whole idea is really cool but it looks like it's going to head in the direction of the Sims.
Mr.Schme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 11:01 AM   #78
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Im waiting on Direct2Drive to release it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 03:05 PM   #79
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

played for about 90 mins so far, having a coffee break atm!

only in phase 2 (creature), but so far the game is exceptionally cute (love it when your amoebas go to mate) and looks good.. can't give an opinion on the gameplay just yet but will see by the end of the weekend! I think it's the sound effects that make it so cute...
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 03:07 PM   #80
Phillychuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 125
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

EA needs to die in a fire for not doing a unified worldwide release.
__________________
Phenom II x4 965 | Asus M4A79XTD EVO | Corsair 4GB DDR3-1600mhz | Diamond ATI 5770 | WD Black 1TB | BFG 550w
Phillychuck is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-05-08, 04:16 PM   #81
Try4Ce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 150
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Very cool game, love to see the own creature growing from amoeba to an actual space explorer.
The game is packed with funny and great details, had a good laugh here and there.
Now with the Space Shuttle its going more interesting. You can go for the whole galaxy, explore new worlds and create new colonies. You can capture other aliens and scan them, cause havoc with mass destruction weapons or precision lasers.

This is growing to be more and more fun ^^
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4300@2,8Ghz
4GB Corsair DDR2 667 Memory
MSI P43 Neo-F
Palit GeForce 260GTX 216 @ Stock
Try4Ce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 04:58 PM   #82
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

This sounds like one that I'm going to pick up as soon as I find it significantly cheaper than $50.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 05:26 PM   #83
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

i don't think this game will drop on price anytime soon
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 07:34 PM   #84
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
EA Downsized it, so they could release expansion back every 3 months
The sad thing is that's probably true. While they let you have this on more than one PC, they will charge for all content. Take The Sims. Even the objects there were once free on the site, are now charged for in a thing they call The Sims Store. What a ****ing joke! When Maxis was separate from EA they released a new free object every Tuesday.

Enough about that. I don't think this game WILL go the same way as The Sims. Spore just doesn't have that staying power and the ability to appeal to such a wide audience.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Spore Complete and Darkspore, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.