Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-08, 01:37 PM   #1
Killroy X
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Idunno, Maryland
Posts: 153
Default Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

So haven't played Quake IV in a bit and was excited to play it with my new rig. So loaded it up (gave me a compatibility issue window...ignored).

Got into the game and made sure I put it to Ultra Quality and make sure to put it in Duo Core mode.

So everything on ultra high, (1650x1080sp?) and what do I see...super low rez textures everywhere!? What?

So I restarted, checked the settings and tried it again. Low resolutions again, even though the menu says high. Not sure what's going on. Uninstalled, reinstalled, same thing.

I'm using drivers 177.92 running Vista 64.

I know it's an old game, but anyone experience this before in QIV?
__________________
Intel Duo Core 8400
Gigabyte Nvidia 460GTX 1GB
4 GIG G.Skills
320 Western Digital Caviar
eVGA MB 780i
Corsair 750TX
Antec 900 Case
Samsung Syncmaster 206BW
Asus VE247H LED
Windows 7 64 bit
Killroy X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 01:44 PM   #2
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

Wow, that's not good. I just bought Q4 and have Vista x64 waiting at home . . . not compatible?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 02:13 PM   #3
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

No problems here.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 02:34 PM   #4
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

Doom 3 and Quake IV, same engine, both have to have the aspect ratio and rez manually set in the .cfg file in Vista 64, nothing else will hold and I don't know why.

Here's what I use (1680x1050) for Doom 3.

Quote:
seta r_customHeight "1050"
seta r_customWidth "1680"
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_mode "-1"
seta r_aspectRatio "2"
Hope it helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 03:35 PM   #5
Killroy X
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Idunno, Maryland
Posts: 153
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

Thanks for that update, so even though it has those resolutions in the settings, they don't stick? That sux.

Do you think that would also explain the super low resolutions on everything? Maybe I have to set them manually as well?

I'll try one more time and hopefully it will work.
__________________
Intel Duo Core 8400
Gigabyte Nvidia 460GTX 1GB
4 GIG G.Skills
320 Western Digital Caviar
eVGA MB 780i
Corsair 750TX
Antec 900 Case
Samsung Syncmaster 206BW
Asus VE247H LED
Windows 7 64 bit
Killroy X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 04:24 PM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy X View Post
Thanks for that update, so even though it has those resolutions in the settings, they don't stick? That sux.

Do you think that would also explain the super low resolutions on everything? Maybe I have to set them manually as well?

I'll try one more time and hopefully it will work.
Yeah, it's a pain, especially when it works fine for so many. Good luck with it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 05:00 PM   #7
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

I get crashes in Vista and Q4 when I enable multicore mode. ::

Of course Vista does warn me Q4 is incompatible.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 08:59 PM   #8
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
I get crashes in Vista and Q4 when I enable multicore mode. ::
That's a problem with the Doom 3 engine. It would crash in XP if I did the same thing.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-08, 09:03 PM   #9
SilentMercury
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 250
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

This was one of the reasons I switched back to XP a few months back, same problem as you. Now that I switched back Vista permanantly, I should give Q4 another try, but I do recall manually changing the resolution and I still got low detail textures.
__________________
ANTEC 900
2 BFG 8800GTX OC in SLi @ 634\1500\2000
eVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 780i SLI (bios p07)
Q6600 @ 3.43 w/Zalman 9500
ABS Tagan 800w PSU
4GB Patriot Viper PC8500 2gbx2
250GB WD Sata HDD
Vista 64
SilentMercury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 10:20 PM   #10
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

Same problem here, the textures are super low res, it looks like Nintendo 64. This is even when I set it to ultra
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 10:27 PM   #11
kaptkarl
Carolina Panthers Rule!!
 
kaptkarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 406
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

BS.....Quake4 runs just fine on vista 64bit. I've been re-playing it for the last week. I did edit the cfg file to allow 1440x900 rez. I've got all eye candy on in-game.....ultra settings....16aa.....hell even used Nvidia control panel to "enhance in-game settings"......all is good and the game looks great!

Just my 2 cents....

Kapt
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 motherboard
AMD Phenom ll X4 965 BE OC'd @ 3.6GHz
Vendetta cooler 120mm fan
16GB G. Skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600MHz memory
Powercolor 5870 OC'd to 949/1255
(OC'd only when gaming of course)
11.8 Cat drivers
650W power supply
Seagate 1TB 7200RPM SATA HD
Sony dual layer 16X DVD/CD Writer
LG 8X Blu-ray Writer
HP w2408h 24" monitor running @ 1920x1200 native rez
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 03:38 AM   #12
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Quake IV issues with Vista? or is it the driver?

It works great with Vista x64, it worked with the 8800GTX and it works with th 4870x2. 60fps with vsync and 8xAA, multicpu enabled and ultra quality.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
Nvidia driver 1.0-3123 VIA 4x issues. dcstimm NVIDIA Linux 8 09-29-02 08:34 PM
failing to initialize NV driver PsyShook NVIDIA Linux 10 09-19-02 12:41 PM
Nvidia Driver causes crash on Standby/Suspend dasher NVIDIA Linux 5 09-16-02 05:57 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.