Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-08, 01:30 PM   #1
Noodles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 234
Default Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

The acting and live action sequences look great. (its half live-action half gamer cutscenes)
The story looks fun... and even more intriguing is the co-op...
4 player co-op for the story line..

AND if you don't have a buddy to pla with you can still co-op with one of 9 npc generals of your choice. They all allegedly have unique "personalities".

3 campaigns (I assume 1 allies 1 soviets 1 japanese)

What do you think?

pre-order gets you the beta key...

and if you purchase the special edition, apparently you get a beta key for a "future command and conquer game"

hmmmm
__________________
Intel Quad Core q6700
2x1g Kingston 1333 DDR3
EVGA GeForce 8800Ultra KO
WestDigi 7200 rpm 320g
WestDigi 7200 rpm 250g
Asus PK53 Deluxe mobo

^That's 4 years old, YIKES! time to upgrade!
Noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 02:10 PM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

when will this game get released?

I tried the beta it is MP only, plays excactly the same as Tiberium Wars just diffrent units.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 04:02 PM   #3
ChaoticNick
o hai
 
ChaoticNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to ChaoticNick
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

Releases October 28th. I've also been playing the beta recently, I especially like the Soviet naval units. Fleets of rocket launching dreadnoughts is a beautiful sight
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz - 4GB G.Skill DDR2 800 -Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L - EVGA 8800GTS 512 - Acer 22" AL2216Wbd
Notebook: HP Pavilion dv6700t - Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1GHz - 2GB DDR2 667 - NVIDIA 8400M GS - 15.4" Glossy screen - 120GB HD

Digg | Steam | Xfire
ChaoticNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 04:26 PM   #4
Vasot02
Crazy Greek guy
 
Vasot02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Athens\Greece
Posts: 411
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

Seems all around better from C&C3

Also it seems it will have some new and cool units

Quote:
The Allies aren't just a bunch of dudes from North America--they're a truly global faction, united by the need to fight for their freedom against the Soviet onslaught.

The Allies have a lot of great new units at their disposal, no thanks to Einstein.

1) Their Assault Destroyers are massive warships that can drive up on land and lay waste to most enemies on the ground with their main guns, or they can switch on their black-hole armor to automatically absorb enemy fire in vicinity. This lets them protect more lightly armored forces like the Hydrofoils, fast-moving ships with devastating antiaircraft weapons and a special weapon-jammer device that prevents foes from firing.

2) The Allies also have some of the best aircraft in the game, ranging from their Vindicator precision bombers to their experimental Cryocopters. Cryocopters can freeze enemies to the point where they can be shattered by even the lightest hit, and their special ability shrinks foes down to a ridiculous, easily crushable size.
Naturally, shrunken foes all speak in high-pitched voices. Wait'll you hear a shrunken Apocalypse Tank. !!!!


3) Some of the coolest units in Red Alert 3 are the navy units, if only because they're some of the biggest and most powerful fighting forces in the game. Some of the most impressive ones include the Soviet Dreadnought, armed with three massive rocket launchers, and the Empire of the Rising Sun's Shogun Battleship, which has six main guns that pack so much punch, they make the ship rock back and forth as it fires. The Shogun's special ability lets it barrel straight through enemy vessels, crashing into them and destroying them.
__________________
Vasot02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 02:26 AM   #5
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodles View Post
4 player co-op for the story line
Are you sure? I think it's 2 player co-op
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 02:34 AM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

I still haven't played C&C3 and I pre-ordered it and had it the week it was released.

I just haven't been in the RTS mood I guess.

I loved the first RA but TS and RA2 didn't do much for me. Generals was fun though.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 11:23 AM   #7
jcossin
-=> Indy <=-
 
jcossin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 476
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
I still haven't played C&C3 and I pre-ordered it and had it the week it was released.

I just haven't been in the RTS mood I guess.

I loved the first RA but TS and RA2 didn't do much for me. Generals was fun though.
Same with me about not being in the RTS mood. I jumped on World in Conflict when it came out and I've barely played it. All these RTS games seem to be blending together to me although I did like the emphasis on instant action in WIC instead of build the base/gather resources of the usual breed...
__________________
http://www.cardcycle.com - Send greeting cards and gifts with a click!

http://www.greetingcardsgirl.com - Check out the weekly Free Sale list posted every Sunday.

Asus G71Gx Laptop
nVidia 260m GTX 1GB DDR3
Intel Core2Duo P8700 (2.53GHz)
6GB 800MHz DDR2
64GB Corsair Xtreme SSD
500GB 5400RPM SATA HDD
17" 1440 x 900 WXGA+ LCD
Windows 7 64-bit
jcossin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 11:57 AM   #8
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcossin View Post
Same with me about not being in the RTS mood. I jumped on World in Conflict when it came out and I've barely played it. All these RTS games seem to be blending together to me although I did like the emphasis on instant action in WIC instead of build the base/gather resources of the usual breed...
I enjoyed Company of Heroes but I put off the last 2 or 3 missions for about 8 months. That was the last RTS I played... other than reinstalling Red Alert 1 a few months ago and playing around with that.

It seems strange, but I think I had more fun playing AOE3 (twice) than any other recent RTS in a long time...

I think the thing that sort of killed C&C for me was the change in art style and realism from the early games to the newer games. It just really got ridiculous and hard to take seriously.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-05-08, 04:03 PM   #9
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

I played cnc3, it was ok, but probably the worst cnc game of the series, which isn't that bad because they are all pretty good I think. Kane's Wrath was a step forward for mission design and some unit design I thought.

I have the ra3 beta, aside from getting terrible lag I really dislike some of the design, especially for the soviets, I think they needed to redo a few designs, but at this stage they won't.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 05:39 PM   #10
Noodles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 234
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

Quote:
Its Always Better With Someone Else Fight your way through three campaigns solo, or join forces with your friends or one of nine, in-game commanders, each with unique personalities and play styles, in missions designed from the ground for co-op play.
TBH I'm not sure...

I'm only assuming 4 because thats the XBOX 360 standard and it's being ported to it for XBOX LIVE no doubt.

Also because they say "friendS" and not join up with "a friend"
__________________
Intel Quad Core q6700
2x1g Kingston 1333 DDR3
EVGA GeForce 8800Ultra KO
WestDigi 7200 rpm 320g
WestDigi 7200 rpm 250g
Asus PK53 Deluxe mobo

^That's 4 years old, YIKES! time to upgrade!
Noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 05:48 PM   #11
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

I won't be playing coop for single player, so the better not have crap AI.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-08, 05:45 PM   #12
slick
Play with conviction.
 
slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 951
Default Re: Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3

I was a huge RA fan when I was younger, but after more complex and more challenging RTS's, I'm wondering if the same build a base/amass and army, run armies into each other gameplay will have any place left for fun.

Can anyone in the beta comment if the formula has really evolved at all?
__________________
Intel C2D E8400 Wolfdale | 4GB (2 x 2GB) G.Skill DDR2 1066 | Sapphire Toxic HD4850 @ stock OC | Asus P5Q | PC Power and Cooling Silencer 610w | Cooler Master Centurion 543+ | Sennheiser HD555
slick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.