Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: P4 800MHz FSB or Athlon 64?
P4 800MHz FSB 12 44.44%
Athlon 64 15 55.56%
Voters: 27. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-03, 04:59 AM   #1
Nemesis
Credo
 
Nemesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 103
Question P4800 or Athlon 64?

With the appearance of the new P4 800MHz FSB processors, and I865 / I875 chipsets, will you be upgrading to one of these now, or waiting for the Athlon 64?
__________________
Nemesis

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Rev 2.0 | 3.4GHz P4C | 2 x 512MB XMS3500 | SLK-900U with 92mm Fan | Modded GlobalWin 802 (2 x 80mm Blowholes) | 480W Tagan TG480-U01 PSU | MSI GF4 Ti 4200 64Mb | Leadtek TV2000XP Dlx TV Tuner | SBLive! 5.1 | WD800JB | 40Gb IBM 60GXP | NEC ND1300A DVD RW | Lite-On LTR-52246S | 17" Sony CPD-G220 | Netgear DG834 ADSL Router / Firewall | WinXP Pro SP1 | Eclipse 512k ADSL Internet

Last edited by Nemesis; 04-14-03 at 05:03 AM.
Nemesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 11:28 AM   #2
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

I am have been alittle tempted by the P4 2.4GHz 800MHz FSB CPU but i would then have to change all my memory sticks and I just bought 512MB stick 3 weeks ago. I can't say anything about the AThlon 64 just yet as i havn't seen any decent offical benchmarks as of yet.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 02:15 PM   #3
a4164
NV2
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 29
Default

Damn, I was really looking to get the new 3.0GHz(800mhz FSB) but there is a bug in it that has delayed it.

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...1022686,00.asp
a4164 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 03:43 PM   #4
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Athlon64. Because they'll run at similar speeds in 32-bit apps, and plus 64-bit processing is just so damn cool.

Plus there's no nVidia chipset for Intel chips... 'nough said. CRUSHK8, BABEH
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 04:45 PM   #5
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Running in 64bit will increase performance by around 20+%
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 04:56 PM   #6
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
Running in 64bit will increase performance by around 20+%
in what applications?

it really depends on what you're running.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 05:15 PM   #7
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think 64-bit-optimized Photoshop, Premiere, etc., will let the Athlon64 demolish P4s at equivalent price levels/performance ratings (we'll have to see) at content creation, media editing, etc. Plus, rendering... well yeah, Athlon64 is going to win, period.

Games? Probably not a huge increase. But hey, if it makes a better all-around processor, bingo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 03:03 AM   #8
Nemesis
Credo
 
Nemesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
in what applications?

it really depends on what you're running.
That's the bit that concerns me about being an early Athlon64 adopter - there needs to be a lot of 64 bit optimised stuff around to show the Athlon 64's advantage. Also, how stable / compatible will the early processors and mobo's be?
I remember the first Athlon 500's, with the AMD 750 chipset, there were some incompatibility issues. But, time has passed, and AMD is a different company now, so who knows?
__________________
Nemesis

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Rev 2.0 | 3.4GHz P4C | 2 x 512MB XMS3500 | SLK-900U with 92mm Fan | Modded GlobalWin 802 (2 x 80mm Blowholes) | 480W Tagan TG480-U01 PSU | MSI GF4 Ti 4200 64Mb | Leadtek TV2000XP Dlx TV Tuner | SBLive! 5.1 | WD800JB | 40Gb IBM 60GXP | NEC ND1300A DVD RW | Lite-On LTR-52246S | 17" Sony CPD-G220 | Netgear DG834 ADSL Router / Firewall | WinXP Pro SP1 | Eclipse 512k ADSL Internet
Nemesis is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-16-03, 06:49 AM   #9
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

The next Unreal engine is geared up for 64bit, infact they are pressuring Intel to do x86-64.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 07:58 AM   #10
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default

We can also add that microsoft seems to be planning
on a desktop version of XP 64 (anvil) tailored for the
athlon64, which i would asume means that
they will assure 32bit apps compatibility..
or atleast i hope so..

http://www.warp2search.net/article.php?sid=11561

"We have absolute confirmation that there is an X86-64 version of Windows for the Hammer platform and rather suitably Microsoft has codenamed it Anvil. The source added that Microsoft is describing Anvil as bringing 64-bit computing to the masses, a phrase that will make Intel cross when it reads this article.

Microsoft is claiming that Anvil will still execute 32-bit apps with "excellent performance and compatibility". "

Also mentioned here:
http://news.com.com/2100-1006-996160.html?tag=fd_top

"The software giant also intends to release a 64-bit variant of Windows XP for the chipmaker's Athlon 64 processor for desktops and notebooks."

And as someone mentioned UT2k3 is ready for 64bit and
it took about a week to convert.

http://www.nvnews.net/cgi-bin/search...=ut2003&page=2

"But Ruiz showed off a version of Epic Games' Unreal Tournament 2003 that takes advantage of the new processor. Epic said the game was reprogrammed in about a week to take advantage of the 64-bit processor."

Also Counter-strikes linux server is going to support the
new x86-64, and has shown about 30% gain on the same
clockfrequencyhttp://www.counter-strike.net/

"In a straight port of code highly optimized for x86-32, Counter-Strike dedicated server tests with both 32- and 64-bit versions revealed a 30% clock-for-clock gain, and is expected to show further performance gains in future upgrades."

Last edited by jolle; 04-16-03 at 08:16 AM.
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 11:09 AM   #11
marqmajere
GeVooForceDoo
 
marqmajere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,064
Default

AMD. Waiting to upgrade untill they release thier next fsb bump.

Plus like The Baron said:

Quote:
Plus there's no nVidia chipset for Intel chips... 'nough said.
__________________
Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature file to help me spread!

Desktop - Asus M3A78-CM | AMD Phenom II 965 | 4 gigs G. Skill 1066 | ATI 5850 1 gig | WD 1TB Black
| Windows7 64-bit


Laptop - m11x
marqmajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM
Athlon XP 2000 wont get recognized properly...!! demonized CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 10-10-02 05:01 PM
AMD 2400+ and 2600+ Benchmark Extrapolations savyj CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 2 08-17-02 09:32 PM
Athlon 2400+ and 2600+? 333 MHz Front-side bus?? PaiN Rumor Mill 26 08-16-02 10:49 AM
Help with an athlon XP.. demonized CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 23 08-07-02 09:37 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.