Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-03, 02:12 PM   #133
ErnieS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 21
Default

forgive me for being so obtuse, but could you finish the thought )
__________________
Regards, Ernie
100% Microsoft and Intel free
ErnieS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-03, 07:31 PM   #134
Akucaen
Nice space heater
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Akucaen
Default

AFAIK, all mobo's won't POST if you screw w/ the settings enough.
(unless they're idiot proof )
Akucaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-03, 07:50 PM   #135
borntosoul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 470
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
2 sticks of memory are required for dual channel operation. don't worry about it unless you have integrated graphics on the motherboard.

i don't think your motherboard is one of those
dual channel is a bit faster even without intergrated graphics but with intergrated graphics it makes a big difference
borntosoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-03, 07:23 AM   #136
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by borntosoul
dual channel is a bit faster even without intergrated graphics but with intergrated graphics it makes a big difference
not really...it's hardly "a bit faster." dual channel is not faster my any significant margin. like going from AGP 4x to 8x. it's a huge misconception. an early review which i'm too lazy to dig up showed this fact(somewhere here in these forums) and Chalnoth's benchmarks show the same thing.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=6028

the only question about dual channel mode i had that was also unaswered was whether using dual channel DDR266 with a 333MHz FSB Athlon offered the same performance as using DDR333 memory, which it more or less should. of course asynchronous operation between memory and FSB may cause some stalls.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-03, 08:40 AM   #137
borntosoul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 470
Default

here is a review with a bit more detail
http://www.anandtech.com/chipsets/sh...tml?i=1731&p=2

yes not much at all of an increase but in some cases its faster
borntosoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-03, 08:45 AM   #138
borntosoul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 470
Default

my bro just bought an nforce2 chipset and he says it rocks ,i was going to buy one 2 weeks ago but got put off cause of all the problems ive been hearing on the net ,so anyway im holding off and just getting an XP2100 cause thats all my mb can take (AMD 761 chipset).who knows i might even go intel toward the end of this year or early next
borntosoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-03, 07:17 AM   #139
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by borntosoul
here is a review with a bit more detail
http://www.anandtech.com/chipsets/sh...tml?i=1731&p=2

yes not much at all of an increase but in some cases its faster
ok, i yield. interesting that the only things that show an improvement are some professional rendering programs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 02:51 PM   #140
1stFlight
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baghdad
Posts: 95
Default Question and a Problem

Running that brand new AOpen AK79G-1394, and I was wondering if its onboard soundcard ( Realtek AC'97 CODEC on-board (ALC650E) Dolby Digital System : nVidia SoundStorm APU
5.1 Channel), is better or worse than my old Soundblaster Live?

Now for the problem, for some reason the board is recognizing my Athlon 2500's FSB as 100 instead of 166, I can "overclock", to 166 but I'm wondering why it's doing it? Anyone run into this before? It's a retail Athlon, btw.
__________________
[b]He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster.[/b]

Friedrich Nietzsche
-------------------------------------------------
[u]Desktop[/u]
AMD AthlonXP 2500 | Corsair CAS2 2x256MB | AOpen AK79G-1394 Nforce2 | GeForce4 4200 128MB | 80 & 60 GB WesternDigital HD's | WinXP & RH Linux 9.0

[u]Laptop[/u]
Dell Inspiron 8600 - Centrino 1.6, 768MB ram, 9600pro 128, WSXGA+ screen
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-04-03, 03:30 PM   #141
jnd3
Sword Saint
 
jnd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA USA
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to jnd3 Send a message via Yahoo to jnd3
Default Re: Question and a Problem

Quote:
Originally posted by 1stFlight
Running that brand new AOpen AK79G-1394, and I was wondering if its onboard soundcard ( Realtek AC'97 CODEC on-board (ALC650E) Dolby Digital System : nVidia SoundStorm APU
5.1 Channel), is better or worse than my old Soundblaster Live?

Now for the problem, for some reason the board is recognizing my Athlon 2500's FSB as 100 instead of 166, I can "overclock", to 166 but I'm wondering why it's doing it? Anyone run into this before? It's a retail Athlon, btw.
With the exception of a few games that suffer some driver issues, most opinions consider the SoundStorm audio solution to be far superior to the SB Live. I like mine tons better than my old SB Live!

Is there a jumper on your board to select FSB speed? The ASUS A7N8X Deluxe has a jumper to select 100MHz or 133/166 MHz. From nForcersHQ:
Quote:
Q. My CPU will only run at 100mhz, itís a 133 or 166mhz CPU. Whatís wrong?
A. There could be a couple things gone terribly wrong here. One is that you got unlucky and got a board that has problems with a few model of XP CPU's and auto detects their speed incorrectly. This is easy to fix, just set the CPU speed manually in the bios. This is a known issue and not specific to just the a7n8x, a future bios should incorporate a fix.

There is also the possibility of an incorrectly mounted heatsink. Please read the above question and answer and check that your heatsink is attached correctly.

Last but not least, there is a jumper on the motherboard labeled CPU_FSB, this jumper sometimes gets set to 100mhz, rather then 133mhz (the default). check to make sure that this jumper isnít set at 100mhz, causing your CPU to run at a slower FSB then normal.
You should be fine running it manually at 166 MHz. My XP2100+ runs as an XP2400+ with 166MHz FSB...

Cheers,
JND
__________________
Desktop: Apple iMac 17" // Intel Core Duo 1.83 GHz // 1 GB PC2-5300 // ATI X1600 128 MB // 250 GB HDD // OS 10.4.10

Mobile: Apple PowerBook 12" // PowerPC G4 1.33 GHz // 1.25 GB PC2700 // GeForce FX 5200Go 64 MB // 60 GB // OS 10.4.10

Gaming: XBox 360 Premium // Samsung LNS2651D // Wireless Networking Adapter // SwordSaintJND3
jnd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-03, 08:51 AM   #142
Ramshambo2001
*DEAD*
 
Ramshambo2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nebrasky
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to Ramshambo2001
Default

I didn't read this entire thread so i don't know if i am repeating anybody or not, but i was wondering if anybody else is getting a loud hiss from your speakers when using the onboard sound storm?
__________________
Cooler Master ATC-201-SX (Case)
ASUS A8N Deluxe (Mobo)
AMD64 3500+ (Proc)
2 GB DDR400 (Mem)
Radeon x850 xt pe
256 mb (Video)
Western Digital SE 120GB (Storage)
40/24/48 lite-on (CD-Drive)
Plextor 8x DVD Burner (DVD-Drive)
SoundBlaster XFI XtremeMusic (Sound)
Logitech Z-680 (Speakers)
17-inch NEC LCD 1760V (Display)
Ramshambo2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-03, 07:15 PM   #143
1stFlight
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baghdad
Posts: 95
Default Re: Re: Question and a Problem

Sure enough it pretty much said so in the instruction page, that's not a part of the manual, go figure... thing runs like a dream, hell of an upgrade from an Athlon 900 with 384MB SDR

Quote:
Originally posted by jnd3
With the exception of a few games that suffer some driver issues, most opinions consider the SoundStorm audio solution to be far superior to the SB Live. I like mine tons better than my old SB Live!

Is there a jumper on your board to select FSB speed? The ASUS A7N8X Deluxe has a jumper to select 100MHz or 133/166 MHz. From nForcersHQ:

You should be fine running it manually at 166 MHz. My XP2100+ runs as an XP2400+ with 166MHz FSB...

Cheers,
JND
__________________
[b]He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster.[/b]

Friedrich Nietzsche
-------------------------------------------------
[u]Desktop[/u]
AMD AthlonXP 2500 | Corsair CAS2 2x256MB | AOpen AK79G-1394 Nforce2 | GeForce4 4200 128MB | 80 & 60 GB WesternDigital HD's | WinXP & RH Linux 9.0

[u]Laptop[/u]
Dell Inspiron 8600 - Centrino 1.6, 768MB ram, 9600pro 128, WSXGA+ screen
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 10:17 AM   #144
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default

On dualDDR some games and apps will show improvement
on dualDDR, i read that the Nforce1 dualDDR mode only
used the bandwidth gain for the integrated gfx core.
But Nforce2 doesnt reserve it for the core, tho the gains
vary on how much the program depends on memory bandwidth
over clockfrequencies or GFX card.
things that used to have memory bandwidth as bottleneck
will benefit from DualDDR in short.
I would suspect 3dmark to strain GPU, CPU and lastly memory
bandwidht, but I dont know for sure.

In Quake3 there is a differance at about 11Fps at 640*480
http://www.tomshardware.com/mainboar...force2-10.html
But at higher res the GPU takes over the strain.
3dmark01 shows only about 300 points gain.
Commanche 4 only 1 fps differance, which points
to the GPU as bottleneck.
UT2k3 only 2 fps
In SPEC viewperf the differance is really showing tho.
http://www.tomshardware.com/mainboar...force2-15.html

On the Soundstorm audio i read a article today that stated
that Nvidia says the apu is powerful enough to handle EAX
advanced HD but doesnt support it now cause of the few
titles that uses it, this COULD mean that in a future driverset
they could add support for EAX HD, which would rock..
http://www.3dss.com/reviews/nForce/index.html
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official GeForce GTX 670 Review and Discussion Thread MikeC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 23 10-28-12 11:19 AM
** Official Dark Souls Thread *** FastRedPonyCar Gaming Central 8 09-11-12 04:42 PM
Links to "Official Game Threads" nekrosoft13 Gaming Central 125 11-18-10 11:09 AM
Official Linux driver 1.0-3123 thread bammbamm808 NVIDIA Linux 126 12-05-02 07:21 PM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 08:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.