Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-08, 05:35 AM   #1
rese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

Hi
I have a Sony Vaio VGN-SZ61WN, with an Nvidia 8400M GS.
I am running Linux Suse 11.0 (latest) and using the Suse binary 173.14.12.

For some reason I cannot obtain 1280x800 on both my laptop screen (LCD) and an external Dell Screen (2007WPNb or something like that).

I have tried :
1- using Sax2 SUse config: Twinview does NOT work there
2- using nvidia-settings: I do NOT have access via nvidia-settings to the 1280x800 but the max res which is present in the list is 1156x768..

This is very annoying since this was working with previous versions of Suse (10.3) and nvidia drivers.

Any input on how to do this would be welcome (I also tried to force it in my xorg.conf but with no success: it does not work at all)

THANKS!
rese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 12:44 PM   #2
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

Please see the forum sticky posts on how to report a problem.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 04:20 PM   #3
rese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

Yes sorry, I didn't know indeed.
I attach the bug report then.

thanks
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (32.8 KB, 90 views)
rese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 06:40 PM   #4
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

Please generate a verbose bug report by starting X with startx -- -logverbose 6 and then running nvidia-bug-report.sh again.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 04:55 AM   #5
rese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

yes, but when I go into level 3 (init 3), and try startx, by default it uses kde3. I should be using kde4 where I have the nvidia issue.

So how do I do:
startx -- -logverbose 6

so that it uses kde4 ?

thanks
rese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 06:22 AM   #6
Fackamato
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 366
Default Re: Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

Quote:
Originally Posted by rese View Post
yes, but when I go into level 3 (init 3), and try startx, by default it uses kde3. I should be using kde4 where I have the nvidia issue.

So how do I do:
startx -- -logverbose 6

so that it uses kde4 ?

thanks
edit your ~/.xinitrc , it should say 'startkde4' if I'm not mistaken.
Fackamato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 07:09 AM   #7
rese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

thanks! I have added startkde in the xinitrc and it works.

Here is now the new log from nvidia-bug (attached)
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (45.7 KB, 86 views)
rese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 11:08 AM   #8
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

Okay, it looks like it's not even considering 1280x800 for your CRT because it's not in the default list of modes and your CRT doesn't provide an EDID to add it. You can add it using a Modeline, which you can construct using gtf:
Code:
  # 1280x800 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 49.68 kHz; pclk: 83.46 MHz
  Modeline "1280x800_gtf"  83.46  1280 1344 1480 1680  800 801 804 828  -HSync +Vsync
Add that to the monitor section, then change the CRT entry in the MetaModes option to use 1280x800_gtf instead of 1152x768.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-22-08, 12:32 PM   #9
rese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Cannot obtain 1280x800 res on Twinview

Fantastic.. impressed.

It works now!

thanks again!
rese is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twinview? ghorsepower NVIDIA Linux 2 10-11-02 01:46 PM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 11:36 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 04:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 05:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 04:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.