Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-08, 01:29 PM   #1
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Default FOV is 60?

So I just learned the default FOV is 60, which seems rather small.

I manually set it to 75 (like most FPS games), but am wondering if it looks right for a 4:3 monitor. I'll have to play around with switching between them to see which I like better.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 01:31 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

60?

Yeah, that seems quite low. I think 70 is the lowest I've ever seen, and I remember a lot of games using 90.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 01:34 PM   #3
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?



What's FOV?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 01:43 PM   #4
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

My guess is Field of View and that the numbers they are mentioning are the angle of view between the furthest left and right light rays observable on the screen at once.

Doesn't changing 60 make the game look distorted?
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 01:54 PM   #5
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco View Post
My guess is Field of View and that the numbers they are mentioning are the angle of view between the furthest left and right light rays observable on the screen at once.

Doesn't changing 60 make the game look distorted?
Yeah...a little. I changed it back.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 02:57 PM   #6
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

Can someone post pics of this change?
60 and other ?

Or even, whats the console command to change it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 03:26 PM   #7
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roliath View Post
Can someone post pics of this change?
60 and other ?

Or even, whats the console command to change it?
cl_fov 60 is default
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-08, 03:42 AM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearclaw View Post


What's FOV?
Urban

Dictionary

You are in it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Field_of_view
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-08, 04:18 AM   #9
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

Um WSGF says that Crysis Warhead has native widescreen support like the first Crysis... FOV seems fine for Crysis 1 here....

All screenshots I've seen look fine too...

So... ??
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-08, 11:37 AM   #10
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

The FOV is actually fine for Crysis IMO. It properly displays the widescreen resolutions without any visual distorting. Seems that ALL FPS games though have some degree of fish eye bubble going on more at the edge of the screen than anything and whether or not that's just a product of the FPS view itself or some unavoidable problem that has just plagued engine after engine but I know that in crysis, you're not missing out on unused screen realestate like what happend with bioshock.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-08, 12:22 PM   #11
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar View Post
The FOV is actually fine for Crysis IMO. It properly displays the widescreen resolutions without any visual distorting. Seems that ALL FPS games though have some degree of fish eye bubble going on more at the edge of the screen than anything and whether or not that's just a product of the FPS view itself or some unavoidable problem that has just plagued engine after engine but I know that in crysis, you're not missing out on unused screen realestate like what happend with bioshock.
It didn't happen to Bioshock. The developers have told us that they intended for the widescreen FOV and that the 4:3 was the deviation from the design, thereby the widescreen was not cropped
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-08, 03:24 PM   #12
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Default FOV is 60?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco View Post
It didn't happen to Bioshock. The developers have told us that they intended for the widescreen FOV and that the 4:3 was the deviation from the design, thereby the widescreen was not cropped
yet proper widescreen support was yanked?
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heads up: Sync-to-vblank is enabled by default AaronP NVIDIA Linux 1 05-02-12 10:54 AM
Very slow X startup Jeremy NVIDIA Linux 96 05-23-03 10:11 AM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
Nvidia GF4 MX 440 + Mandrake tomchristopher NVIDIA Linux 3 08-18-02 09:42 AM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 11:34 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.