Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-08, 08:38 AM   #1
muelo1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
Red face vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

I have windows Vista ultimate and its started to take a long time to boot up compare to when it started a while after it boots up it works fine i have a 500GB hard drive and a 160GB and the both have the operating system i have 3 gigs of ram and a Q6600 processor (not over clock ) here are some specs on my PC any help r idea i would appreciate
muelo1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 08:58 AM   #2
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

3gigs of ram.......
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 09:08 AM   #3
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

Honestly that is my #2 biggest gripe with Vista. I haven't really been able to find a way to significantly speed it up, so I started using sleep mode so as to avoid the boot time entirely. Kind of a shame because I usually like to boot from scratch at least once a day but the about 2 mins to get to my desktop and actually start using the computer is just too long.

If you run several apps at start up you can increase the speed at which the system boots slightly if you use an app like startup delayer (http://www.r2.com.au/software.php?pa...bc4dab7acc8aff)
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 09:45 AM   #4
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by LurkerLito View Post
Honestly that is my #2 biggest gripe with Vista. I haven't really been able to find a way to significantly speed it up, so I started using sleep mode so as to avoid the boot time entirely. Kind of a shame because I usually like to boot from scratch at least once a day but the about 2 mins to get to my desktop and actually start using the computer is just too long.

If you run several apps at start up you can increase the speed at which the system boots slightly if you use an app like startup delayer (http://www.r2.com.au/software.php?pa...bc4dab7acc8aff)
I use sleep quite bit also. But it's an update which cause the slow boot, I'm just not sure which one. Ultimate 64 boots as fast as XP for me until I update, then I'm up to a minute or so.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 10:33 AM   #5
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

Download Autoruns (Sysinternals) and see what startup entries and services are running. Disable paging file (and hibernation file, if you use that, "POWERCGG -hibernate OFF"), reboot, run disk defrag, enable paging file. Get latest drivers.
__________________
Q9550@3.4 + Asus P5Q Premium + 16GB RAM + 2xVelociraptor 300GB + 4xWD Black 1TB RAID-5 on Adaptec 5805 + PoV GTX580 + Dell 3008WFP + Windows 7 x64
Xbox 360 Elite + Kinect + Onkyo receiver + Acoustic Energy Aelite 1/3/center speakers + 46" FullHD Samsung TV
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 11:24 AM   #6
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by LovingSticky View Post
Download Autoruns (Sysinternals) and see what startup entries and services are running. Disable paging file (and hibernation file, if you use that, "POWERCGG -hibernate OFF"), reboot, run disk defrag, enable paging file. Get latest drivers.

You can use reboot time script from here: http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/15...t-up-time.html

to check your time after and before, this is my total time for a reboot

__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 01:59 PM   #7
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by LovingSticky View Post
Download Autoruns (Sysinternals) and see what startup entries and services are running. Disable paging file (and hibernation file, if you use that, "POWERCGG -hibernate OFF"), reboot, run disk defrag, enable paging file. Get latest drivers.
Thanks LS! Got the prog, looking for ward to seeing the results
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 03:27 PM   #8
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

Whenever I do a clean install it boots up quick until I install *something* that seems to hose it. It doesn't take minutes to load up, but it's slower than XP. I think it's the G15 software.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-08, 03:42 PM   #9
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,964
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

Logitech isn't in a hurry to update their G15 software.

I did notice a longer bootup time in Vista with G15 keyboard software and for the longest time, i thought it was the Daeman tools.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 05:58 PM   #10
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

G15 software doesn't sow my PC. I guess my PC is probably a lot faster than you guys.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-08, 03:43 AM   #11
muelo1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

225 seconds to boot up !!!!!!!!!!!!! that is bull theres gots to be something wrong almost 4 minutes
muelo1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-08, 04:16 AM   #12
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: vista ultimate takes long time 2 boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
Whenever I do a clean install it boots up quick until I install *something* that seems to hose it. It doesn't take minutes to load up, but it's slower than XP. I think it's the G15 software.
Ihad done test with and without G15 keyboard and logitsch software makes the system boot slower, remove it with autoruns, I barely use the LCD of the keyboard
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora KDE 16 Geforce GTX260 and slow gtk applications Rendering NVIDIA Linux 10 07-11-13 07:02 AM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Upgraded after a long time T.h.o.m.a.s. CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 21 06-03-12 11:06 PM
A Two-Second Boot Time With systemd News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 05:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.