Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 09-28-08, 12:22 AM   #1
Mutrino

Default Ubuntu and nvidia display drivers

Hi all,

I hope someone can help me with this.
I have seen a million threads on this issue with about as many 'solutions'. The issue of course the 'simple' task of installing nvidia videocard drivers for my GTX260 in Ubuntu 8. I have already wasted 2 days trying to install the newest drivers (downloaded from the nvidia site), without success. I have read the stickies, I have read the nvidia install instructions, I have tried the various ways I found online, nothing works. My Ubuntu install is hosed and I have reinstalled it so I do not have any debug log files. I am a total linux noob and if someone has a step by step way of doing this that would be great. I dont even want to think about what computer science degree I'd need to make a dual monitor setup work. I really want to try Linux but this is almost not worth the hassle.

If anything I do now understand why Linux is not for the masses, it is far to user unfriendly and complicated to be of any use to mere mortals.

Thanks for letting this noob vent and I hope someone can help me out here.

Cheers.
Mutrino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-08, 02:14 PM   #2
tucoz

Default Re: Ubuntu and nvidia display drivers

Hi, i guess you mean ubuntu 8.04 (hardy heron) when you say ubuntu 8.
You shouldn't download the nvidia drivers from nvidia. Instead, use the "hardware drivers" application under System -> Administration which should list the nvidia drivers. Simply click on the nvidia driver there, and activate. That works like a charm for me, and is the recommended way of installing the drivers on ubuntu.
tucoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-08, 02:45 PM   #3
Mutrino

Quote:
Originally Posted by tucoz View Post
Hi, i guess you mean ubuntu 8.04 (hardy heron) when you say ubuntu 8.