Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-08, 09:29 PM   #1
Mr.Schme
Registered User
 
Mr.Schme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Outside DC
Posts: 236
Default Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

Let me list you the events in chronological order.


Two days ago, i download Ultramon, I use it, it works great. (It is the only thing I've installed in the past month)

This morning, I can use winamp without a problem.

When I get home today from work in the afternoon I can also use winamp with no problem.

I head out of the house for a few hours and I come back, I try to use winamp.

My AVG anti-virus says it has detected a threat named "Trojan Horse SHeur.CLZE". I cannot open winamp. This 'trojan' is located in the .exe file of winamp, I delete it. I still cannot open winamp.

I uninstall winamp. I download the .exe file from winamp.com and run it, after it installs i try to launch winamp. I cannot, AVG notifies me that it has detected that trojan again. Windows gives me that error message in which I can send a report to microsoft.

I browse online typing the 'trojan' in google, I find that a lot of people are getting this detection with AVG and AVG only.

I go to http://virusscan.jotti.org/, upload the 'infected' winamp file and the site begins running scans with various other anti-virus software. They detect nothing.

I am thinking this is a false positive, but if so, why can't I open winamp? Why do I still get the error?

Thanks in advance.
Mr.Schme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-08, 11:25 PM   #2
ggillespie
Registered User
 
ggillespie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

Same thing happened to me tonight. AVG must've updated today and put in the crappy signature database.

I uninstalled Winamp, then AVG, deleted the Winamp folder, then reinstalled Winamp.

Works again!

Now I'm debating waiting a couple days to try AVG again hoping they get the problem fixed, or go with Avast or Antivir free. Don't like the Avast or Antivir interfaces as much.

My browsing is pretty limited to sites I frequent regularly, so I'll probably just give it a couple days and try AVG again.

Hope this helps
__________________
Garret Gillespie
www.garretgillespie.com
ggillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-08, 11:37 PM   #3
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

Oops, thought this was a failed contraceptive thread
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 09:28 AM   #4
ggillespie
Registered User
 
ggillespie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

Ha!! That's hilarious. Ya definitely in the wrong forum.
__________________
Garret Gillespie
www.garretgillespie.com
ggillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 09:31 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

AVG is notorious for false positives, quite often stuff like that happens when it freaks out about something.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 01:53 PM   #6
Mr.Schme
Registered User
 
Mr.Schme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Outside DC
Posts: 236
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

roger that. I'll try out what gill has done when i get home.

And to you two, yes, i reread the title and is does sound... like its suppose to be somewhere else. lol.
Mr.Schme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-08, 10:29 AM   #7
ggillespie
Registered User
 
ggillespie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

Went with Avast home 4.8. Seems fine so far, system is stable, performance is good and Winamp still works without issue.
__________________
Garret Gillespie
www.garretgillespie.com
ggillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-08, 04:55 PM   #8
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

Just now AVG 8 free has detected everything in Zonealarm lib. as a threat/trojan on my gf's laptop
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-14-08, 01:00 AM   #9
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

gg AVG

gg

Piss it off and get Avast. Best free AV right now IMHO. AVG is just too bloated. 7.5 was great. 8 is just ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-08, 01:04 PM   #10
ggillespie
Registered User
 
ggillespie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

Ditto. Avast is workin' great for me and I'm now installing it to my clients' systems.
__________________
Garret Gillespie
www.garretgillespie.com
ggillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-08, 02:47 PM   #11
Mr.Schme
Registered User
 
Mr.Schme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Outside DC
Posts: 236
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

I'll do that when I get home. I did try out what you said gill and it did work. I just haven't scanned the winamp folder again so who really knows if it really DID work lol. But I'll get Avast.
Mr.Schme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 01:54 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Trojan Problem, false positive? Still ecnounter errors

avast now for me.
________________
I still have AVG 8 on XP and its just found Psi-Ops\Uninstal.exe to be a trojan
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)

Last edited by XDanger; 11-08-08 at 01:07 AM.
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mageia 2 Cannot Install 71.86.15 for Riva TNT/TNT2 kbulgrien NVIDIA Linux 3 06-29-12 08:27 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.