Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-08, 12:15 AM   #1
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default iron man brings paramount blu-ray servers down

http://securityandthe.net/2008/10/04...-live-service/

Quote:
Following the release of the blu-ray version of Iron Man on october 1st, Paramount’s BD-Live servers were brought down completely by the popularity of the disc.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 12:32 AM   #2
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: iron man brings paramount blu-ray servers down

now thats stupid... here is a very good point
Quote:
While the idea of live content sounds good, it really makes you wonder what will happen if they decide to pull the plug on the servers hosting the extra content in a couple of years. Will the disc itself still work? And if it does, will you be forced to wait while your player tries to connect to the BD-Live servers every time you want to watch a movie
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 01:29 AM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: iron man brings paramount blu-ray servers down

Blu-Ray disks have online content and the players have internet access?

Is that really even remotely necessary? What ever happened to just popping in a movie and watching it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 01:43 AM   #4
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: iron man brings paramount blu-ray servers down

IMO it's bad idea to have it set on automatically. It's likely there'll be some problems in future. Or a re-release with all contents on other disc if server is being shut down for good.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 09:32 AM   #5
wollyka
From the Land of Cedars
 
wollyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beirut-Lebanon
Posts: 449
Default Re: iron man brings paramount blu-ray servers down

I don't wanna know if i tried it on my DSL 1 mbit connection.. i must put the disc in the player today to watch the film tomorrow lol
__________________
System:
-Intel Core i7 2600 @4.2 Ghz
-ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3
-G.SKILL SNIPER SERIES / 1600MHz
-evga Geforce 680GTX
-X-fi Fat1ality FPS
-Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W PSU
-LG LED E2380
wollyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 11:50 AM   #6
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: iron man brings paramount blu-ray servers down

When I put the BD of Iron Man in my HTPC it asked me if I wanted the online content and I clicked NO. The movie looked incredible.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 02:45 PM   #7
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: iron man brings paramount blu-ray servers down

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
When I put the BD of Iron Man in my HTPC it asked me if I wanted the online content and I clicked NO. The movie looked incredible.
Then, it shouldn't be a problem if server ever go down in the future. If they click "YES" then they'll get error that server is not available but you can still watch the movie.

Damn, I still need to get Iron Man.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 04:55 PM   #8
KasuCode
Wiley
 
KasuCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via AIM to KasuCode
Default Re: iron man brings paramount blu-ray servers down

Played fine on my PS3 with no internet pluged into it at all. Looked great sounds even better. Great movie to have on blu-ray.
__________________

Check Out
~CrossWater~
KasuCode is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SGI Brings Kepler K10 GPU to Rackable Servers, K20 in the Fall News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 10:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.