Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-08, 11:50 AM   #1
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

I know a lot of games never use four cores ,some do .Running a E8500 at 4.2gig,will I see a improvement in most games over my Q6600 B3 3.2gigs.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 11:53 AM   #2
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

You probably won't see any difference between the 2 if the 7900GTX is still in use.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 12:26 PM   #3
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

Yeah, you'll get a bigger improvement with a new GPU instead.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 12:50 PM   #4
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

I just have'nt changed my sig yet .I have two ASUS Ultimate 9800GT"s in SLI, running at 800/1950/2100.They are really just rebaged 8800GTS because they have 128 shaders and they overclock great.plus I have a BFG GTX280 OCX .So far in nearly all my games the two 9800 are just faster,plus they fit in my case.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 01:00 PM   #5
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

I'd just keep the Q6600 for now.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 01:12 PM   #6
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

Nehalem
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 03:09 PM   #7
wolfgar
Registered User
 
wolfgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 164
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

a trivial benefit at most if you switch.

You have plenty of CPU power, to handle any current game, and your SLI exceeds most game extreme requirements.


upgrading either or both may show some benchmark improvements, in real world usage; you wouldn't notice anything until you go 2x280 (not worth it)

Personally, I'm waiting for more info on the Q1 GPU refreshes/updates. ( currently running on e8400@3.6gz and 8800GTX-OC)
__________________

I have always strenuously supported the right of every man to his own opinion, however different that opinion might be to mine. He who denies another this right makes a slave of himself to his present opinion, because he precludes himself the right of changing it. Thomas Paine (1737-1809), The Age of Reason, 1783
wolfgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 03:47 PM   #8
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

I had two GTX 280's ,I had hell getting it to fit in my case,I had to take out some of my harddrives,but when I had two running SLI ,most of the games ran better with just one enable .I did'nt have enough CPU juice plus I only play at 1920x1200.IMO it was just not worth the extra $450 to get better frame rates in maybe one game.If I had it to do over I would have got two GTX260 instead of two GTX280's.But my two 9800Gtx running at 800/1950/2100 was faster then my one GTX280 in nearly all my games except one and they fit in my case since they are just 9 inches long instaed of 10.5 inches.Later on I can always pick up another one and by then hopely they are cheaper and I have my motherboard and CPU up graded plus a bigger case.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-03-08, 04:16 PM   #9
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

Stick with your Q6600. Nehalem is close and is going to be strong.

A 2.93GHz Nehalem does 5.1K in the CPU test of 3dmark06.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 11:34 PM   #10
iflop
Registered User
 
iflop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 52
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

Anyone know if these nahalems would work with P35 boards?
__________________

Intel Q9550 | MSI GTX 460 | 4gb mushkin ram | Gigabyte ep45-ud3l | Seasonic energy+ 650w PSU
iflop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-08, 11:39 PM   #11
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

i am pretty sure they require a new chipset....
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-08, 12:34 AM   #12
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Is a E8500 worth it over a Q6600

You'll need an X58 board or another yet to be released variant.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flame's crypto attack may have needed $200,000 worth of compute power News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 09:40 PM
Water cooling, is it worth it? VoltFox CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 15 09-28-02 03:53 AM
AthlonXP 1700 to 2200: is it worth it? Gator CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-06-02 02:45 PM
Is AGP 8x worth the wait? nvnews-reader CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 08-11-02 03:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.