Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Which upgrade option is more practical? (ie price vs. performance boost)
Quadcore (Q9400 and up) 31 86.11%
DDR2-1066 with current CPU @ 4GHz. 5 13.89%
Voters: 36. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-08, 02:13 PM   #13
Heinz68
Registered User
 
Heinz68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto-CAN, Hamburg-DE, Prague-CZ
Posts: 1,893
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

Definitely video card, specially for the 1920x1200 res, native on your display.
I should also mention the ATI 4000 line scales better at higher res and higher AA.
My choice would be HD 4870 1GB but for more money the GTX 280 is also great deal.
__________________
Stop The Meter On Your Internet Use

------------------------------------------------------------
Core i7 980X EE @ 4316 MHz 1.35V - Corsair Hydro Series H50
ASUS Rampage II Extreme - Corsair Dominator 1600MHz 12GB Triple-Channel
Sapphire HD 6990 - ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe
Intel X25-M 160GB 34nm G2 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB 32mb
Cosmos S Case - Corsair HX1000W PSU
Pioner Blu-ray Burner 6X BD-R - Westinghouse LVM-37w3, 37inch 1080p
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel - Logitech Cordless RumblePad 2
Sennheiser RS 180 - Windows 7 64-bit Pro
Heinz68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 02:37 PM   #14
H4yd3n
Embrace the plague!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 194
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvel_us View Post
If it's for gaming why not use the money for a gpu upgrade.

If that's not an option for you then I'd choose the quad.
+1
__________________

- Q6600 @ 3.06GHz @ 1.2V - EVGA GTX 260 216 801/1338/1727 - ABIT IP35 Pro -
- ZALMAN 9700 - CM Stacker 830 - BENQ 24" LCD - 500 GB Seagate HDD -
- G.Skill 4GB 2 x 2 DDR2 - CM 1000W PSU -
- Logitech G500 - Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard - Razer eXactMat -
- Logitech G35 - ASUS Black DVD/CD drive - Windows Vista Home Premium x64 -


Quote:
"History will be kind to me for I intend to write it."
- Winston Churchill
H4yd3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 03:19 PM   #15
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

hmm, i just got my 8800GT last christmas. all im really playing atm is Source and a few other Steam games so it's not really holding me back.

im getting more into programming and virtual machines and such. that's why i was considering a quad core.

will my PSU be able to handle that card though? id probably need a new one
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 03:20 PM   #16
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by restore liberty View Post
I'd say the psu. Just my suggestion=]
yea, that may be where im heading. since even if i do get a GTX260 my machine wouldnt be able to hack it
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 04:57 PM   #17
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

My next upgrade is another 4GB memory & a new 24" monitor, without spending silly amounts of money & some overclocking i don't think there's a lot i can really upgrade at the moment to notice a "real" difference.

Personally i would choose the quad core if i was you, had mine for over a year(or there about)and still not showing a single sign of weakness, by far my best upgrade investment to date.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0@4GHz(Corsair Hydro H80i) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 16GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force LS SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Cooler Master HAF X Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 06:13 PM   #18
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
hmm, i just got my 8800GT last christmas. all im really playing atm is Source and a few other Steam games so it's not really holding me back.

im getting more into programming and virtual machines and such. that's why i was considering a quad core.

will my PSU be able to handle that card though? id probably need a new one
in that case, quad core and more memory
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 07:17 PM   #19
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
in that case, quad core and more memory
heh, yea.

im starting to think i should get a new PSU. mine is 4 years old
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 07:28 PM   #20
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

Get a 1000-1200W with a single 12v rail and you should be good for a while. It'll cost $200-$300 but it'll be nice knowing you can put just about anything you want in your PC for the next several years.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-08, 07:35 PM   #21
BronzeGod
Kanye West is emo
 
BronzeGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

You need a good CPU to get proper results from a good video card. Go with a Quad and 8 gigs of RAM, then get the video card later.
__________________
>>>>In MikeC We Trust<<<<
BronzeGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 07:56 PM   #22
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

8 gigs? yeesh...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 11:23 PM   #23
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
8 gigs? yeesh...
Total and complete waste of money.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 11:26 PM   #24
Absolution
AbsoUI
 
Absolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 933
Default Re: Quadcore or Faster RAM?

A PSU don't affect performance directly unless it isn't supplying enough power to components. You'll find yourself wondering why you bothered when your system doesn't even max your current PSU out (I sure did). 4G of ram is plenty until you go to the new socket+ddr3. I have never seen any benchmarks that proved games are bandwith limited (unless you downclock to like, 667MHz or lower). Most DDR2-800 ram can do 1066 easily too, with 5-5-5-12 timings.

Get a new video card, you'll notice a performance difference, even from an 8800GT I noticed a substantial performance difference. You don't need a quadcore if your talking about games and it will probably slow you down unless you overclock it over what your dual core is at right now.

Things that will affect your performance:
Faster CPU (not more cores)
Video card

Things that you'll be wondering why you upgraded 6 months from now:
PSU
Ram
Absolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 670 review, faster & cheaper than 7970 DSC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 24 05-30-12 04:25 PM
May 24 Webinar: How Do You Make Grid Engine Faster? News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:30 PM
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 12:41 PM
Faster ATI 9700 Coming? sbp Rumor Mill 38 10-03-02 03:22 PM
Which do you think would be faster, Geforce 3 or Radeon 9000? xCLAVEx Other Desktop Graphics Cards 8 09-01-02 08:03 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.