Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-08, 10:06 AM   #1
cyntho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 72
Default Maximus II Formula w/ E8400 BIOS Settings

Hey all,

I just recently got an ASUS Maximus II Formula with an E8400 CPU, and I have been attempting to reach a stable 4GHZ OC like most of the people who have an E8400.

My computer specs are as follows:

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus II Formula
CPU: Intel E8400
RAM: G. Skill PC2-8000 2x2GB (4GB) (Capable of 2.1v)


I have the ZALMAN 9700 Cooler cooling the CPU, and I've been able to achieve a simple 3.6GHz on it with 400x9 settings in the BIOS w/ minimal voltage changes.

However, whenever i try going to 445x9 or even 500x8, with some voltage increases in the ranges of 1.34-1.38, one of the cores manages to continously fail in Prime95 running on Blend after about 30 minutes.

I guess the major question is, there are a whole lot of other voltage options to tweak on this motherboard, and I am unsure as to whether or not these other voltages need to be tweaked. Some examples of this are as follows:

CPU PLL Voltage
SB 1.5V
SB 1.1V
CPU GTL
etc.

There are quite a few more, but I am not home this minute to record all of them down.

If none of these really need to be modified, should I just keep upping the VCORE to 1.4v and keep praying for a stable Prime95?

Any assistance on this would be appreciated.

I would really like to hear from others that have reached a 4GHz OC with an E8400 on a MAXIMUS II FORMULA or similar board, even a P35 would be fine .
cyntho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-08, 11:53 AM   #2
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Maximus II Formula w/ E8400 BIOS Settings

What kind of temps are you seeing? That would be the first thing I would be looking at.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-08, 12:12 PM   #3
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Maximus II Formula w/ E8400 BIOS Settings

What stepping is that e8400?
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-08, 05:16 PM   #4
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Maximus II Formula w/ E8400 BIOS Settings

I have the same motherboard in a second PC I use. I found this thread very useful for starters.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=190812
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-08, 04:09 PM   #5
cyntho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 72
Default Re: Maximus II Formula w/ E8400 BIOS Settings

I will check the stepping when I get home tonight.

I'm sorry for the delay, but I appreciate the responses.

Gaming
45-50 Celsius

Stress Testing
50-55 Celsius

I will also check out that thread you sent.

Thanks!!!

P.S.

Muppet,

Is it possible you can specify your motherboard settings?

I've been reading that thread and checking out what users are saying on it, but I'd like to see a template of things people are actually modifying so that I can narrow my research down to more specific things that need to be modified .

Thanks again!
cyntho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-08, 05:57 PM   #6
cyntho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 72
Default Re: Maximus II Formula w/ E8400 BIOS Settings

Yeah the stepping is E0.
cyntho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 12:07 AM   #7
walrus85
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Maximus II Formula w/ E8400 BIOS Settings

I got the same MB & CPU. So far I've been able to run fully stable through 6 hrs of prime95 in blend @ 4005MHz (445x9) with the temps at 36-37C idle and 55-57C full load. I can't find yet an acceptable temp with a higher clock, I think i'll go liquid to shoot for 4.2Ghz. Anyway heres the settings I used (as shown in the BIOS):
Ratio CMOS Setting = 9.0
FSB Frequency = 445
CPU Voltage = 1.3125
CPU PLL Voltage = 1.5
FSB Termination Voltage = 1.32525
North Bridge Voltage = 1.1265
...
I forgot to write down the SB voltages, but i think they go like this:
sb1.1 = 1.79
sb1.5 = 1.50

Hope this helps you out and good luck.
walrus85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Maximus Fires Up Visual Effects In Men in Black 3 News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 07:00 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 11:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.