Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-08, 05:48 PM   #1
eklundh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Default SLI @ 1440x900???

Hi
I'm currently getting all the parts (and the money^^) for my new rig together and wanted to ask whether 2xGTX280 in SLI would be overrrrrrrrkillllllllll for gaming at 1440x900? I really want to push AA+AF in every game (incl. Crysis @ very high, FC2...)!!! or is a single GTX more than sufficient for this resolution?
Any help appreciated


BTW: sorry for my english - German @ work^^
eklundh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-08, 06:09 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: SLI @ 1440x900???

I don't think it'd be a waste if you're real picky about framerates and use lots of AA, but I'd recommend getting a more high res screen to really appreciate all that power.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-08, 06:21 PM   #3
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: SLI @ 1440x900???

i would strongly recommend getting a higher resolution monitor to appreciate the power of that hardware



in other words, what he captn said.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 04:19 AM   #4
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: SLI @ 1440x900???

Quote:
Originally Posted by eklundh View Post
Hi
I'm currently getting all the parts (and the money^^) for my new rig together and wanted to ask whether 2xGTX280 in SLI would be overrrrrrrrkillllllllll for gaming at 1440x900? I really want to push AA+AF in every game (incl. Crysis @ very high, FC2...)!!! or is a single GTX more than sufficient for this resolution?
Any help appreciated


BTW: sorry for my english - German @ work^^
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=121924
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 04:23 AM   #5
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: SLI @ 1440x900???

Quote:
Originally Posted by eklundh View Post
Hi
I'm currently getting all the parts (and the money^^) for my new rig together and wanted to ask whether 2xGTX280 in SLI would be overrrrrrrrkillllllllll for gaming at 1440x900? I really want to push AA+AF in every game (incl. Crysis @ very high, FC2...)!!! or is a single GTX more than sufficient for this resolution?
Any help appreciated


BTW: sorry for my english - German @ work^^
hey there, imo it would be huge overkill and a waste of money, 1 280 will do fine at that res.

your english is fine
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-08, 04:14 PM   #6
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: SLI @ 1440x900???

I would think one GTX 280 at that resolution would be fine.I trying to make up my mind is it worth getting another GTX 280 and I am gameing at 1920x1200.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-08, 11:01 AM   #7
NoWayDude
Charlie don't Surf!
 
NoWayDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 866
Default Re: SLI @ 1440x900???

M8, my GTS8800 640 smokes pretty much everything at 1440x900 (it's starting to show her age now) , so 2 2XX for SLI is definitely overkill
Get a bigger screen
__________________
Beer,helping ugly people getting laid since the dawn of time
My Rig
Gigabyte DS3IS3, C2D Q6600 @ 3400,4096 megs Geil C4 800mhz DDR2,SB Audigy 2, 750W PSU,Palit 460GTX 160 Sata Samsung + 120 Seagate ATA + 80 Sata Seagate, Atapi DVD Rom x16 ,Samsung DVD/RW x12x8
NoWayDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-08, 05:02 PM   #8
Cyb3r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: SLI @ 1440x900???

Yep and untill Nvidia finally adds that you can use sli and dualview, i'm not going back to sli (also had my fair share of problems with sli)

But yeah in most cases the sli is overkill...

And i really recommend picking a bigger screen (got Dual 22" now (old 17 and 19" got smoked (17" one literally)) and i really love playing at 1680 x 1050, to be honest you have to play on a 22" (COD4 for example or crysis) and then decide ))
Cyb3r is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX670 Quad SLI issue candle_86 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 12 07-09-12 10:18 PM
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 05:34 AM
Can you run two different GTX-670' in SLI john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-13-12 01:04 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 11:12 PM
GeForce GTX 670 2 and 3-way SLI review (Guru3D) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.