Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-08, 04:32 AM   #1
Thorn2008-2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Unhappy GTX280 Starts but Hard Locks During Games!

Bought my Asus GTX280 Last week, bought a new PSU to power it but I am having after-install issues. It booted just fine, I got into Windows, reinstalled the display drivers, used driver sweeper of course, and put on Far Cry 2. Not even 3 mins into the game the PC just hard-locks the Screen is frozen and the only way to restart is powering the machine off. Tried some other games like Crysis Warhead, Oblivion etc, same thing, gets a few mins into the game everything is running smooth and the screen hard-locks again!

I even replaced the GTX280 because I thaught that was the issue, obviously not, still doing it! Both 6 and 8 pin connectors are installed, fan seems to be operating normally, this doesn't make sense! If I put my old 8800GTS in the problem go's away! (hence the reason I thaught it was my GTX280 causing the issues, obviously not!.

Please before I go get a refund or sell my new GTX280 can someone please help me find out what is going wrong? Is it a software thing?

It isn't heat related btw I don't believe, I installed the Asus Smartdoctor software and it is reporting that the GPU is at 48 Celsius degree's while Idle, I can't see it warming up 60 degrees while ingame?

The rest of my specs are in my sig! (and yes I have the latest Motherboard drivers installed)

Any ideas what is causing it to Hard-Lock?

Thanks
__________________
Processor: Intel Core2 E8500 (@3.30 gighz)
Video Card: Asus Nvidia EN-GTX280
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX38-DQ6
RAM: 4 Gig of Corsair DDR2 1066 Dominator Ram with fans
Harddisk(s) 1 X WD SATAII 500 Gig, 1 X SEAGATE SATAII 500Gig
Case: THERMALTAKE SOPRANO (3X120mm Fans)
PSU: 850W Super-flower PSU 66A on 12V Rails, Blue LED
Display: ASUS 222N 22 INCH 2ms WIDESCREEN (1680X1050)
CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Thorn2008-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 05:39 AM   #2
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: GTX280 Starts but Hard Locks During Games!

Try setting you CPU back to default speeds and see what happens, even though its a small OC Farcry 2 is pretty heavy on the CPU. If your GPU is OCed it wont like that either.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 06:07 AM   #3
Thorn2008-2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Question Re: GTX280 Starts but Hard Locks During Games!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
Try setting you CPU back to default speeds and see what happens, even though its a small OC Farcry 2 is pretty heavy on the CPU. If your GPU is OCed it wont like that either.

Yeah tried doing that, put all speeds back to stock, same thing happened? I also tried the card with a few other games, did the same thing in those too? Trying to figure out if it is a software issue, really don't want to reinstall Windows or anything like that though! It's really weird though, I can browse the internet, watch DVD's, all fine but put a game in and WHAM hard-lock!

Not sure what else to try?
__________________
Processor: Intel Core2 E8500 (@3.30 gighz)
Video Card: Asus Nvidia EN-GTX280
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX38-DQ6
RAM: 4 Gig of Corsair DDR2 1066 Dominator Ram with fans
Harddisk(s) 1 X WD SATAII 500 Gig, 1 X SEAGATE SATAII 500Gig
Case: THERMALTAKE SOPRANO (3X120mm Fans)
PSU: 850W Super-flower PSU 66A on 12V Rails, Blue LED
Display: ASUS 222N 22 INCH 2ms WIDESCREEN (1680X1050)
CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Thorn2008-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 02:58 PM   #4
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: GTX280 Starts but Hard Locks During Games!

it could be your psu as unlikly as it seems. if you can, try using another one to see if your computer still crashes.
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 04:15 PM   #5
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: GTX280 Starts but Hard Locks During Games!

I keep thinking maybe it's your PS or how you connected the power to the card. I ended up buying a 260GTX (216core) card because I didn't want to buy a new PSU.

Are you sure the power connectors going from the PSU to the Video card are from different rails? IIRC BFG says their 280GTX requires a total of 42 amps over 2x12v connectors so if you are just splitting one from a single rail there is a good chance there just isn't enough power when it starts to really work in the games. My PS specs says I can only do 19A over a single rail so I max out a 38A over 2x12v rails, so the 280GTX was out unless I was willing to buy a new PSU.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Console Killers News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 10:10 PM
The E3 2012 press conference PC gamers deserve News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 05:10 AM
GeForce4 hard lockup with games under Windows XP Snap NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-27-02 02:37 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 10:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.