Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-08, 11:43 AM   #1
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default GTX 280 and Power Connection

I just ordered a 280 and have a couple of questions about the current draw for the 8-pin and 6-pin connections on the card. The XPS 710 Red (1000W PSU) has four 6-pin connectors. The are as such: P3 is 6A, P4 is 6A, P15 is 10A, and P16 is 10A. Now to get the 8-pin power, I plan to use the Y-adapter that comes with the card to connect two 6-pins for one 8-pin.

The question I have is what is the current draw for both the 8-pin and 6-pin connections on the card? My plan is to use cables P15 and P16 for the 8-pin connection. My hopes in doing this is to evenly split the current draw on these to cables.

Does this sound reasonable? Or would it matter if I just use say P4 and P15 for this?

Last edited by Phyre; 10-27-08 at 11:53 AM. Reason: There's no way I have a 1000KW PSU. :)
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 12:38 PM   #2
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: GTX 280 and Power Connection

the 8 pin connector only provides up to 150W of power, which would be 12.5A @ 12V. As long as you're using any two connectors that can make up that much power I think you'll be okay. I would assume that P15 and P3 is on one rail, and P16 and P4 are on another, which would put those rails at 16A each.

You might want to use one of the connectors marked for 10A in the 6pin slot as technically a 6pin connection is 75W where using one of the 6A would only provide 72W. I doubt those connections only provide 6A but you never know.

I would go with what you were thinking and use P4 and P15 for the 8-pin, and P16 for the 6-pin.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 12:46 PM   #3
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Re: GTX 280 and Power Connection

That sounds like a plan. Do you know the power for the 6-pin? If it draws 75W, I may use the other 10A for that then as the current draw on that would be 6.25A.

So, the plan will be to use P15 for the 6-pin (10A total) connection and P4 + P16 (16A total) for the 8-pin connection.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 12:48 PM   #4
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: GTX 280 and Power Connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phyre View Post
That sounds like a plan. Do you know the power for the 6-pin? If it draws 75W, I may use the other 10A for that then as the current draw on that would be 6.25A.

So, the plan will be to use P15 for the 6-pin (10A total) connection and P4 + P16 (16A total) for the 8-pin connection.
That will work just as well. I highly doubt you're going to run into any issues no matter how you do it just because the amount of power you have provide with 3 PCI-E connectors and the PCI-E is a ton. You can probably run 2 GTX 280's on that PSU with the connectors you have.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-08, 11:58 AM   #5
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: GTX 280 and Power Connection

That is the way I understand it ,If you have a motherboard that has PCIe 1.0 is should use 75watts at the slot and a M.B with a PCIe 2.0 can use up to 150 watts at the slot. then the 6pin plug on the GTX 280 should draw up to around 75 watts and the 8 pin plug should handle up to 150 watts.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-08, 07:46 PM   #6
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Re: GTX 280 and Power Connection

Quick update. The card is installed, and everything seems to be working fine with the connection mentioned.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.