Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-03, 11:50 AM   #49
munkeyu4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: riceville
Posts: 24
Unhappy need help

I put the opengl32.dll file imot the bin a tried to run the demo.It came up and said that it was loading but a windows error came up and told me that the dawn demo needed to shut down. I really want to see this demo. Any thoughts?
munkeyu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 11:50 AM   #50
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

But OpenGL 1.3 supports less features than that of DirectX 9.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 11:53 AM   #51
OpenGL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Default Re: need help

Quote:
Originally posted by munkeyu4
I put the opengl32.dll file imot the bin a tried to run the demo.It came up and said that it was loading but a windows error came up and told me that the dawn demo needed to shut down. I really want to see this demo. Any thoughts?
i have that same problem , the way i got it fixed was to use windowed mode , it still looks great since you can scale the window , try putting it in windowed mode
false // are we fullscreen? i dunno what the problem is , others dont experience it.
OpenGL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 11:58 AM   #52
munkeyu4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: riceville
Posts: 24
Default

How do u put it in windowed mode?
munkeyu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 12:00 PM   #53
OpenGL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Default

Unzip and place opengl32.dll into the bin directory of the installed demo. Default example would be c:\program files\nvidia corporation\nvidia demos\dawn\bin
How to change resolutions

Select properties for the args.txt or args_ultra.txt in the bin directory and deselect Read-only attribute
Change to desired resolution which has the commented line "// Window width/height", default resolution is 1024x768
Go back to properties and select Read-only attribute
Experienced issues

change true to false so its like this.
false // are we fullscreen?
did you do the read only part ?
OpenGL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 12:07 PM   #54
munkeyu4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: riceville
Posts: 24
Default

Its still giving me the same error message
munkeyu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 12:09 PM   #55
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default

lol... my goodness lads... relax...

I am sure a lot of the caps taken do not accurately reflect just how detailed the skin textures and everythng else are...

and I remain underwhelmed after all the hype... specially with the 'leafless' version...

am happy with the details since it does show a great deal of work went into the demo and of course the skin blemishes and everything else look perfect....

@ 1600x1200 it is a little on the low side in terms of FPS but it runs smooth enough for me

1600x1200 == less/no jaggies that bug me.. unlike the 1024x768 default...

on the whole it would appear the caps are comparable with FX cards but I hardly think it is fair to compare dawn rendering on the r300 gpu's with anything less than say a 5600ultra level card... or higher...

as for the whole ati rendering better than nvidia here HB... I dunno bout that they look close enough to teh same for me...

I am sure dawn utilises some nvidia specific coding that ati's hardware cannot implement...

/me goes back to check out the awesome chimp demo again...
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 12:10 PM   #56
OpenGL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Default

i remmeber getting that , i think it was when i placed opengl32.dll in the windows\system32 file (didnt read the manual) and when i tried to run it , it gave me a error like that , but when i went and checked back in the system32 it was replaced with my old one. so then i tried to run it and it worked
OpenGL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-03, 12:13 PM   #57
munkeyu4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: riceville
Posts: 24
Default

So what should i do?
munkeyu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 12:15 PM   #58
OpenGL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Default

cut and copy whats inside your args_ultra.txt here so i can see it

here is my copy

../models/fairy_ultra.nmb // fairy model and flirt anim
../models/branch.nmb // the branch
../models/sunning.nmb // sunning animation
1280 1024 // Window width/height
32 24 0 // color / z / stencil depth
0 // number of samples per pixel (0 == 1)
false // are we fullscreen?
true // are we the 'ultra' dataset?

Last edited by OpenGL; 05-22-03 at 12:18 PM.
OpenGL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 12:24 PM   #59
munkeyu4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: riceville
Posts: 24
Default

I put in the same stuff and i'm still getting thaty stupid error.
munkeyu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 12:25 PM   #60
Nebuchadnezzar
Registered User
 
Nebuchadnezzar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Internet
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
But OpenGL 1.3 supports less features than that of DirectX 9.
Uh.. that's why you have extensions.
__________________
[ P4 3.5GHz / SP-94 | 1GB HyperX | Asus P4C800-E Del. | 400GB SATA-R0 + 200GB | 6800GT 399/1120::67.03 | Sonata 380W | LiteOn DVD±RW | NEC 17" TFT | SE K700i ]

[ 3DMark01:20406][03:12401][05:5153][PCMark04:4572][Aquamark³:67465][CpuZ ]
Nebuchadnezzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waking To A New Dawn News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-11-12 06:10 PM
Morning Mythologies: Legends Of Dawn News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
The Sun Has Got His Moneyhat On: Grim Dawn Funded News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-08-12 07:10 AM
NV30 name poll sancheuz NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 72 10-19-05 01:23 AM
Any details on Nvidia's failed NV2 for SEGA? suburbanguy Rumor Mill 1 08-21-02 10:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.