Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-03, 07:31 AM   #1
digital_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Default Weird problem with TV-OUT (+)

With 3123 drivers all works fine, with 4xxx i see only blank screen on TV. No error messages in output.
config:

Section "Device"
Identifier "DefCard"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NvAGP" "1"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "true"
Option "TwinView"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "20-40"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,640x480; 1024x768,640x480; 800x600,640x480; 640x480,640x480"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "TVStandart" "PAL-G"

Slackware linux-9.0
Kernel 2.4.20

cat /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0
Model: GeForce4 MX 420
IRQ: 11
Video BIOS: 04.17.00.24.40
Card Type: AGP
Video card is Inno3D Tornado Geforce4 MX420
Composite TV-OUT

Maybe problem is in TV-OUT controller? I don't know exactly what controller is, but it is embedded, and Windoze not working with it too, with any drivers.
And ones again:
It's working with 3123 , but with 4xxx it can't, and it's not working in windoze with any driver.
digital_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 07:50 AM   #2
slackr
slackrFX
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Default

Try using

Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"

If the encoder dosent get the right vid mode it will display a black screen.


slackr
slackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 07:54 AM   #3
digital_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Default

(--) NVIDIA(0): Detected TV Encoder: NVIDIA
This about TV-OUT controller.

Maybe someone who have same video card, gives me his config file? (for 4xxx drivers)

Inno3D Tornado Geforce4 MX420 64MB SDR DRAM
digital_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 07:55 AM   #4
digital_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Default to slackr

Ok i try!
digital_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 08:48 AM   #5
digital_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Angry tested

30-50 have the same effect.

Some info:
3123 log:

**) NVIDIA(0): Ignoring EDIDs
(**) NVIDIA(0): ConnectedMonitor string: "CRT, TV"
(**) NVIDIA(0): TwinView enabled
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xE0000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xDE000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 65536 kBytes
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using ConnectedMonitor string "CRT, TV"
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detected TV Encoder: NVIDIA

WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "400x300" (not a valid TV mode)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "320x240" (not a valid TV mode)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for Display Device 1:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "640x480": 25.2 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
-------------------------------------- All working!

4363 log:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Ignoring EDIDs
(**) NVIDIA(0): ConnectedMonitor string: "CRT, TV"
(**) NVIDIA(0): TwinView enabled
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xE0000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xDE000000
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU detected as: GeForce4 MX 420
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 04.17.00.24.40
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 65536 kBytes
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using ConnectedMonitor string "CRT-0, TV-0"
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detected TV Encoder: NVIDIA

**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for display device TV-0:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "640x480": 25.2 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "400x300": 20.0 MHz, 37.9 kHz, 60.3 Hz (D)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "320x240": 12.6 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.1 Hz (D)
-------------------------------------- and nothing working!

XF86Config is the same!
digital_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 11:44 AM   #6
digital_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Default

up!
Sorry! But i need solution for this problem!
digital_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-03, 05:47 AM   #7
jay_gentoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14
Default

I have the same problem with my NV17 card (GeForce 4MX), these come with an own TV chip made by nvidia. Until 3123 the TV out works perfectly, then I'm just getting a black screen too.

I got the same problem with the WINDOWS drivers, it is only working with some older dirivers, so I filed a bug for it. You should do that too, so it gets fixed.

Until now we have to stick with the 3123 drivers.
jay_gentoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-03, 09:21 AM   #8
digital_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Default

agree!

Where i can report this?
digital_boy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-26-03, 10:07 AM   #9
jay_gentoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14
Default

Report bugs to:
linux-bugs@nvidia.com

This isn't really helpful, isn't it?
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=IO_20011119_6315
jay_gentoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
Got driver running but Xfree shows only weird screens silamael NVIDIA Linux 2 09-25-02 01:43 AM
Weird problem with RPM jensa NVIDIA Linux 4 09-04-02 09:06 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.