Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-08, 12:48 PM   #337
Fandorin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

I have read the entry two pages back but there it looks like more than one screen was used. But I use definitely one screen.
Fandorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 01:23 PM   #338
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

@Fandorin,

The problem might affect users with only 1 screen, depending on which connector our screen uses, whether you have multiple monitors plugged in (even if only 1 is active), etc.

To know more, you'd have to post an nvidia-bug-report and a complete description of exactly which cards you have plugged in, and what monitors you have plugged in; see the stickies.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 04:55 PM   #339
Fandorin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

@Stephen
Attached you can find the bug report.
My video card is a ASUS EN8400GS with 512 MB video memory.
The only plugged in device is my TV. It is connect to the s-video connector via an s-video cable.

Thank you for your help.
Attached Files
File Type: txt mplayerlog.txt (16.1 KB, 124 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.tar.gz (40.8 KB, 122 views)
Fandorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 10:58 PM   #340
BenBuntu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Stephen, that worked like a charm! Wow, it is so awesome to finally be able to play my camera's HD videos on my laptop. Thank you so much! I can't get over how the wimpy little Atom processor only uses a few % utilization to play these HD videos that were jerky slideshows before VDPAU.

Okay, now the inevitable question: Any chance that a future version of the driver (or patches?) will add support for the BASELINE profile? Anyway, thanks again for all the great work, this is awesome!

-Ben

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
Ben, this clip identifies itself as H.264 BASELINE profile, which our VDPAU implementation doesn't support (we only support MAIN and HIGH).

However, the MPlayer developers have intimated that nothing really generates BASELINE clips, even if files are marked as such. So, you may be able to get this to work by hacking MPlayer to pretend the clip is MAIN/HIGH. To do this, edit MPlayer's vo_vdpau.c, find this code:

Code:
    case IMGFMT_VDPAU_H264_BASELINE:
        vdp_decoder_profile = VDP_DECODER_PROFILE_H264_BASELINE;
        vdp_chroma_type = VDP_CHROMA_TYPE_420;
        // Theoretically, "num_reference_surfaces+1" is correct.
        // However, to work around invalid/corrupt streams,
        // and/or ffmpeg DPB management issues,
        // we allocate more than we should need to allow problematic
        // streams to play.
        //num_video_surfaces = num_reference_surfaces + 1;
        num_video_surfaces = NUM_VIDEO_SURFACES_H264;
        break;
Change VDP_DECODER_PROFILE_H264_BASELINE to VDP_DECODER_PROFILE_H264_HIGH.
BenBuntu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 01:06 AM   #341
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenBuntu View Post
Okay, now the inevitable question: Any chance that a future version of the driver (or patches?) will add support for the BASELINE profile?
We don't have any such plans at present. However, given this hack worked, it looks like your clips aren't really BASELINE at all, they're just incorrectly marked that way. In some future version of the MPlayer patches, we'll probably end up taking the ffmpeg developers' advice and pretending that everything is MAIN/HIGH no matter how it's marked. That should make your streams "just work" without hacking the code.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 05:20 AM   #342
Gusar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 277
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
We don't have any such plans at present. However, given this hack worked, it looks like your clips aren't really BASELINE at all, they're just incorrectly marked that way.
The clips are baseline, as in they don't use any main/high features. What they don't use is features that are specific to baseline. As you've been told by the ffmpeg guys, no one actually uses those in the real world. Therefore vdpau is fully capable of decoding all real world baseline videos.
Gusar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 10:15 AM   #343
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusar View Post
The clips are baseline, as in they don't use any main/high features. What they don't use is features that are specific to baseline. As you've been told by the ffmpeg guys, no one actually uses those in the real world. Therefore vdpau is fully capable of decoding all real world baseline videos.
I'd still argue that the clips are incorrectly marked for real-world situations. There are 3 (commonly implemented) features in MAIN that aren't in BASELINE (B slices, CABAC, MBAFF), whereas there are 3 rarely used features in BASELINE that aren't in MAIN (FMO, ASO, RS). MAIN/HIGH decoders are more common that BASELINE decoders, at least in the desktop PC arena, due to HD-DVD/Blu-ray's usage of HIGH profile. Video cameras should orient their output to the desktop PC arena, since that's where clips will be viewed/edited/processed/converted. Given that, if a given clip uses the subset of features common to both BASELINE and MAIN, it'd make much more sense to mark it as MAIN, because that'd allow it to be decoded by more common codec implementations.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-08, 01:48 PM   #344
jeisom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: My own little world
Posts: 117
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeiF View Post
Does "currently" imply that more cards will be supported later?

I have a 8400 GS and a 8400M GS. Will these cards be supported some day?
I have a msi 8400gs
Quote:
> /home/jisom/Downloads/Nov2008/nvclock0.8b3a/src/nvclock -i
-- General info --
Card: nVidia Geforce 8400GS
Architecture: G98 A2
PCI id: 0x6e4
GPU clock: 612.000 MHz
Bustype: PCI-Express

-- Shader info --
Clock: 1512.000 MHz
Stream units: 16 (1b)
ROP units: 4 (1b)
-- Memory info --
Amount: 256 MB
Type: 128 bit DDR2
Clock: 399.600 MHz

-- PCI-Express info --
Current Rate: 16X
Maximum rate: 16X

-- Sensor info --
Sensor: GPU Internal Sensor
GPU temperature: 17C

-- VideoBios information --
Version: 62.98.20.00.90
Signon message: G98 P561 SKU 0002 VGA BIOS
Performance level 0: gpu 567MHz/shader 1400MHz/memory 400MHz/100%
and I was wondering if the

Quote:
VC-1 support in NVIDIA's VDPAU implementation currently requires GeForce
9300 GS, GeForce 9200M GS, GeForce 9300M GS, or GeForce 9300M GS.
is still true. I was able to play a wmv3
/mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffwmv3vdpau Step_into_Liquid_1080.wmv
Just fine with it.

Just wondering if this info needs updating.

Later
jeisom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-08, 11:16 AM   #345
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

@jeisom,

Yes, the HW requirements for WMV3/VC-1 are still the same as they always have been.

The problem is that a card's marketing name is more oriented at description of 3D capabilities and performance levels than video capabilities. For this reason, in some cases, it is hard to describe exactly which cards will support which capabilities with VDPAU, since a given marketing name doesn't uniquely describe the video capabilities. Hence, there are some marketing names for which *some* instances of cards with that name will accelerate WMV3/VC-1 decoding using VDPAU, but others with the same name won't. You have found such an instance.

I agree that this is very unfortunate. What really matters is the chip on the card, but I can't say any more than that currently.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-08, 12:58 PM   #346
Gregoire.Favre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Does it mean if I got :
Code:
Starting playback...
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=0.
VDec: vo config request - 1280 x 720 (preferred colorspace: VC1 MAIN VDPAU acceleration)
VDec: using VC1 MAIN VDPAU acceleration as output csp (no 1)
Movie-Aspect is undefined - no prescaling applied.
VO: [vdpau] 1280x720 => 1280x720 VC1 MAIN VDPAU acceleration 
Error 14 at libvo/vo_vdpau.c:727
that my card doesn't support it ?
Gregoire.Favre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-08, 01:02 PM   #347
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

@Gregoire.Favre,

That's certainly one reason you could get that error. To tell more, I'd have to see the backtrace from running with "export VDPAU_NVIDIA_DEBUG=3"; see the debugging sticky.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-08, 01:20 PM   #348
Gregoire.Favre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

@Stephen Warren : thank, here is it :
Code:
mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffvc1vdpau /data/linux/vdpau/FlightSimX_720p60_51_15Mbps.wmv 
MPlayer dev-SVN-r27960 (C) 2000-2008 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU          6600  @ 2.40GHz (Family: 6, Model: 15, Stepping: 6)
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled for x86 CPU with extensions: MMX MMX2 SSE SSE2

Playing /data/linux/vdpau/FlightSimX_720p60_51_15Mbps.wmv.
ASF file format detected.
[asfheader] Audio stream found, -aid 1
[asfheader] Video stream found, -vid 2
VIDEO:  [WVC1]  1280x720  24bpp  1000.000 fps  15000.0 kbps (1831.1 kbyte/s)
==========================================================================
Forced video codec: ffvc1vdpau
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
[VD_FFMPEG] VDPAU accelerated codec.
Selected video codec: [ffvc1vdpau] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg WVC1 (VDPAU))
==========================================================================
==========================================================================
Requested audio codec family [wma9dmo] (afm=dmo) not available.
Enable it at compilation.
Requested audio codec family [wmadmo] (afm=dmo) not available.
Enable it at compilation.
Cannot find codec for audio format 0x162.
Read DOCS/HTML/en/codecs.html!
Audio: no sound
Starting playback...
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=0.
VDec: vo config request - 1280 x 720 (preferred colorspace: VC1 ADVANCED VDPAU acceleration)
VDec: using VC1 ADVANCED VDPAU acceleration as output csp (no 0)
Movie-Aspect is undefined - no prescaling applied.
VO: [vdpau] 1280x720 => 1280x720 VC1 ADVANCED VDPAU acceleration 
VDPAU capture: Enabled
vdp_imp_device_create_x11(0x2997610, 0, -, -)
    -> 0, 1, 0x7f48afbd3350
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 5, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac5230
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 9, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac74f0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 10, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac5190
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 13, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afacb570
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 12, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afacb080
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 24, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afacba80
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 22, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afaca380
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 18, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac6df0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 19, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac50f0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 46, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac8670
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 47, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afaca200
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 53, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac4f10
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 54, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afaca640
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 55, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac4e70
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 56, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac60d0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 57, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac4dd0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 63, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac4ce0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 64, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac5ee0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 4096, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac5cb0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 37, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac6610
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 38, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac4fb0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 40, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac7dc0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 65, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afac5db0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 33, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afacadc0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 23, -)
    -> 0, 0x7f48afacbe30
vdp_presentation_queue_target_create_x11(1, 25165825, -)
    -> 0, 2
vdp_presentation_queue_create(1, 2, -)
    -> 0, 3
vdp_decoder_create(1, 11, 1280, 720, 2, -)
VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 0 2505 
VDPAU nvidia: Backtrace:
01: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0x7f48afbd1768]
    -> 14
Error 14 at libvo/vo_vdpau.c:727
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report.log.bz2 (39.0 KB, 125 views)
Gregoire.Favre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 11:04 AM
NVIDIA VDPAU Reference Benchmarks News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
VDPAU and KDE 4.8 compositing = slow Pie-rate NVIDIA Linux 30 05-23-12 07:07 AM
VDPAU testing tool crisalide NVIDIA Linux 392 04-29-12 06:01 PM
mplayer & xmms problems! replys2me NVIDIA Linux 5 09-06-02 02:34 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.