Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-03, 07:36 PM   #1
acidkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to acidkewl
Default GF2 MX 400, cant go above 1026x768

I am using a Geforce 2 MX 400, running slackware 8.1. My problem is I can't get my resolutions to go above 1026x768. I know its possible because I can get to 1600x1200 in windows. Also I can't get itto run in 32 depth display(even with lower res set). Attached is my XF86Config-4

/proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0
Modle: Geforce2 MX/MX 400
IRQ: 111
Video BIOS: 03.11.01.30.00
Card Type: AGP
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (14.4 KB, 163 views)
acidkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-03, 09:27 PM   #2
dleblanc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Default

In the Device section, add the line
Code:
Option "BandwidthTest" "0"
dleblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-03, 10:54 PM   #3
acidkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to acidkewl
Default

Testing...

Section "Device"
Identifier "VESA Frameuffer"
Driver "nvidia"
Options "Bandwidth"Test" "0"
#videoRam
#Insert clock lines here
EndSection

Doesn't work. What worked before skill works, but I still can't do a depth of 32 or above 1024x768 res.
acidkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-03, 12:40 AM   #4
DrOzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia
Posts: 70
Default

well i don't know if it is another typo, but i noticed you have your irq at 111, and i know you meant 11, but you also typed "Options", and if this is what you actually used then, it is "Option" not plural..so if it is a typo and you did try Option, then i don't know what to tell ya
DrOzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-03, 06:45 PM   #5
acidkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to acidkewl
Default

Both were typos in the posts. Real IRQ is 11 and I did do "Option" in my XF86Config-4. Thanks for pointing that out though.
acidkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-03, 09:14 PM   #6
dleblanc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Default

If the bandwidth isn't it, you'll need to post /var/log/XFree86.0.log .
dleblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-03, 06:23 PM   #7
acidkewl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to acidkewl
Default

XFree86.0.log
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (21.9 KB, 191 views)
acidkewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-03, 08:56 PM   #8
ssross
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Default

With the frequencies you set for your monitor (H 31-50, V 50-90) , you can not get much past 1024x768. Check your monitor's specs.

To get 1600x1200 the horizontal frequency must be ~80khz or greater. (careful, don't set these higher than your monitor can handle or you could damage/destroy the monitor!)

If you have gnuplot installed you might want to look at:
http://www.xfree86.org/3.3.6/VideoModes15.html
which is a script to plot the available modes for a given setup.

example: ./modeplot -b 185 -h 31 50 -v 50 90

(-b 185 is just an estimate for a monitor capable of 1600x1200)

The 'DEPTH, BITS PER PIXEL, AND PITCH' section of the driver's README addresses the second part of the question. (depending on how you read it

scott

Last edited by ssross; 05-28-03 at 09:28 PM.
ssross is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboards supporting DDR 400 LORD-eX-Bu CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 6 09-20-02 09:24 AM
Problem with geforce2 mx 400 and the drivers Cloral NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 23 08-28-02 01:25 PM
What is faster ddr 400 or rambus sancheuz General Hardware 8 08-21-02 02:08 AM
Tvout problems with Gf2 mx400 Zerax NVIDIA Linux 5 08-07-02 06:28 PM
1.2ghz 266 fsb TBird, VT GF2 GTS, MSI K7T Turbo-R mobo Kev1 For Sale/Trade 5 08-03-02 07:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.