Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-08, 04:32 PM   #577
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

I wish GTA4 would of gone more the Oblvion/Fallout3 route so it would run and look better.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 06:19 PM   #578
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
I wish GTA4 would of gone more the Oblvion/Fallout3 route so it would run and look better.
Can you elaborate on that?

S.R.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 07:17 PM   #579
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
* Performance is ok. I dropped the res down to 1280x1024 and it made no difference whatsoever. Kinda funny. And for some reason, I can't put it on High textures . . .
Because it's CPU limited.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 07:33 PM   #580
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

The game performs great on my PC with everything maxed at 1920x1080 and a 25% view distance.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 09:08 PM   #581
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

So I tried the "commandline.txt" trick and really, no difference. I still can't turn the textures up to high! Oh well. I also tried pressing "P" and it just made it worse.

So how can I force AA? Guess I'm gonna have to overclock my CPU lol. That's a little sad . .

However, I will say that the graphics are way better than the 360 version. Forgot how much fun this game was lol.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 09:26 PM   #582
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

I wanted to pick this up at Best Buy today but could not find it Got TR Underworld instead....
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 09:44 PM   #583
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

PC vs. 360 comparison on graphics:

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/43929.html
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 10:28 PM   #584
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

What's sad about that video is the xbox360 version looks to be running way better. Though the graphics are nowhere close. I think something was wrong. Mine never has that bad of a stutter, just a slowdown here and there.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-08, 11:09 PM   #585
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

that stutter could be caused by fraps recording the video, GTA4 is already CPU hungry, so an additional program that runs in the background and wants to use quite a big chunk of CPU for capturing full size video doesn't help
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-08, 11:35 PM   #586
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

I wouldn't think GT would use fraps considering how many in game videos they do (surely that would slow most games down). But if they did, no doubt that would cause havoc considering how CPU limited the game is.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-08, 01:06 AM   #587
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

also constant loading of the gameworld while writing video file
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-08, 05:02 AM   #588
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
So I installed and play for about 30 minutes last night, here's what I think so far:

* The installation was the most painful and longest game installation I have ever experienced in my life. GFW+XBL+Social Club+SecuROM (whatever it is) = PITA!!!! Why do I have to log into SC first and then be able to play the game? GAY!!!!!!!!!

* Graphics are better than the 360 right off the bat. It just needs AA/AF like the 360 version.

* My cheapo Logitech controller I just bought got picked up by the game and works perfectly, no remapping controls FTW!!!

* Performance is ok. I dropped the res down to 1280x1024 and it made no difference whatsoever. Kinda funny. And for some reason, I can't put it on High textures . . .
The 360 version had AA/AF? :/ I don;t remember that... though it has been a while since I played it on the 360.


So guys, I wonder when if we will able to turn the motion blur on without the constand blurring in the distance.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official GeForce GTX 670 Review and Discussion Thread MikeC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 23 10-28-12 11:19 AM
Official nForce 2 Thread Matthyahuw CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 148 04-16-03 05:39 AM
Official Linux driver 1.0-3123 thread bammbamm808 NVIDIA Linux 126 12-05-02 07:21 PM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 08:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.