Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-08, 06:53 AM   #721
thales100
Registered User
 
thales100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
::

Awesome job at making Nico look even more clueless than before... ::
Absolutely
__________________
Core Extreme Qx9650 @ 4 Ghz + Zalman 9700 LED
4 Gb Patriot DDR 3 1333 MHz + Akasa AK-171
ASUS GTX 280 TOP --- Intel Extreme DX38BT --- Zalman 850W
Razer Barracuda AC-1 + HP-1
Logitech G15 (x Everest Ultimate) + G9 / Razer Destructor + Exactrest
Vista Ultimate 32 bits + Forceware 180.84 + Nvidia PhysX 8.10.29
3D Vantage --> P15612 --- GPU 12797 --- CPU 45936
thales100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-08, 08:40 AM   #722
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Should Vista saves work with XP?

I've copied the saves from Vista and pasted them into the saves destination in XP, but it never detects the new saves. Halp?
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-08, 11:00 AM   #723
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

I need to plug in my 360 controller or he looks down, Is this a pre-patch problem?

How big is this patch?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-08, 11:23 AM   #724
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

NICE SCREENIES THALES!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
I need to plug in my 360 controller or he looks down, Is this a pre-patch problem?

How big is this patch?
I think that's a post-patch problem and is fixed by having your 360 controller unplugged and resetting your comp... and if that doesn't work, uninstall the drivers for your 360 controller.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-08, 04:58 PM   #725
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Nice screens but this game seriously needs AA...
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-08, 05:20 PM   #726
thales100
Registered User
 
thales100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX View Post
Nice screens but this game seriously needs AA...
Thanks NarcissistZero and XxDeadlyxX, yeah it lacks AA, no doubt.
__________________
Core Extreme Qx9650 @ 4 Ghz + Zalman 9700 LED
4 Gb Patriot DDR 3 1333 MHz + Akasa AK-171
ASUS GTX 280 TOP --- Intel Extreme DX38BT --- Zalman 850W
Razer Barracuda AC-1 + HP-1
Logitech G15 (x Everest Ultimate) + G9 / Razer Destructor + Exactrest
Vista Ultimate 32 bits + Forceware 180.84 + Nvidia PhysX 8.10.29
3D Vantage --> P15612 --- GPU 12797 --- CPU 45936
thales100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-08, 05:42 PM   #727
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

GTAIV PC doesn't support AA? That's kinda silly, especially when you're going to run it in 720p to get best fps as possible with highest quality enabled.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-08, 05:46 PM   #728
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
i didn't even get that far, haha, i have problem flying the chopper
Use the numpad to steer and not your mouse! Makes the whole deal of flying a chopper a whole lot easier!
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-27-08, 06:52 PM   #729
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toss3 View Post
Use the numpad to steer and not your mouse! Makes the whole deal of flying a chopper a whole lot easier!
that what i did, finally finished that damn chopper mission
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-08, 06:17 AM   #730
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NaitoSan View Post
GTAIV PC doesn't support AA? That's kinda silly, especially when you're going to run it in 720p to get best fps as possible with highest quality enabled.
No kidding, sloppy rockstar just ported this game from the 360 and the pc has the hardware to make use of AA and we get nothing of that.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-08, 07:35 AM   #731
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHazZarD View Post
No kidding, sloppy rockstar just ported this game from the 360 and the pc has the hardware to make use of AA and we get nothing of that.
It has something to do with the engine, like GRAW on PC and some other titles. Someone might figure out how to force it someday (see: Bioshock) but I doubt it.

Honestly though, the game still looks amazing. I'm not one of those AA crackheads that NEEDS it though, so who knows...

I'm loving the PC port. I changed my settings to medium textures so I could crank all the dials to max settings and I think the game looks smoother that way, so I might leave it. The difference between high and medium textures is pretty big on certain things though, like brick buildings, wet roads and Niko's hair.

I love the controls though... I played the 360 version with auto-aim off because auto-aim annoys me, and in many of the shooting missions I had a really hard time and died a lot. I haven't died at all from gunfights in the PC version and all the missions are smoother and easier to get through. I think the keyboard is fine for driving too, no problems... helicopters are kind of a pain though.

In the end the game looks a lot better, controls a lot better and runs a lot better, and might be modded some day. Despite the lack of AA I would still say it's a good port.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-08, 10:49 AM   #732
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: GTA IV PC Official Thread

are people still *****ing about no aa?
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official GeForce GTX 670 Review and Discussion Thread MikeC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 23 10-28-12 10:19 AM
Official nForce 2 Thread Matthyahuw CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 148 04-16-03 04:39 AM
Official Linux driver 1.0-3123 thread bammbamm808 NVIDIA Linux 126 12-05-02 06:21 PM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 07:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.