Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-03, 09:01 PM   #1
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default Yet Another LockUp!

Hello Andy,

Here's the info you may need.
First off it freezes anywhere in X but not at any specific time its always random, yet always gauranteed to occur.

Videocard:
Model: Aladdin TNT2
IRQ: 11
Video BIOS: 02.05.20.02.00
Card Type: AGP

Driver Version:
NVIDIA Accelerated Graphics Driver for Linux-x86' (1.0-4363)

Distro:
RedHat9.0
kernel2.4.20-9

Videocard BIOS:
Model: Aladdin TNT2
IRQ: 11
Video BIOS: 02.05.20.02.00
Card Type: AGP

Processor:
Pentium 3 - 866Mhz

RAM:
256MB SDRAM

Motherboard:
PC133 Systemboard
Socket370
M754 series

Attached is a copy of the XF86Config file. I will post a copy of the Xfree86.0.log in a new thread as it appears I can only attach one file at a time.
Any further questions, let me know.

Regards,
Simon Halcrow.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (3.2 KB, 150 views)
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-03, 09:02 PM   #2
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default Yet another LockUP! (cont)

Andy,

Please find attached a copy of the X log.

Regards,
Simon Halcrow.
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (24.8 KB, 131 views)
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 08:58 PM   #3
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default any feedback

hey guys. its been a while since ive posted this message. and i havent received any feedback. Are any of you able ot help me in any way?
any information would be helpfull.

Thanks
Simon Halcrow.
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 12:12 AM   #4
CooL_SPoT
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1
Default same issue


I have the same problem with aladdin tnt2....
i have the problem also in MORPHIX game edition and in MANDRAKE 9.1
my card is not AGP, it's onboard...
so i guess it's a problem with the drivers...

Last edited by CooL_SPoT; 05-22-03 at 12:44 AM.
CooL_SPoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 08:02 AM   #5
mmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 20
Default

is IRQ 11 being shared w/anything else. I had strange lockups till I resolved an IRQ sharing issue... my video card and my promise ide controller were sharing an IRQ...

i'm *NOT* sure, but i think you can
cat /proc/interrupts

or

lspci -v

to list what IRQs are being shared...

you may find dmesgs to be enlightening...

dmesg |more
or
dmesg |grep Sharing

report back on your results
mmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 08:28 AM   #6
shalcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default lspci results etc

'dmesg |grep Sharing' returned nothing.

this is my interupts:
$ cat /proc/interrupts
CPU0
0: 1008723 XT-PIC timer
1: 6154 XT-PIC keyboard
2: 0 XT-PIC cascade
5: 1224186 XT-PIC cmpci
8: 1 XT-PIC rtc
10: 550645 XT-PIC usb-ohci
11: 772914 XT-PIC nvidia
12: 195569 XT-PIC PS/2 Mouse
14: 36954 XT-PIC ide0
15: 154620 XT-PIC ide1
NMI: 0
ERR: 0

and attached are my lspci -v results

thankyou for any further help my can provide.
Simon Halcrow
Attached Files
File Type: txt lspci_list.txt (2.7 KB, 120 views)
shalcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 10:07 AM   #7
mmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 20
Default

it doesn't look like there is any irq sharing going on. that was my best suggestion...

you're not overclocking the card or the system are you? some systems are very flaky when overclocked.... i know i have to run mine default.


edit: more questions I needed to ask...

what version of the drivers are you using?

why use:
Option "NvAGP" "2"

i'd try changing to "3" which is load nvagp first, then agpgart needed...

when the lockups happen, what are you doing? playing games? system is just idle and becomes unresponsive?

perhaps you should disable any power management in the bios... sometimes "waking up" doesn't work as well as you'd hope...

Last edited by mmaster; 05-22-03 at 10:17 AM.
mmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 11:15 AM   #8
DrOzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia
Posts: 70
Default

here is my Device section in my config file....
Quote:
Section "Device"
# no known options
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX"
#Driver "nv"
Driver "nvidia" VendorName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX" BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX" Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "RenderAccel" "0" Option "NvAgp" "1"
#BusID
EndSection
as you can see i used three different options, but that didn't fix the random lockups that i was experiencing either...i don't know if it is some freak thing that happened to me, or if it will work for others, but by default, my computer is a 1.2Ghz, when i declocked it to 900mhz i have been recieving no lockups whatsoever...i just got my uptime during my typing of this post, and i know its only 18 hours, but just to think, i was getting a lockup within 30mins of the computer being on before..
Quote:
1:18pm up 18:26, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.18, 0.17
DrOzz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-03, 12:14 PM   #9
mmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 20
Default

underclocking helped you? my *wild* guess is that maybe yer having a voltage issue. can you check in the bios to see what voltage is being supplied and then check your cpu specs to see what voltage it requires? also check the memory specs. for example, you wouldn't wanna run pc100 on a pc133 bus...

also, did you buy your cpu retail or oem? if oem, i'd find some way to make ABSOLUTELY certain you didn't get a remarked chip (a 900mhz chip "remarked" and sold as if it were a 1ghz for example).
mmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 01:37 PM   #10
DrOzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia
Posts: 70
Default

well voltages are fine, and my cpu is a retail 1.2ghz AMD T-Bird....that stuff is fine...and as of memory i won't even go there because i totally disagree with what your saying and what your getting at with it...and just for spite i use pc133 ram...
DrOzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 01:57 PM   #11
mmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 20
Default

wasn't trying to pick a fight or anything..

my understanding is that when you run pc100 in a 133 bus, you are, in effect, overclocking the memory and that can cause issues.

I run pc133 in my 100 mhz bus... (i.e. the reverse of the above situation - "underclocking" my ram, if you will)

as I said, it was a wild guess. I was only tryin' to help, don't get all upset on me here
mmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-03, 03:33 PM   #12
DrOzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia
Posts: 70
Default

heh i wasn't trying to pick a fight, i was just stating that i disagree...when you use pc100 on a board that supports pc133, it plain and simple runs the memory at 100...i just wanted to state that...it dont' matter...and i appreciated your commenting on my situation...but as of now i have no explanation on why my machine stablely works when i de-clock...i am sure the answer will arise sometime, and i am sure your right that it has something to do with voltages, and i am convinced it does, but thats neither here nor there, i am just happy that i am up and running, even if i had to sacrifice 300mhz...
DrOzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Linux driver 1.0-3123 thread bammbamm808 NVIDIA Linux 126 12-05-02 06:21 PM
Reproducable Hard Lockup - RH 8.0 & 3123 brand NVIDIA Linux 6 10-05-02 03:48 PM
GeForce4 hard lockup with games under Windows XP Snap NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-27-02 02:37 PM
Black screen and lockup on startx. redmoose NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 11:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.