Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-08, 08:37 AM   #1
crisalide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 173
Default VDPAU error codes

Hi,
I get this from time to time (using own code, not mplayer)

VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 0 4730

what does that mean, and generally, would it be possible to have the codes meanings? Would be helpfull.
crisalide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 10:48 AM   #2
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by crisalide View Post
get this from time to time (using own code, not mplayer)
VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 0 4730
This means that a fatal error occurred. Can you supply a sample of the stream you were playing, and say which GPU you are using. We can then add the sample to our list of problematic clips.

Quote:
... and generally, would it be possible to have the codes meanings? Would be helpfull.
Sorry, the list of code combinations is too large to publish, and may change from driver release to driver release.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 11:21 AM   #3
jusst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 99
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

This does happen independent from the stream. So this is a general problem we see with our program structure.
So any generic hint what might cause souch a fatal error would be handy.
jusst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 11:26 AM   #4
crisalide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 173
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

Unfortunately, it does happen with any stream.
9500GT as well as 8400GS
Maybe you would like these infos:
- decoding is done in one thread (creates vdp_decoder, surfaces and runs decoder_render).
- videomixing and presentation is done in another one (which also does initialization)
- surfaces are never accessed by both threads concurrently.
- creating video surfaces doesn't make any trouble, but as soon as the decoder is created, the error occurs, even if thread 1 doesn't call decoder_render.

Could it be a multithread issue?
crisalide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 12:27 PM   #5
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

The NVIDIA VDPAU implementation should be fully thread-safe (at least, assuming you're using pthreads).

Can you post a trivial code sample that demonstrates this problem?

Also, can you run the following command, then run your application (with the minimum code enabled to reproduce the problem), then post the results:

export VDPAU_TRACE=2
export VDPAU_NVIDIA_DEBUG=3
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08, 06:52 AM   #6
jusst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 99
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

You can grab a trace here: http://www.jusst.de/files/vdpau-trace.bz2

Creating a minimal code example is not that easy as this is part of a more complex app... We'll see what we can do though.
Still maybe the trace makes something obvious to you?
jusst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08, 11:07 AM   #7
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

Just out of curiosity, are you running 32-bit user-space on a 64-bit kernel? Also, if you look through /var/log/messages (or wherever kernel messages go on your system), do you see any "NVRM" or "Xid" messages?
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08, 11:40 AM   #8
jusst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 99
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

At least I am running a 32bit kernel.
Indeed there are some messages in the logs:
Code:
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 28, CCMDs 00000005 00007476 00000400 54530201 00000000
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 28, CCMDs 00000005 00007476 00000400 54530201 00000000
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 29, CCMDs 00000004 000074b0 00000610 00000000 00000000
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 29, CCMDs 00000004 000074b0 00000610 00000000 00000000
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 28, CCMDs 00000005 00007476 00000610 00000000 00000000
jusst is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-04-08, 11:51 AM   #9
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

I tried the stream you mentioned in PM. It doesn't work with MPlayer either (similar error). There certainly are some streams that will have problems like this, which we're working to fix.

I'd suggest finding a stream that works well in MPlayer, then using that for your testing (somebody posted video.ts and video1.ts in the MPlayer VDPAU thread that basically work, with some issues. Also, our example Grey.ts is an MPEG transport stream containing H.264, which is I think is what you wanted.

Sorry that's a little painful.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08, 12:26 PM   #10
jusst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 99
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

For me that file plays with mplayer-vdpau. Only some visual glitches. Still we did the same thing with Grey.ts now. And hence we still see VDPAU failing.
You can see the trace belonging to Grey.ts at: http://www.jusst.de/files/vdpau_trace_grey.bz2
jusst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08, 05:57 PM   #11
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

I notice in your logs that you're creating an output surface and a video mixer with one size, then destroying them, then re-creating them with a different size. It's conceivable this is related to your problem. Can you modify your code to skip the incorrectly-sized create/destroy, and see if this fixes your issue?

If that doesn't solve it, it's possible your code is parsing the H.264 stream incorrectly. Certain types of incorrect value in the H.264 picture information structure could cause problems like you're seeing. The best advice I have here is to compare your picture information structures and bitstream against that coming from MPlayer and see if they match. (Note: MPlayer potentially has issues too, since our integration is not yet completely debugged.)

I'll certainly keep this bug in our list too, and see if I can figure out some more details.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 09:00 AM   #12
jusst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 99
Default Re: VDPAU error codes

We checked the output_surface creation and this is just run twice because the window switches to fullscreen. Running the app in windows mode avoids the recreation, but still the error remains.
The only thing that's different between out VdpPictureInfoH264 and the one feeded my mplayer is that ours does not contain reference frames yet. So we'd assumed it would only decode reference frames properly. But we didn't expect this to cause such errors. Or might this be the problem?
jusst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 11:04 AM
NVIDIA VDPAU Reference Benchmarks News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
VDPAU and KDE 4.8 compositing = slow Pie-rate NVIDIA Linux 30 05-23-12 07:07 AM
VDPAU testing tool crisalide NVIDIA Linux 392 04-29-12 06:01 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.